Books Young Adult Fiction The Fire Eternal (The Last Dragon Chronicles #4)

The Fire Eternal (The Last Dragon Chronicles #4)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/24/8b/2d/11886_1891296-1348889382.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
397   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 01, 2010
ISBN
978-1846164262
Buy This Book
      
Five years have passed since David Rain, now a cult author, disappeared mysteriously in the Arctic. Life in Wayward Crescent has settled to relative normality. But as the weather grows wild and the ice caps melt, all eyes turn north, where bears and the souls of the Inuit dead are combing to produce a spectacular solution... ...a solution with its focus on David's child, Alexa-if the agents of evil don't reach her first.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
This book is the fourth book in the series. To be honest, it wasn't the best book in the series, but it is still a very good book. At the start I found it a teensy bit confusing because it is set five years into the future, which takes some getting used to.

In the other two books, David Rain was definitely my favourite character, but in this one, I don't know. He's barely in it at all, which I find annoying, since I like him a lot, and the bits he is in, he's a completely changed person. I was disappointed with this because I really liked him the way he was, and not so much now. And I think I really preferred Lucy as a young girl, not as a sixteen-year-old young woman. I also found that a little disappointing.

But other than that, this book is really great. This one and the ones that come after it seem kind of like a whole new series, or part 2 of the series, that gets much, much deeper into the world of dragons, and evil sibyls, and other things like that.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Louisa Reviewed by Louisa June 07, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (119)

The Fire Eternal

This book is the fourth book in the series. To be honest, it wasn't the best book in the series, but it is still a very good book. At the start I found it a teensy bit confusing because it is set five years into the future, which takes some getting used to.

In the other two books, David Rain was definitely my favourite character, but in this one, I don't know. He's barely in it at all, which I find annoying, since I like him a lot, and the bits he is in, he's a completely changed person. I was disappointed with this because I really liked him the way he was, and not so much now. And I think I really preferred Lucy as a young girl, not as a sixteen-year-old young woman. I also found that a little disappointing.

But other than that, this book is really great. This one and the ones that come after it seem kind of like a whole new series, or part 2 of the series, that gets much, much deeper into the world of dragons, and evil sibyls, and other things like that.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The Fire Eternal is the fourth book in the Last Dragon Chronicles, and Chris d'Lacey does not disappoint. It is slightly confusing at first because your mind needs to get a grip as the book is set five years into the future. Sometimes I thought it wasn't and I got quite confused.

I felt that this book wasn't quite as good as the last three as David Rain isn't in it a lot, and the parts he is in, he seems like a completely different person. He was my favorite character, so I was slightly disappointed with this major issue. But he is well written in the parts that he appears in, even though he feels like a completely new character.

But other that minor problem, this book is great. This book and the ones after it, feel like a separate part of the series as it gets a whole lot deeper. The Fire Eternal is an amazing book that I just feel in love with.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Casog Reviewed by Casog May 02, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (261)

A spectacular solution...

The Fire Eternal is the fourth book in the Last Dragon Chronicles, and Chris d'Lacey does not disappoint. It is slightly confusing at first because your mind needs to get a grip as the book is set five years into the future. Sometimes I thought it wasn't and I got quite confused.

I felt that this book wasn't quite as good as the last three as David Rain isn't in it a lot, and the parts he is in, he seems like a completely different person. He was my favorite character, so I was slightly disappointed with this major issue. But he is well written in the parts that he appears in, even though he feels like a completely new character.

But other that minor problem, this book is great. This book and the ones after it, feel like a separate part of the series as it gets a whole lot deeper. The Fire Eternal is an amazing book that I just feel in love with.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)