Troy

 
0.0
 
4.8 (8)
2041   0
Write Review
Troy
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 01, 2001
ISBN
0152045708
Buy This Book
      
The siege of Troy has lasted almost ten years. Inside the walled city, food is scarce and death is common. From the heights of Mount Olympus, the Gods keep watch. But Aphrodite, Goddess of Love, is bored with the endless, dreary war. Aided by Eros's bow, the goddess sends two sisters down a bloody path to an awful truth: In the fury of war, love strikes the deadliest blows.

Heralded by fans and critics alike, Adèle Geras breathes personality, heartbreak, and humor into this classic story.

User reviews

8 reviews

 
(6)
 
(2)
3 stars
 
(0)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Wonderful Writing

Reader reviewed by Mairi

Aphrodite, Goddess of Love, has powers mere mortals cannot begin to fathom, and she doesn't like it when people forget it, though in times of war, they sometimes do. She is eager to assert her power during the Trojan War. Thus, she fixes her sights on three young people living in the citadel high above the plains of battle- Xanthe, who tends wounded soldiers in the Blood Room, Marpessa, who serves as handmaiden to Helen herself, and Alastor, a soldier whose mother, "frightful Phrontis," holds him under her thumb.

I can't remember how I found out about this book. As far as I can remember, it was very popular among my friends when I first picked it up in seventh grade- years ago now. I've reread it many times since then, even though I'm not that fond of the sequel, Ithaka.


This is probably one of the first clear-cut YA books I ever read, and in that capacity I would recommend it- it's wonderful writing, besides.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Beautiful

Reader reviewed by Brittany

I had to read this book for school and I wasn't too happy when I started. But, after I finished the book, I realized that it was one of the most beautiful books I've ever read. Full of love and passion...what could be better?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A great book...no other way to put it...

Reader reviewed by Kat

Adele Geras has written a fantastic book, to put it quite simply. The story is about the final weeks of the Trojan war, but mainly focuses on the sisters Xanthe and Marpessa, the latter who can see gods and goddesses in everyday life and speaks to them(this is one of my favorite aspects of the book). It is a little slow to begin with, but hard to put down once you get into it. Probably because i just watched the movie Troy the other night(thus inspiring me to read the book i picked up from barnes and noble months ago), I keep imagining what it would be like if I were to make this into a movie...pretty sweet. the only thing i found frustrating is that everyone but marpessa who happens to see a god or goddess promptly forgets all about it or convinces themselves that they were dreaming...how lame. now i must read the iliad! inspiring book!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Fabulous!

Reader reviewed by Morgan

This is a MUST READ! You have got to read this book. Go buy it or pick it up in the library. It's mythical and historica and sad and beautiful and will keep you entranced. You will LOVE Greek mythology and the ancient Greco-Roman world after this!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Absolutely Fabulous!!!

Reader reviewed by Alli

This book was just wonderful. I was attached to it the moment I finished the first chapter. The book is about the Trojan War, and about everything that happened between several people's lives during it. Love, death, and hate make up a lot of the books emotional side. This book would defintly be good for anyone who enjoys mythology and history!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Sad story,

Reader reviewed by gabriella

The oldest purpose of war -LOVE.I like this classics story couse I think I can read true story .Everything is so real.Who dont read this story dont know nothing about greece history.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

If you loved the Movie, You'll Love the Book

Reader reviewed by Diana

Troy follows a few different people though there stuggles as the trojan war comes to an end. This book is a lot like the movie Troy but as always it goes into more depth and shows you different aspects of the story. It really is a awesome read. Although it is a little though to read if you like something simple like princess diaries you might have a hard time with this one. It uses language from the time period and its writtin in a very time period appropirate way, but regardless I would recomend it to anyone whos interested. Go check it out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Excellent Adaptation

Reader reviewed by Peggy MacPhie

The interest in Homer's "The Iliad" is increasing this year with the film "Troy" due in theatres soon.

Adele Geras' "Troy" isn't the basis for this film, but is instead a YA adaptation of Homer's original work. All of the elements that made "The Iliad" great are there -- the love affair between Paris and Helen that sparked the war to begin with, the epic battle between Hector and Achilles, and the infamous Trojan horse. Geras tells the story from the perspective of all the major players, mortal and immortal, and also introduces several characters of her own.

At the forefront of the story are the sisters Marpessa, a handmaiden of Helen of Troy, and Xanthe, servant to Hector's wife Andromache, and the love the two girls feel for the handsome Alastor, a Trojan soldier who lives under his dragon-like mother's son.

If you know the original story then you'll know the outcome in the city of Troy, but nonetheless your breath will be taken away by Geras' characterizations and depictions of life in Troy.

Anyone who had difficulty reading the poem in it's many translations might want to try reading this first, as it may help you follow Homer's "The Iliad."

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."