Mesmerize (Mystyx #4)

Mesmerize (Mystyx #4)

 
0.0
 
3.0 (1)
1224   0
Write Review
Mesmerize (Mystyx #4)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 24, 2012
ISBN
0373534647
Buy This Book
      

You can’t move forward until you deal with the past…

Starting over is nothing new to diplomat’s daughter Lindsey Yi. She’s grown up changing schools the way other girls change clothes. Still, moving to Lincoln, Connecticut, is different. Although she’s still reeling from the loss of her parents in an accident, Lindsey is finally in a place that feels like home. Because here, Lindsey’s ability to read other people’s thoughts doesn’t make her weird. It makes her one of the Mystyx.

When Dylan Murphy—hot, popular and a senior—starts to notice her, things get serious, fast. But even as she’s figuring out how she really feels, the Mystyx realize that they’re not the only supernaturals in town. There
are other gifted teens who have different motives. And they are hoping to get close enough to the Mystyx to convert them—and the world—to Darkness…

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Why you should never start a series on the 4th book...

It’s hard to form an accurate opinion of a book when you start the series four books in. Mesmerize was the fourth book in the Mystyx series. I didn’t realize that when I started reading the book. I was a little confused by some of the descriptions, because they were based on events from previous books. It didn’t hinder my understand of the book, but it would have been nice to have the complete back story.


I liked Lindsey and Dylan. Actually, I liked all of the Mystyx and Dylan (he wasn’t a Mystyx). Lindsay has a haunted past. She’s tortured by the death of her parents from the previous year. Because she is overcome with grief she becomes the perfect target for evil. Enter Dylan. Super moody but mysterious. He has been in Lindsey’s dreams since the night of her parents’ death. Why? She has no idea, but she is excited to have him. He seems like a nice enough fella too. He’s a little stand-offish at times, but what guy isn’t when your girlfriend’s friends don’t like you? Unfortunately, Dylan isn’t as dreamy as he first seems…


There is a fair share of supernatural demon hunting in this book. I liked the mythology aspect too. The evil force lurking in the shadows? Well, it’s the King of the Underworld, of course. Each of the Mystyx has a super power that reminds me of the Power Rangers (circa 1997). Or maybe a hyped up version of Captain Planet without the planet powers.


If you’ve read the other books, then you will probably appreciate Mesmerize more than I did. As a stand alone, I did enjoy this book, but it was hard to connect with the characters. I think the insight and character building happened early on in the series, and I missed out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
Shadow Wings
 
5.0
"Summary King Irdelron is dead. Lord Irrik is now Lord Tyrrik and free from his blood oath. Ryn is..."
 
4.8
"I'm not a big fan of Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones or most Fantasy. There is nothing..."
Seventeen
 
5.0
"I loved this novel, I liked the way it was written and it had me hooked. The plot flowed smoothly..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
5.0
"LEGACY OF LIGHT picks right up where the first one left off. They're all mourning Davi's death and are still..."
Something of Substance
 
5.0
"A heartbreaking look into a real-life problem. The story: Grace has lived her life feeling as if she wasn't..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.0
"A fun enemies to lovers romance. The story: Emma wants to find love... or at the very least, a..."
Ignited (Dance of the Elements, #1)
 
3.8
"The Republic is located in the desert and is ruled by the Thirteen. When Jura discovers a blood chain on..."
The Wing Collector
 
5.0
"Wow oh wow. Where to start? THE WING COLLECTOR is a completely original take on a faerie story and is..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"SORAYA is a prequel that introduces the reader to how the all-female Ixtrayu tribe came to be. After reading PAWNS,..."
Queens (The Wielders of Arantha Book 2)
 
5.0
"QUEENS picks up right where PAWNS left off . The message Maeve received from her husband in the first book..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Maeve and her son Davin find themselves stuck on a primitive planet that holds secrets they'll soon uncover. In PAWNS,..."
Seventeen
 
4.7
"I enjoyed the fact that this story was set in Australia. I liked the characters and enjoyed seeing them face..."
Acceptance The Jewel Trilogy Book one
 
5.0
"What I Liked: This was amazing! This is easily one of the best books I have read this year...."
Into Darkness
 
4.3
"The story: Fifteen-year-old Alexandra Spencer has led a life of privilege. That all disintegrates when her boyfriend Marcus..."
Fracture
 
5.0
"'Fracture' by Melanie Hooyenga was a fantastic sequel to 'Flicker,' the first in the book series. Biz's ability to flicker..."
Fathom
 
4.0
" FATHOM is a haunting and alluring story with the undeniable presence of Kira's mother who's supposed to be..."
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
 
3.5
"When Alex's dad goes missing, she is the only one who can find him because she's also the only one..."