Books Young Adult Fiction The Jade Notebook

The Jade Notebook

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e8/a6/ba/_11387433_1329571900.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
584   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 14, 2012
ISBN
0385740530
Buy This Book
      

Down-to-earth Zeeta and her flighty mom, Layla, have spent years traveling the globe and soaking up everything each new culture has to offer. Now they've settled in the beachside town of Mazunte, Mexico, where Zeeta's true love, Wendell, has an internship photographing rare sea turtles. At first glance, Zeeta feels sure that Mazunte is paradise—she envisions dips in jade waters, sunsets over sea cliffs, moonlit walks in the surf. And she is determined to make Mazunte her home . . . for good. But as she and Wendell dig deeper to unearth her elusive father's past, Zeeta finds that paradise has its dark side.

Editor reviews

Zeeta and her mother Layla have moved to a new country every year for Zeeta's entire life. When they end up running cabanas in Mazunte, Mexico, Zeeta is determined to make it stick. After all, her beloved Wendell has an internship nearby and her long-lost father is supposedly from Mazunte. Of course, nothing can be that easy, especially when the cabanas where Zeeta lives are said to be cursed and someone is poaching the sea turtles' eggs.

This is the third book in a trilogy and I haven't read the first two, but author Laura Resau gives enough information of past plots that I was able to follow along easily. Fans of the Notebook trilogy won't be surprised to know that The Jade Notebook's plot is assisted by Wendell's visions of the future. Unfortunately, that was the aspect of the story that lost me. Resau has a gift for writing setting; I almost felt like I was in Mexico, tasting the food and meeting the locals. I've even done conservation work with sea turtles, and everything she wrote felt spot on. So when Wendell's clairvoyance arose, it was a sharp contrast to the authentic feeling of the rest of the book.

I found myself easily guessing the surprises and identifying the villains, but turning the pages anyway to read more of Laura Resau's beautiful descriptions.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Megan Kelly Reviewed by Megan Kelly April 05, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (112)

A Taste of Mexico

Zeeta and her mother Layla have moved to a new country every year for Zeeta's entire life. When they end up running cabanas in Mazunte, Mexico, Zeeta is determined to make it stick. After all, her beloved Wendell has an internship nearby and her long-lost father is supposedly from Mazunte. Of course, nothing can be that easy, especially when the cabanas where Zeeta lives are said to be cursed and someone is poaching the sea turtles' eggs.

This is the third book in a trilogy and I haven't read the first two, but author Laura Resau gives enough information of past plots that I was able to follow along easily. Fans of the Notebook trilogy won't be surprised to know that The Jade Notebook's plot is assisted by Wendell's visions of the future. Unfortunately, that was the aspect of the story that lost me. Resau has a gift for writing setting; I almost felt like I was in Mexico, tasting the food and meeting the locals. I've even done conservation work with sea turtles, and everything she wrote felt spot on. So when Wendell's clairvoyance arose, it was a sharp contrast to the authentic feeling of the rest of the book.

I found myself easily guessing the surprises and identifying the villains, but turning the pages anyway to read more of Laura Resau's beautiful descriptions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + Giveaway (International)

    The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen Release Date: March 26, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Laura:   Hi, YABC! I’m fired up about sharing my first chapter with you today. The Ark is about a young convict trapped in prison on the last day of ...

  • Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

      Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2, is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the ...

  • April 2015 Book Haul!

    Hey YABCers!  Our office was innundated with fabulous kidlit, middle grade, and YA books this month! (Including an audio book and a graphic novel.) Check out our book haul below and tell us which books look the most interesting to you!    ...

  • Giveaway: Twintuition - Double Vision by Tia & Tamera Mowry (US Only)

    TWINTUITION: DOUBLE VISION by Tia & Tamera Mowry Release Date: April 21, 2015   About the Book Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they can agree on is that neither of them is happy th ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE COMPLETE BLOOMING GODDESS TRILOGY by Tellulah Darling, releasing April 30, 2015 from Te Da Media. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Tellulah:   Hey YABC! I’ve basically been in sque ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing on ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Tor Maddox: Unleashed by Liz Coley + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley, releasing May 1, 2015 from LCTeen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Liz:   Hi YABC! I’m thrilled to int ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!   The sheriff's son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

The remarkable third novel in Sara B. Larson's bestselling Defy series! At last, Alexa and King Damian are engaged to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After risking her life in the mortal world, the faerie princess Elora returns home to incite a revolution. Allied with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Shakespeare Book brings the work of William Shakespeare to life with full-color photography, images, idea webs, timelines, and quotes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Louisa May Alcott can't believe it—her mother is leaving for the summer to earn money for the family and Louisa...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fan-favorite author Bree Despain continues her modern-day romance trilogy inspired by the Greek myth of Persephone and Hades with this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In critically acclaimed author Sarah Darer Littman's gripping new novel what happens online doesn't always stay online . . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, The Boyfriend Project is a romantic read about a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine's debut...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin Emerson's Exile trilogy combines the swoon-worthy romance of a Susane Colasanti novel with the rock 'n' roll of Eleanor...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kody Keplinger returns to the world of The DUFF in this brand-new companion novel! Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"A girl takes over her twin sister's identity in this emotionally charged page-turner about the complicated bond between sisters." Ella...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imagination takes on new meaning for a uniquely talented teen in this debut novel that is a breathtaking blend of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen top young-adult authors let us in on provocative secrets in a fascinating collection that will have readers talking. A...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
A remarkable and utterly inventive novel bursting with intrigue and romance, from Sharon Cameron, acclaimed author of THE DARK UNWINDING,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maria Dahvana Headley's soaring YA debut is a fiercely intelligent, multilayered fantasy where Neil Gaiman's Stardust meets John Green's The...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious gets a futuristic twist in this action-packed debut! On corporately controlled Castra, rally racing is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second installment in the epic Starbound trilogy introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
730. That's how many days I've been trapped. 18. That's how many days I have left to find a way...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)