Cat Girl's Day Off

Featured
 
5.0 (3)
 
0.0 (0)
2269   0
Write Review
Cat Girl's Day Off
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1600608834
Buy This Book
      

Never listen to a cat. That will only get you in trouble. Actually, scratch that. Listening to cats is one thing, but really I should never listen to my best friend Oscar. It's completely his fault (okay, and my aspiring actress friend Melly's too) that I got caught up in this crazy celebrity-kidnapping mess. If you had asked me, I would have thought it would be one of my super-Talented sisters who'd get caught up in crime fighting. I definitely never thought it would be me and my Talent trying to save the day. Usually, all you get out of conversations with cats is requests for tummy rubs and tuna. Wait . . . I go back to what I said first: Never listen to a cat. Because when the trouble starts and the kitty litter hits the fan, trust me, you don't want to be in the middle of it.

Editor reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (3)
Characters 
 
5.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (3)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Hilarious Adventure

There's so much to love about this book. The characters are vivid, authentic, and distinct. The relationships are nuanced. The setting feels absolutely real. The humor is spot-on. And the adventure keeps the reader turning the pages as fast as possible.

The real magic of CAT GIRL'S DAY OFF is the narrative voice. Natalie Ng is quirky, slightly snarky, and usually feels in over her head. She is both brave and insecure, and consistently undervalues herself (for reasons that make sense) even while she reluctantly assumes the mantle of heroine. I laughed countless times during the book, thanks to Nat's voice. And I ached for her to find her happily ever after with her love interest. I worried that she'd get into so much trouble she wouldn't find her way out. And I loved every second of Nat's discovery that the Talent she thought was nothing special (which lead her to believe SHE was nothing special) was the only way to save the day.

There are lovely little moments along the way between Nat and her family and friends. There are cringe-worthy moments as well, especially at school, as the attention-shy Nat lands herself in hot water in the most memorable way possible. I absolutely couldn't put the book down. This is a wild, funny, heart-warming adventure that will have readers begging for a sequel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Hilarious, Fun YA Tale

I totally loved this book! First, the cover. Yes, I have to mention that. I felt the cover was perfect for the story. The clerks at Barnes & Noble, where I purchased my copy of this book, smiled when they saw it. You will too! Love that the cover isn't whitewashed but shows Nat as I picture her. Plus, also Rufus, who I can tell isn't too happy with his situation!

This is one hilarious, fun romp that made me want MORE! Nat's family has special abilities like her older sister who is a living lie detector and her 12 year-old-sister who's in high school. Nat's talent is being able to communicate with cats. Her mother is allergic so Nat ends up with the expensive hypoallergenic one. She's kind of embarrassed of her ability until she sees Rufus on TV screaming that his human is gone. Now her friends, who are equal parts quirky and lovable, convince her she has to help.

If you've seen Ferris Bueller's Day Off, you get an idea on the rollercoaster ride Nat and her friends go on.

My favorite character has to be Rufus. Yes, he's a cat but man he's filled with kitty 'tude and you know not to mess with him. Nat's interaction with Rufus and the other cats is so funny. One scene has Rufus with Meeta, Nat's cat, discussing how much Nat 'likes' this one guy, in front of him. Of course he doesn't understand 'cat' but Nat is dying of embarrassment. Readers will be hooting and giggling. I did!

CAT GIRL'S DAY OFF is a refreshing YA in a sea of dark paranormals out there. Plus it has characters you care about that aren't cardboard caricatures. A total must read!

Good Points
1. Hilarious
2. Great characters
3. A fast-paced romp that makes you want more
4. Rufus. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Cat Girl's Day Off

Okay, first I'd better 'fess up. I love *Ferris Bueller's Day Off.* I loved it in 1986 when I was (mumble-mumble) years old, and I love it now. In fact, I’m a fan of pretty much everything by John Hughes. Which means I was even more of a sucker for Kimberly Pauley’s CAT GIRL'S DAY OFF than I had expected to be (and I was ready to love it). Three quirky friends, a nice, smart love interest, the making of a movie about a teen who decides to recreate Ferris Bueller's Day Off… all that plus a shape-shifting villain and a cat with attitude? Seriously. It was like I had died and gone to YA heaven. In Chicago. With lots of cats.

So here’s how it is. Natalie Ng's family are all Talented. Her super-genius younger sister can vanish like a chameleon. Her beautiful older sister can levitate objects and knows if someone is lying. Even her dad has a supersensitive nose. Middle-kid-to-the-nth-degree Nat has a Talent too, but it's seriously Grade B, as in B-oring. She can speak to cats.

This is not a gift Nat particularly wants anyone to know about, fearing social death and everyone calling her Cat Girl. Her best friends Oscar (outrageous gay side-kick) and Mellie (gorgeous movie-star-to-be) know, but that's it. Yet when a celebrity-gossip blogger is kidnapped – replaced, her pet cat screams, by an imposter – it’s only Nat who understands. You know at the start that the three friends will end up saving the day, but along the way there are twists, turns, surprises, a startling number of cats – and a story that kept me reading (and giggling) without pausing for breath or bathroom breaks.

The characters were similarly both familiar and surprising. Nat on the one hand fits the mold of the odd-girl heroine, but she never became a stock character. She felt powerfully real – so real I truly cared what happened between her and (*sigh*) Ian, and I really wanted her family to see her in a new light. Oscar and Mellie likewise – in the hands of a lesser writer, they both could have been clichés, but Pauley infused them with full, rich lives and selves. I ended up wishing they were MY best friends, and that I didn’t have to leave them behind when I turned the last page. The urban-fantasy element—that some humans have Talents (not superpowers, Nat’s mother insists)—was utterly believable, and never needed dull exposition to justify its existence.

The (dare I say zany?) madcap adventures in Kimberly Pauley's truly delightful new book are Hughes-ish in the best possible way, happy ending and all. I can’t imagine finding a better beach book this year, but if I were you, I wouldn’t wait until summer to read it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."