Books Young Adult Fiction Always a Witch (Witch #2)

Always a Witch (Witch #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/d5/e5/5a/_8572704_1330518175.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.8 (2)
312   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 01, 2011
ISBN
0547224850
Buy This Book
      
The adventures of Tam and Gabriel continue with more time travel, Talents, spy work, and of course, the evil Knights. Since the gripping conclusion of Once A Witch, Tamsin Greene has been haunted by her grandmother's prophecy that she will soon be forced to make a crucial decision—one so terrible that it could harm her family forever. When she discovers that her enemy, Alistair Knight, went back in time to Victorian-era New York in order to destroy her family, Tamsin is forced to follow him into the past. Stranded all alone in the nineteenth century, Tamsin soon finds herself disguised as a lady's maid in the terrifying mansion of the evil Knight family, avoiding the watchful eye of the vicious matron, La Spider, and fending off the advances of Liam Knight. As time runs out, both families square off in a thrilling display of magic. And to her horror, Tamsin finally understands the nature of her fateful choice.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
I am such a huge fan of witches. I know I say this all the time in reviews, but seriously, they blow vampires and werewolves and all of that other stuff out of the water. Especially when they’re written in an original and interesting way. Just like in Once a Witch, and this book, Always a Witch.

Once a Witch was a bit of a roller coaster, which I loved. There was action, magic, adventure, time-travel, romance – it had everything. So I’m very pleased that we got all that from Always a Witch, and even more. I love historical fiction, and most of Always a Witch takes place in the late 1800s, so that’s was definitely an added bonus while reading.

A lot of books do a ton of backstory at the beginning of the second book, and Always a Witch didn’t do that. There was a short prologue thing and then it sort of just jumped right into the story, which I loved.

I love the originality in this series. It’s definitely witchcraft, but Carolyn MacCullough doesn’t call it witchcraft per say – it’s Talents. Each member of the family has a specific talent they can do (mind control, freezing, shooting fire, etc), but it’s written way more eloquently than that.

Overall, I loved Always a Witch. I thought it was a great follow-up to Once a Witch, with a very bittersweet ending. I don’t know if Always a Witch is the final book in the series, but if so, it ends just as it needs to, although I would absolutely read more from this world. I definitely recommend checking out this series if you haven’t already – it’s a lot of fun with unexpected twists.

Review originally posted on my blog http://hobbitsies.net/2011/07/always-a-witch-by-carolyn-maccullough/
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Tara Gonzalez Reviewed by Tara Gonzalez December 21, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (68)

Hobbitsies Reviews: Wonderful story with a bittersweet ending

I am such a huge fan of witches. I know I say this all the time in reviews, but seriously, they blow vampires and werewolves and all of that other stuff out of the water. Especially when they’re written in an original and interesting way. Just like in Once a Witch, and this book, Always a Witch.

Once a Witch was a bit of a roller coaster, which I loved. There was action, magic, adventure, time-travel, romance – it had everything. So I’m very pleased that we got all that from Always a Witch, and even more. I love historical fiction, and most of Always a Witch takes place in the late 1800s, so that’s was definitely an added bonus while reading.

A lot of books do a ton of backstory at the beginning of the second book, and Always a Witch didn’t do that. There was a short prologue thing and then it sort of just jumped right into the story, which I loved.

I love the originality in this series. It’s definitely witchcraft, but Carolyn MacCullough doesn’t call it witchcraft per say – it’s Talents. Each member of the family has a specific talent they can do (mind control, freezing, shooting fire, etc), but it’s written way more eloquently than that.

Overall, I loved Always a Witch. I thought it was a great follow-up to Once a Witch, with a very bittersweet ending. I don’t know if Always a Witch is the final book in the series, but if so, it ends just as it needs to, although I would absolutely read more from this world. I definitely recommend checking out this series if you haven’t already – it’s a lot of fun with unexpected twists.

Review originally posted on my blog http://hobbitsies.net/2011/07/always-a-witch-by-carolyn-maccullough/

Was this review helpful to you? 
Before reading the review, be warned that this is the second in a series and you shouldn't read on unless you've read the first, don't want to read either but like reading reviews, or love spoilers (for the first book, not this one). I completely adored Once a Witch and the same is true of the sequel, even though it broke my heart a little bit. The resolution of the story made perfect sense and, though I saw it coming and knew it needed to happen, I really did not want it to happen that way.

Tamsin never smoked again, a thing I complained about in my review for the first book, so it really was just that one scene. This pretty much cements my belief that she may have been a sm0ker in an early draft and that one scene missed getting cut. Thank goodness she's not actually a smoker or I would probably have to hate her. Which I don't want to do, because she is so delightfully sarcastic, as all of the best heroines are.

I still really love the Talents. They remind me of people's powers on the Heroes television show. It's so much fun to find out what everyone can do. Tamsin definitely has the coolest power, sort of Peter Petrelli-ish. My one complaint here is that when Tamsin's going back to the past to save the whole family, they don't all line up and throw their power at her three time so that she can be well-armed for the coming battle. It's not like she takes their powers forever, as evidenced by Aunt Beatrice still being able to freeze kids at the end of book one. Stupid family is stupid.

For those who loved Once a Witch, you will not be disappointed in Always a Witch. It has magic, action, suspense, nineteenth century drama and romance. Always a Witch is coming out August 1. Get yourself a copy!

P.S. I like the cover. However, who on earth is that supposed to be? Jessica? Tamsin has curly hair, like the girl on the cover of book one. Sigh.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautiful

Before reading the review, be warned that this is the second in a series and you shouldn't read on unless you've read the first, don't want to read either but like reading reviews, or love spoilers (for the first book, not this one). I completely adored Once a Witch and the same is true of the sequel, even though it broke my heart a little bit. The resolution of the story made perfect sense and, though I saw it coming and knew it needed to happen, I really did not want it to happen that way.

Tamsin never smoked again, a thing I complained about in my review for the first book, so it really was just that one scene. This pretty much cements my belief that she may have been a sm0ker in an early draft and that one scene missed getting cut. Thank goodness she's not actually a smoker or I would probably have to hate her. Which I don't want to do, because she is so delightfully sarcastic, as all of the best heroines are.

I still really love the Talents. They remind me of people's powers on the Heroes television show. It's so much fun to find out what everyone can do. Tamsin definitely has the coolest power, sort of Peter Petrelli-ish. My one complaint here is that when Tamsin's going back to the past to save the whole family, they don't all line up and throw their power at her three time so that she can be well-armed for the coming battle. It's not like she takes their powers forever, as evidenced by Aunt Beatrice still being able to freeze kids at the end of book one. Stupid family is stupid.

For those who loved Once a Witch, you will not be disappointed in Always a Witch. It has magic, action, suspense, nineteenth century drama and romance. Always a Witch is coming out August 1. Get yourself a copy!

P.S. I like the cover. However, who on earth is that supposed to be? Jessica? Tamsin has curly hair, like the girl on the cover of book one. Sigh.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)