Hades (Halo #2)

 
1.7
 
4.3 (2)
688   0
Write Review
Hades (Halo #2)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 30, 2011
ISBN
9780312656270
Buy This Book
      

Heaven Help Her.

Bethany Church is an angel sent to Earth to keep dark forces at bay. Falling in love was never part of her mission, but the bond between Beth and her mortal boyfriend, Xavier Woods, is undeniably strong. But even Xavier’s love, and the care of her archangel siblings, Gabriel and Ivy, can’t keep Beth from being tricked into a motorcycle ride that ends up in Hell. There, the demon Jake Thorn bargains for Beth’s release back to Earth. But what he asks of her will destroy her, and quite possibly, her loved ones, as well.

The story that Alexandra Adornetto built in her New York Times-bestselling debut, Halo, comes alive in action-packed and unexpected ways, as angels battle demons, and the power of love is put to the test.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
1.7
Plot 
 
1.0  (1)
Characters 
 
2.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
2.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0

Hades doesn't hold a candle to Halo.

First, let me say that I don't like giving a negative review of anything, especially something like a book because I know there's a person (an author) behind it but I also have to be honest and say I just did not enjoy this book. I enjoyed "Halo", beautiful cover and all and was looking forward to reading this one but was disappointed.

Maybe it was because Bethany spends the majority of her time in Hades aka Hell (all the heat, sadness and tortured souls does get a little depressing after a while) or maybe because I just wasn't as into the storyline like I was with "Halo", Idk.
(There's a really slim chance it could be because there was a lot less of Xavier but I can neither confirm nor deny that.)
I know the writing itself isn't stellar but I'm OK with that. I liked the lightheartedness of "Halo" and I guess I kind of expected a lot of the gloom and doom of Hades but I sure hope the third book, "Heaven" will be just that, Heaven. (Now, I have "Just like Heaven" by The Cure running through my head...)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

My Hades Review

The second book of the Halo series was much better than the first book. Beth finds herself trapped in Hell. Jake has claimed her for his bride, and things are definitely not looking up. She is wasting away in a world where everyone openly despises her. I was caught up in the story of this book. I was so enthralled with the series of events that was taking place in Hades. This book had a little bit of everything you could possibly want in a book. It had romance, tragedy, heroism, miracles, possessions, and exorcism. There was even the introduction of Lucifer aka “Big Daddy”. This had me reeling. I have never thought of Lucifer in this sense, but it was quite hilarious!

Bethany is still the childish, gullible, and clingy little girl that book one left off with. She is insecure and melodramatic! Her character continuously got under my skin. I found myself wanting to strangle, shake, and smack her around at times! I mean okay I get that she is supposed to be this innocent angel, but she was just so annoying at times that I felt that it took a lot away from the book for me. I was so flustered by her character I felt that I did not enjoy the book as much as I should have. Not to mention her boyfriend Xavier.

Xavier is the kind of guy that girls fall head over heels for. He is tall, handsome, smart, a leader, and an athlete. I just find him very egotistical. He was so sure of himself and his “strength”. I mean you would think he would learn from having his ass handed to him the last time, but no he was determined to try and prove to the world he was tough enough to take on the forces of evil. I did appreciate his loyalty to Beth, but there are times where we have to be reasonable, mature adults and know when to back down. He was constantly getting involved in things that were beyond him. His clinginess was another downfall of his. I understand loving someone, but smothering yourself with them has never been good for anyone. You tend to lose sight of yourself and things that you want/need. Yet, I think the thing that I found the most distasteful with his personality was his ability to be extremely overbearing. A guy that can be a little over protective can be cute, but when he controls every action you make; NO THANKS!

Jake has always been my favorite character. He is tall, dark, handsome, charming, romantic, and lonely. In the first book, he was vanquished back to the underworld by Gabriel. He has returned with a vengeance in this book. He wants what he cannot live without… BETH. Oh did they forget to mention in the last book that he is a Prince! I mean what more could you ask for?! Beth on the other hand has an unwavering dislike for him and everything he stands for. I just felt so bad for Jake. I mean could you imagine suffering for all eternity for a one mistake? He was ultimately only doing what we would all do in the same situation; standing by his friend. The fact that he went above and beyond to make Beth feel like a queen, SWOON! I was so disappointed with how this book ended for him. It literally broke my heart!

This book is full of intriguing events. You learn of a poor young girl who has suffered an ill fate for trying to make a better life for a friend, you meet a southern lad who suffers deformity and disgrace by the hands of the damned, you watch as Gabriel and Ivy struggle to find Beth and sort through the roadblocks thrown their way, and you watch as love draws to people closer together even when immeasurable distance threatens them. I was so shocked by the time I got to the ending! As sad as it seems, I was rooting for Jake. Even though he was the “bad guy” I found myself more on his side with every chapter. I enjoyed this book a lot, and I hope that future readers also find things about this book to pique their interest.

The ending of this book as left off for a great opening to the third and final book, Heaven. I am really quite eager to find out how this all ends. Although I can kind of piece the puzzle together, I am sure to be in for a whole lot of shocking secrets along the way. I find myself blinded by the prospect of love and happiness, although I know that not every story can end in complete happiness. There is only one question on my mind going into the final book; will Armageddon be the result of this wild ride that has been the Halo series?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Best One

After an ill advised Halloween séance, Jake Thorn escapes hell and tricks Beth into getting on a motorcycle with him. He kidnaps her and takes her to hell where he is Prince of the third circle. In his own weird way, Jake tries to gain Beth’s affections, by treating her like a princess, but Beth isn’t fooled.
Beth knows she must escape and that her family and Xavier are trying to find her, but when Jake threatens Xavier’s life she bargains for it. Will her family and the love of her life get there before it’s to late?
This book had an awesome take on Hell, it was scary yet cool and it showed a softer side of Jake Thorn.
Beth’s character becomes stronger and more headstrong. It was a great read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)