Zaftan Entrepreneurs

Zaftan Entrepreneurs

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
390   0
Write Review
Zaftan Entrepreneurs
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
January 04, 2011
ISBN
978-1456349387
Buy This Book
      

Tired of reading scifi and fantasy stories that take themselves too seriously?  Zaftan Entrepreneurs is a unique First Contact story; it is part adventure and part corporate and political satire spiced with comic relief. Here, you'll find nasty, snarly aliens, fantasy creatures, humans, romance, magic, and -- just like the real world -- incompetent politicians and feuding bureaucracies.  What more could a fantasy or scifi reader ask for?   Zaftans are a gruesome alien race. They stand seven feet tall, weigh over four hundred pounds and stink like fish guts left in the sun. Resembling giant squids, they have eight tentacles that can be used as arms or legs. When in a good mood, they are merely hostile. All zaftans consider treachery and assassination to be social skills and list them on their resumes. A zaftan mining expedition discovers Gundarland, a place inhabited by humans, elves, dwarfs and other races. Initial scans by the zaftan ship indicates promising places to search for the rare minerals they seek. Since the planet is inhabited, the zaftans have to deal with the natives, but they plan to negotiate treacherously with the government. Robotic explorers are deployed and instructed to ignore the natives and disregard private property. These actions enrage a dwarf miner, MacDrakin, to the point he declares war on the robots and the aliens. He collects a few warriors and destroys a number of robots. His actions threaten his budding romance with Higginbottom, the area's only constable, who has orders from the government to protect the robots. When a robot discovers a large mineral find under the area's only town, the ship's captain decides on revenge and orders the town destroyed during the mining process. Meanwhile, MacDrakin positions his warriors to block the alien attempt. Who will win, MacDrakin or the aliens?

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)