The Fire Eternal (The Last Dragon Chronicles #4)

The Fire Eternal (The Last Dragon Chronicles #4)

 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
792   0
Write Review
The Fire Eternal (The Last Dragon Chronicles #4)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 01, 2010
ISBN
978-1846164262
Buy This Book
      
Five years have passed since David Rain, now a cult author, disappeared mysteriously in the Arctic. Life in Wayward Crescent has settled to relative normality. But as the weather grows wild and the ice caps melt, all eyes turn north, where bears and the souls of the Inuit dead are combing to produce a spectacular solution... ...a solution with its focus on David's child, Alexa-if the agents of evil don't reach her first.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Fire Eternal

This book is the fourth book in the series. To be honest, it wasn't the best book in the series, but it is still a very good book. At the start I found it a teensy bit confusing because it is set five years into the future, which takes some getting used to.

In the other two books, David Rain was definitely my favourite character, but in this one, I don't know. He's barely in it at all, which I find annoying, since I like him a lot, and the bits he is in, he's a completely changed person. I was disappointed with this because I really liked him the way he was, and not so much now. And I think I really preferred Lucy as a young girl, not as a sixteen-year-old young woman. I also found that a little disappointing.

But other than that, this book is really great. This one and the ones that come after it seem kind of like a whole new series, or part 2 of the series, that gets much, much deeper into the world of dragons, and evil sibyls, and other things like that.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A spectacular solution...

The Fire Eternal is the fourth book in the Last Dragon Chronicles, and Chris d'Lacey does not disappoint. It is slightly confusing at first because your mind needs to get a grip as the book is set five years into the future. Sometimes I thought it wasn't and I got quite confused.

I felt that this book wasn't quite as good as the last three as David Rain isn't in it a lot, and the parts he is in, he seems like a completely different person. He was my favorite character, so I was slightly disappointed with this major issue. But he is well written in the parts that he appears in, even though he feels like a completely new character.

But other that minor problem, this book is great. This book and the ones after it, feel like a separate part of the series as it gets a whole lot deeper. The Fire Eternal is an amazing book that I just feel in love with.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

See Fred Run
 
3.5
"'See Fred Run' by Kevin Bolger, and illustrated by Ben Hodson, is a story about main character Fred and his..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Flowers for Sarajevo
 
5.0
"Haunting and hopeful. The bombing one of the last working bakeries in the city of Sarajevo might have been..."
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
 
4.5
"If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting..."
Plankton Is Pushy
 
4.0
"A quick and comical read, rife with sarcasm. A particular plankton is used to eliciting a response from every..."
Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure
 
4.0
"DRAGONWATCH is a captivating, action-packed story that is filled with all type of creatures such as trolls, goblins, dragons, nipsies,..."
Once Upon a Cruise
 
4.0
"What I Loved: After Ainsley’s mom took a cruise director job aboard what is essentially a mockbuster Disney cruise, Ainsley..."
Five Elements #2: The Shadow City
 
4.0
"THE SHADOW CITY starts off where I expected it to. The elementals are trying to decide on their next move...."
Will Wilder #2: The Lost Staff of Wonders
 
4.0
"In THE LOST STAFF OF WONDERS, the legendary staff of Moses is stolen by a powerful demon named Amon who..."
Cavern of Secrets (Wing and Claw #2)
 
4.0
"Raffa, Kuma, and Garith have escaped Gilden with their animal companions in CAVERN OF SECRETS. Raffa has Echo the Bat..."
Black Moon Rising (The Library Book 2)
 
5.0
"Marcus, along with his friends Lu and Theo, are struggling to make it through middle school. Lu gets a bad..."
Pig the Winner
 
4.5
"This book is a winner (no pun intended). This hilarious story paired with the most perfect illustrations will definitely leave..."
Rolling Thunder
 
5.0
"A touching memorandum and homage to the armed forces—wrapped in a gentle and beautifully illustrated teaching tool. The premise..."