Books Young Adult Fiction Mesmerize (Mystyx #4)

Mesmerize (Mystyx #4)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/6b/46/89/_10890849_1327583888.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.0 (1)
465   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 24, 2012
ISBN
0373534647
Buy This Book
      

You can’t move forward until you deal with the past…

Starting over is nothing new to diplomat’s daughter Lindsey Yi. She’s grown up changing schools the way other girls change clothes. Still, moving to Lincoln, Connecticut, is different. Although she’s still reeling from the loss of her parents in an accident, Lindsey is finally in a place that feels like home. Because here, Lindsey’s ability to read other people’s thoughts doesn’t make her weird. It makes her one of the Mystyx.

When Dylan Murphy—hot, popular and a senior—starts to notice her, things get serious, fast. But even as she’s figuring out how she really feels, the Mystyx realize that they’re not the only supernaturals in town. There
are other gifted teens who have different motives. And they are hoping to get close enough to the Mystyx to convert them—and the world—to Darkness…

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
It’s hard to form an accurate opinion of a book when you start the series four books in. Mesmerize was the fourth book in the Mystyx series. I didn’t realize that when I started reading the book. I was a little confused by some of the descriptions, because they were based on events from previous books. It didn’t hinder my understand of the book, but it would have been nice to have the complete back story.


I liked Lindsey and Dylan. Actually, I liked all of the Mystyx and Dylan (he wasn’t a Mystyx). Lindsay has a haunted past. She’s tortured by the death of her parents from the previous year. Because she is overcome with grief she becomes the perfect target for evil. Enter Dylan. Super moody but mysterious. He has been in Lindsey’s dreams since the night of her parents’ death. Why? She has no idea, but she is excited to have him. He seems like a nice enough fella too. He’s a little stand-offish at times, but what guy isn’t when your girlfriend’s friends don’t like you? Unfortunately, Dylan isn’t as dreamy as he first seems…


There is a fair share of supernatural demon hunting in this book. I liked the mythology aspect too. The evil force lurking in the shadows? Well, it’s the King of the Underworld, of course. Each of the Mystyx has a super power that reminds me of the Power Rangers (circa 1997). Or maybe a hyped up version of Captain Planet without the planet powers.


If you’ve read the other books, then you will probably appreciate Mesmerize more than I did. As a stand alone, I did enjoy this book, but it was hard to connect with the characters. I think the insight and character building happened early on in the series, and I missed out.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Alanna Shaw Reviewed by Alanna Shaw February 24, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (209)

Why you should never start a series on the 4th book...

It’s hard to form an accurate opinion of a book when you start the series four books in. Mesmerize was the fourth book in the Mystyx series. I didn’t realize that when I started reading the book. I was a little confused by some of the descriptions, because they were based on events from previous books. It didn’t hinder my understand of the book, but it would have been nice to have the complete back story.


I liked Lindsey and Dylan. Actually, I liked all of the Mystyx and Dylan (he wasn’t a Mystyx). Lindsay has a haunted past. She’s tortured by the death of her parents from the previous year. Because she is overcome with grief she becomes the perfect target for evil. Enter Dylan. Super moody but mysterious. He has been in Lindsey’s dreams since the night of her parents’ death. Why? She has no idea, but she is excited to have him. He seems like a nice enough fella too. He’s a little stand-offish at times, but what guy isn’t when your girlfriend’s friends don’t like you? Unfortunately, Dylan isn’t as dreamy as he first seems…


There is a fair share of supernatural demon hunting in this book. I liked the mythology aspect too. The evil force lurking in the shadows? Well, it’s the King of the Underworld, of course. Each of the Mystyx has a super power that reminds me of the Power Rangers (circa 1997). Or maybe a hyped up version of Captain Planet without the planet powers.


If you’ve read the other books, then you will probably appreciate Mesmerize more than I did. As a stand alone, I did enjoy this book, but it was hard to connect with the characters. I think the insight and character building happened early on in the series, and I missed out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)