Troy

 
0.0
 
4.8 (8)
1090   0
Write Review
Troy
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 01, 2001
ISBN
0152045708
Buy This Book
      
The siege of Troy has lasted almost ten years. Inside the walled city, food is scarce and death is common. From the heights of Mount Olympus, the Gods keep watch. But Aphrodite, Goddess of Love, is bored with the endless, dreary war. Aided by Eros's bow, the goddess sends two sisters down a bloody path to an awful truth: In the fury of war, love strikes the deadliest blows.

Heralded by fans and critics alike, Adèle Geras breathes personality, heartbreak, and humor into this classic story.

User reviews

8 reviews

 
(6)
 
(2)
3 stars
 
(0)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Wonderful Writing

Reader reviewed by Mairi

Aphrodite, Goddess of Love, has powers mere mortals cannot begin to fathom, and she doesn't like it when people forget it, though in times of war, they sometimes do. She is eager to assert her power during the Trojan War. Thus, she fixes her sights on three young people living in the citadel high above the plains of battle- Xanthe, who tends wounded soldiers in the Blood Room, Marpessa, who serves as handmaiden to Helen herself, and Alastor, a soldier whose mother, "frightful Phrontis," holds him under her thumb.

I can't remember how I found out about this book. As far as I can remember, it was very popular among my friends when I first picked it up in seventh grade- years ago now. I've reread it many times since then, even though I'm not that fond of the sequel, Ithaka.


This is probably one of the first clear-cut YA books I ever read, and in that capacity I would recommend it- it's wonderful writing, besides.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Beautiful

Reader reviewed by Brittany

I had to read this book for school and I wasn't too happy when I started. But, after I finished the book, I realized that it was one of the most beautiful books I've ever read. Full of love and passion...what could be better?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A great book...no other way to put it...

Reader reviewed by Kat

Adele Geras has written a fantastic book, to put it quite simply. The story is about the final weeks of the Trojan war, but mainly focuses on the sisters Xanthe and Marpessa, the latter who can see gods and goddesses in everyday life and speaks to them(this is one of my favorite aspects of the book). It is a little slow to begin with, but hard to put down once you get into it. Probably because i just watched the movie Troy the other night(thus inspiring me to read the book i picked up from barnes and noble months ago), I keep imagining what it would be like if I were to make this into a movie...pretty sweet. the only thing i found frustrating is that everyone but marpessa who happens to see a god or goddess promptly forgets all about it or convinces themselves that they were dreaming...how lame. now i must read the iliad! inspiring book!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Fabulous!

Reader reviewed by Morgan

This is a MUST READ! You have got to read this book. Go buy it or pick it up in the library. It's mythical and historica and sad and beautiful and will keep you entranced. You will LOVE Greek mythology and the ancient Greco-Roman world after this!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Absolutely Fabulous!!!

Reader reviewed by Alli

This book was just wonderful. I was attached to it the moment I finished the first chapter. The book is about the Trojan War, and about everything that happened between several people's lives during it. Love, death, and hate make up a lot of the books emotional side. This book would defintly be good for anyone who enjoys mythology and history!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Sad story,

Reader reviewed by gabriella

The oldest purpose of war -LOVE.I like this classics story couse I think I can read true story .Everything is so real.Who dont read this story dont know nothing about greece history.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

If you loved the Movie, You'll Love the Book

Reader reviewed by Diana

Troy follows a few different people though there stuggles as the trojan war comes to an end. This book is a lot like the movie Troy but as always it goes into more depth and shows you different aspects of the story. It really is a awesome read. Although it is a little though to read if you like something simple like princess diaries you might have a hard time with this one. It uses language from the time period and its writtin in a very time period appropirate way, but regardless I would recomend it to anyone whos interested. Go check it out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Excellent Adaptation

Reader reviewed by Peggy MacPhie

The interest in Homer's "The Iliad" is increasing this year with the film "Troy" due in theatres soon.

Adele Geras' "Troy" isn't the basis for this film, but is instead a YA adaptation of Homer's original work. All of the elements that made "The Iliad" great are there -- the love affair between Paris and Helen that sparked the war to begin with, the epic battle between Hector and Achilles, and the infamous Trojan horse. Geras tells the story from the perspective of all the major players, mortal and immortal, and also introduces several characters of her own.

At the forefront of the story are the sisters Marpessa, a handmaiden of Helen of Troy, and Xanthe, servant to Hector's wife Andromache, and the love the two girls feel for the handsome Alastor, a Trojan soldier who lives under his dragon-like mother's son.

If you know the original story then you'll know the outcome in the city of Troy, but nonetheless your breath will be taken away by Geras' characterizations and depictions of life in Troy.

Anyone who had difficulty reading the poem in it's many translations might want to try reading this first, as it may help you follow Homer's "The Iliad."

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)