Crazy Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/fe/0f/f8/11985_crazy_1334604032.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
915   1
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 12, 2012
ISBN
978-1442413474
Buy This Book
      

He’s falling in love—and she’s falling over the edge of sanity. From the author of Beautiful and Clean, a heartwrenching exploration of a romance marred by mental illness. Connor knows that Izzy will never fall in love with him the way he’s fallen for her. But somehow he’s been let into her crazy, exhilarating world and become her closest confidante. But the closer they get, the more Connor realizes that Izzy’s highs are too high and her lows are too low. And the frenetic energy that makes her shine is starting to push her into a much darker place. As Izzy’s behavior gets increasingly erratic and self-destructive, Connor gets increasingly desperate to stop her from plummeting. He knows he can’t save her from her pain...but what if no one else can?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
I have a few favorite authors. I have authors whose books I read with the expectation that they’ll be good. I have authors whose books I’ll pick up just because that author’s name is on the front cover. So yeah, I have favorites.

What I don’t have are authors who get 5/5 ratings across the board. I’m a fairly picky reader. I don’t dish out full marks on a whim. If a book gets a 5/5 rating, that basically means I want to fall down and worship it.

Amy Reed is an anomaly in my curmudgeonly reading career. Her debut, Beautiful knocked my pants off. Her sophomore novel, Clean, ripped out my soul and burned it. And her third novel, Crazy, pulverized my pantsless, soulless body. 3 novels, 3 five-star ratings, 1 author, 1 flabbergasted reader.

I’m not very good at math, but even I know that’s not something that comes along every day.

Technically speaking, Crazy was most likely the most well-written, well-constructed of Reed’s novels. There were funny moments, heartbreaking moments, moments where the author’s prose left me breathless, and some standard realistic fiction-y moments. Reed is an amazingly strong author, and I love that she’s willing to experiment. All of her novels are written in a different style—Crazy is an epistolary novel consisting of email exchanges between two teens who met at summer camp, one of whom begins to show signs of bipolar disorder.

The fact that Reed portrayed this story through email exchanges was, in the long run, probably an extremely wise choice, too. Like Connor, we can only read Isabel’s emails and feel powerless. There’s nothing he can do to help her except listen and offer advice—which she doesn’t exactly want. One complaint I have quite often with epistolary fiction is that it’s harder to make a connection with the characters; not the case with this books. Isabel, obviously takes center stage here, as she’s the one whose life is out of control. I empathized more with Connor, though, which is probably the intent. Like him, the reader is a spectator to Isabel’s problems. And, additionally, Connor’s everyday problems—a lesbian ex-girlfriend and a newfound gay best friend—were amusing and light-hearted enough to keep Crazy from being a puddle of depressing angst. Great balancing act on the author’s part.

Now, I’m a realistic fiction junkie; I really like issue books. However, there is such a thing as too much, and mental health/drugs/eating disorders are some very overused topics in the genre. What I love about Amy Reed is that she treats these topics respectfully, and she maintains a balance. Her novels aren’t swallowed by the issue—they contain the issue inside their pages. Crazy is about more than bipolar disorder. It’s about a long distance relationship, the overabundance of hipsters in the Puget Sound area, sexual identity crises, young love, etc. That, more than anything, is what made this novel so fantastic.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Renae M Reviewed by Renae M March 25, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (184)

Crazy

I have a few favorite authors. I have authors whose books I read with the expectation that they’ll be good. I have authors whose books I’ll pick up just because that author’s name is on the front cover. So yeah, I have favorites.

What I don’t have are authors who get 5/5 ratings across the board. I’m a fairly picky reader. I don’t dish out full marks on a whim. If a book gets a 5/5 rating, that basically means I want to fall down and worship it.

Amy Reed is an anomaly in my curmudgeonly reading career. Her debut, Beautiful knocked my pants off. Her sophomore novel, Clean, ripped out my soul and burned it. And her third novel, Crazy, pulverized my pantsless, soulless body. 3 novels, 3 five-star ratings, 1 author, 1 flabbergasted reader.

I’m not very good at math, but even I know that’s not something that comes along every day.

Technically speaking, Crazy was most likely the most well-written, well-constructed of Reed’s novels. There were funny moments, heartbreaking moments, moments where the author’s prose left me breathless, and some standard realistic fiction-y moments. Reed is an amazingly strong author, and I love that she’s willing to experiment. All of her novels are written in a different style—Crazy is an epistolary novel consisting of email exchanges between two teens who met at summer camp, one of whom begins to show signs of bipolar disorder.

The fact that Reed portrayed this story through email exchanges was, in the long run, probably an extremely wise choice, too. Like Connor, we can only read Isabel’s emails and feel powerless. There’s nothing he can do to help her except listen and offer advice—which she doesn’t exactly want. One complaint I have quite often with epistolary fiction is that it’s harder to make a connection with the characters; not the case with this books. Isabel, obviously takes center stage here, as she’s the one whose life is out of control. I empathized more with Connor, though, which is probably the intent. Like him, the reader is a spectator to Isabel’s problems. And, additionally, Connor’s everyday problems—a lesbian ex-girlfriend and a newfound gay best friend—were amusing and light-hearted enough to keep Crazy from being a puddle of depressing angst. Great balancing act on the author’s part.

Now, I’m a realistic fiction junkie; I really like issue books. However, there is such a thing as too much, and mental health/drugs/eating disorders are some very overused topics in the genre. What I love about Amy Reed is that she treats these topics respectfully, and she maintains a balance. Her novels aren’t swallowed by the issue—they contain the issue inside their pages. Crazy is about more than bipolar disorder. It’s about a long distance relationship, the overabundance of hipsters in the Puget Sound area, sexual identity crises, young love, etc. That, more than anything, is what made this novel so fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)