In Honor

 
5.0
 
5.0 (2)
1491   1
Write Review
In Honor
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 08, 2012
ISBN
978-1442416970
Buy This Book
      
A devastating loss leads to an unexpected road trip in this novel from the author of Moonglass, whose voice Sarah Dessen says “is fresh and wise, all at once.” Hours after her brother’s military funeral, Honor opens the last letter Finn ever sent. In her grief, she interprets his note as a final request and spontaneously decides to go to California to fulfill it. Honor gets as far as the driveway before running into Rusty, Finn’s best friend since third grade and his polar opposite. She hasn’t seen Rusty in ages, but it’s obvious he is as arrogant and stubborn as ever—not to mention drop-dead gorgeous. Despite Honor’s better judgment, the two set off together on a voyage from Texas to California. Along the way, they find small and sometimes surprising ways to ease their shared loss and honor Finn’s memory—but when shocking truths are revealed at the end of the road, will either of them be able to cope with the consequences?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Honest and Emotional

As I was looking through a list of upcoming YA releases, I stumbled upon In Honor by Jessi Kirby. I was nothing short of thrilled when I was able to receive a copy to review from the magic that is YABC. Thank you!!!!

Right away this book pulls you in. The first scene is Honor sitting at the funeral of her brother, Finn, who had been killed while serving in Iraq. I could hear the stillness in the air, except for the gun shots of the salute and the playing of Taps. If you've ever been to a military funeral, you know how powerful that moment is.

Finn has been Honor's source of everything since her parents died many years before. When he enlisted in the Marines instead of heading off to college, Honor was distraught. And when the soldier arrived at the door to her Aunt's house to tell her what happened to her brother, she wasn't sure how she would go on.

After the funeral, Honor opens a handwritten letter from her brother, that arrived three days after he was killed. Something in the letter makes her decide that she has to fulfill her brother's wishes, so instead of heading off to her college orientation, she decides to head for California. *cue Rusty*

Rusty was Finn's childhood best friend, they were inseparable. When Finn had enlisted in Marines, their friendship seemed to end. All the plans they had made to go to the same college and play football together were gone. So when Honor sees Rusty, she doesn't know what to think. Against her better judgement, Rusty hops in the car with her.

As the two head off on this journey, they learn a lot along the way. I don't want to go into too much detail because I want you to read it yourselves. But one thing I loved is the emotional journey that Honor went through. Jessi Kirby did a fantastic job of writing the grieving process. I grieved along with Honor, her emotions were so honest and raw. Don't worry, the book isn't all sad. Honor and Rusty have great chemistry and some of their conversations have some fun sass and banter to them.

Even though we never meet Finn, we learn about him and his strength and compassion through Honor and Rusty, the two people who loved him and knew him better than anyone. It felt as though he was there. He was a main character to me, without him, there wouldn't be a story.

In Honor is a story that hits home for a lot of people. It hits home for me, and a month ago I don't know that it would have. It's funny how life has a way of leading you places, even to books. This was the perfect time for me to read this book and I'm so glad I did. I marked several passages (which I rarely do) that really hit the mark for me. And watch out leading book men of 2012--Rusty will give you all a run for your money.

Good Points
Beautifully written--very honest
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Slow Start, But A Great Read

I made a promise to Jessi Kirby after I finished Moonglass that I would read anything she published. And so that's how my journey with In Honor started.

After about twenty pages, I told myself I wouldn't be able to finish the book, but didn't quit reading the book (just in case). By page thirty or so, I thought Jessi had just lucked out with Moonglass. But, by the time I made it to page fifty or so, I didn't regret continuing my journey.

In Honor starts off as a slow read about a girl, Honor, who discovers that her brother has just died in the war and now she wants to make one last road trip for him. She brings Rusty, her brother's friend, and they take all of the hard times together.

Road trips aren't really my thing, but this particular road trip was more interesting than I had originally expected. The main character grew throughout the novel and learned a lot about herself and her brother.

The ending was almost a disappointment. The ending wasn't how I would have ended the book, but it was more realistic that way. I was mad at the author for about the last two pages until maybe the last paragraph or so. And then I realized the ending was going to be perfect.

To Sum it All Up: I look forward to Jessi Kirby's other works. The characters were interesting and the plot picked up the pace after the first couple of chapters.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Perfect in every way!

I loved this book. It starts off with Honor at her brother's funeral so of course it's going to be sad. Throughout the novel Honor, with the help of some unlikely friends, learns to deal with the loss of her brother Finn and come to terms with her grief. The characters you meet are all well developed and add to the beautiful story. Of course I was wanting Honor and Rusty to get together from Day 1, but the novel doesn't focus solely on their relationship and rather on the death of Finn.
If you are looking for a sweet read (it's a quick read), a heartbreaking read, and a perfectly perfect happy ending then this book is perfect for you!

Good Points
Roadtrip book!
Cowboy boots!
Texas hottie!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

This Savage Song
 
4.0
"This Savage Song is a uniquely peculiar novel that cleverly combines magic, monsters and music. Dark, violent and monstrous, the..."
The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Blight
 
4.7
"BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan is the next young adult dystopian novel that will set your world on fire. Torrest Tempest..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."
Mask of Shadows
 
4.0
"MASK OF SHADOWS by Linsey Miller features Sal Leon, a genderfluid thief who wants nothing more than to exact revenge..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
"This story is told in first-person present-tense entirely from the POV of Madeline, who is turning eighteen in the first..."
The Museum of Heartbreak
 
4.7
"I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but..."
Loved (House of Night Other World series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Zoe and the Nerd Herd from the House of Night Series have returned for another adventure in LOVED. All of..."
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! Someone Else's Summer was an amazing and emotional novel. It had a well written plot and captivating..."
Eden Summer
 
4.3
"EDEN SUMMER by Liz Flanagan is a rollercoaster of a novel. In this contemporary young adult book, Jess’ best friend,..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
4.3
"Tashi has had a rough life. With the power of an inhabitor, someone who bonds with an animal, they have..."
The Hollow Girl
 
5.0
"Content Warning: As the author mentions in the forward, there is sexual assault in this book. Disclaimer: I..."
Ash And Quill: The Great Library
 
4.3
"ASH AND QUILL is the third installment of The Great Library Series. Jess and his group of friends live in..."