Books Young Adult Fiction The Fire Eternal (The Last Dragon Chronicles #4)

The Fire Eternal (The Last Dragon Chronicles #4)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/24/8b/2d/11886_1891296-1348889382.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
423   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 01, 2010
ISBN
978-1846164262
Buy This Book
      
Five years have passed since David Rain, now a cult author, disappeared mysteriously in the Arctic. Life in Wayward Crescent has settled to relative normality. But as the weather grows wild and the ice caps melt, all eyes turn north, where bears and the souls of the Inuit dead are combing to produce a spectacular solution... ...a solution with its focus on David's child, Alexa-if the agents of evil don't reach her first.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
This book is the fourth book in the series. To be honest, it wasn't the best book in the series, but it is still a very good book. At the start I found it a teensy bit confusing because it is set five years into the future, which takes some getting used to.

In the other two books, David Rain was definitely my favourite character, but in this one, I don't know. He's barely in it at all, which I find annoying, since I like him a lot, and the bits he is in, he's a completely changed person. I was disappointed with this because I really liked him the way he was, and not so much now. And I think I really preferred Lucy as a young girl, not as a sixteen-year-old young woman. I also found that a little disappointing.

But other than that, this book is really great. This one and the ones that come after it seem kind of like a whole new series, or part 2 of the series, that gets much, much deeper into the world of dragons, and evil sibyls, and other things like that.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Louisa Reviewed by Louisa June 07, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (119)

The Fire Eternal

This book is the fourth book in the series. To be honest, it wasn't the best book in the series, but it is still a very good book. At the start I found it a teensy bit confusing because it is set five years into the future, which takes some getting used to.

In the other two books, David Rain was definitely my favourite character, but in this one, I don't know. He's barely in it at all, which I find annoying, since I like him a lot, and the bits he is in, he's a completely changed person. I was disappointed with this because I really liked him the way he was, and not so much now. And I think I really preferred Lucy as a young girl, not as a sixteen-year-old young woman. I also found that a little disappointing.

But other than that, this book is really great. This one and the ones that come after it seem kind of like a whole new series, or part 2 of the series, that gets much, much deeper into the world of dragons, and evil sibyls, and other things like that.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The Fire Eternal is the fourth book in the Last Dragon Chronicles, and Chris d'Lacey does not disappoint. It is slightly confusing at first because your mind needs to get a grip as the book is set five years into the future. Sometimes I thought it wasn't and I got quite confused.

I felt that this book wasn't quite as good as the last three as David Rain isn't in it a lot, and the parts he is in, he seems like a completely different person. He was my favorite character, so I was slightly disappointed with this major issue. But he is well written in the parts that he appears in, even though he feels like a completely new character.

But other that minor problem, this book is great. This book and the ones after it, feel like a separate part of the series as it gets a whole lot deeper. The Fire Eternal is an amazing book that I just feel in love with.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Casog Reviewed by Casog May 02, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (261)

A spectacular solution...

The Fire Eternal is the fourth book in the Last Dragon Chronicles, and Chris d'Lacey does not disappoint. It is slightly confusing at first because your mind needs to get a grip as the book is set five years into the future. Sometimes I thought it wasn't and I got quite confused.

I felt that this book wasn't quite as good as the last three as David Rain isn't in it a lot, and the parts he is in, he seems like a completely different person. He was my favorite character, so I was slightly disappointed with this major issue. But he is well written in the parts that he appears in, even though he feels like a completely new character.

But other that minor problem, this book is great. This book and the ones after it, feel like a separate part of the series as it gets a whole lot deeper. The Fire Eternal is an amazing book that I just feel in love with.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)