Books Young Adult Fiction Mesmerize (Mystyx #4)

Mesmerize (Mystyx #4)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/6b/46/89/_10890849_1327583888.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.0 (1)
538   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 24, 2012
ISBN
0373534647
Buy This Book
      

You can’t move forward until you deal with the past…

Starting over is nothing new to diplomat’s daughter Lindsey Yi. She’s grown up changing schools the way other girls change clothes. Still, moving to Lincoln, Connecticut, is different. Although she’s still reeling from the loss of her parents in an accident, Lindsey is finally in a place that feels like home. Because here, Lindsey’s ability to read other people’s thoughts doesn’t make her weird. It makes her one of the Mystyx.

When Dylan Murphy—hot, popular and a senior—starts to notice her, things get serious, fast. But even as she’s figuring out how she really feels, the Mystyx realize that they’re not the only supernaturals in town. There
are other gifted teens who have different motives. And they are hoping to get close enough to the Mystyx to convert them—and the world—to Darkness…

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
It’s hard to form an accurate opinion of a book when you start the series four books in. Mesmerize was the fourth book in the Mystyx series. I didn’t realize that when I started reading the book. I was a little confused by some of the descriptions, because they were based on events from previous books. It didn’t hinder my understand of the book, but it would have been nice to have the complete back story.


I liked Lindsey and Dylan. Actually, I liked all of the Mystyx and Dylan (he wasn’t a Mystyx). Lindsay has a haunted past. She’s tortured by the death of her parents from the previous year. Because she is overcome with grief she becomes the perfect target for evil. Enter Dylan. Super moody but mysterious. He has been in Lindsey’s dreams since the night of her parents’ death. Why? She has no idea, but she is excited to have him. He seems like a nice enough fella too. He’s a little stand-offish at times, but what guy isn’t when your girlfriend’s friends don’t like you? Unfortunately, Dylan isn’t as dreamy as he first seems…


There is a fair share of supernatural demon hunting in this book. I liked the mythology aspect too. The evil force lurking in the shadows? Well, it’s the King of the Underworld, of course. Each of the Mystyx has a super power that reminds me of the Power Rangers (circa 1997). Or maybe a hyped up version of Captain Planet without the planet powers.


If you’ve read the other books, then you will probably appreciate Mesmerize more than I did. As a stand alone, I did enjoy this book, but it was hard to connect with the characters. I think the insight and character building happened early on in the series, and I missed out.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Alanna Shaw Reviewed by Alanna Shaw February 24, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (223)

Why you should never start a series on the 4th book...

It’s hard to form an accurate opinion of a book when you start the series four books in. Mesmerize was the fourth book in the Mystyx series. I didn’t realize that when I started reading the book. I was a little confused by some of the descriptions, because they were based on events from previous books. It didn’t hinder my understand of the book, but it would have been nice to have the complete back story.


I liked Lindsey and Dylan. Actually, I liked all of the Mystyx and Dylan (he wasn’t a Mystyx). Lindsay has a haunted past. She’s tortured by the death of her parents from the previous year. Because she is overcome with grief she becomes the perfect target for evil. Enter Dylan. Super moody but mysterious. He has been in Lindsey’s dreams since the night of her parents’ death. Why? She has no idea, but she is excited to have him. He seems like a nice enough fella too. He’s a little stand-offish at times, but what guy isn’t when your girlfriend’s friends don’t like you? Unfortunately, Dylan isn’t as dreamy as he first seems…


There is a fair share of supernatural demon hunting in this book. I liked the mythology aspect too. The evil force lurking in the shadows? Well, it’s the King of the Underworld, of course. Each of the Mystyx has a super power that reminds me of the Power Rangers (circa 1997). Or maybe a hyped up version of Captain Planet without the planet powers.


If you’ve read the other books, then you will probably appreciate Mesmerize more than I did. As a stand alone, I did enjoy this book, but it was hard to connect with the characters. I think the insight and character building happened early on in the series, and I missed out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)