Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls #2)

Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls #2) Featured

 
3.3
 
4.6 (3)
1939   2
Write Review
Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls #2)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 11, 2011
ISBN
978-0312624682
Buy This Book
      

From the moment Kylie Galen arrived at Shadow Falls Camp, she’s had one burning question:  What am I? Surrounded by vampires, werewolves, shape-shifters, fairies and witches, Kylie longs to figure out her own supernatural identity…and what her burgeoning powers mean.  And now she’ll need them more than ever, because she’s being haunted by a new spirit who insists that someone Kylie knows—and loves—will die before the end of the summer. If only she only knew who she was supposed to save.  And how… But giving Kylie the most trouble is her aching heart.   Gorgeous werewolf Lucas left camp with another girl, but he’s still visiting Kylie in her dreams.  And Derek, a sexy half Fae who’s always been there for her when she needed him, is pushing to get more serious—and growing impatient, especially when Lucas returns.  Kylie knows she needs to decide between the boys, and it’s tearing her up inside. Yet romance will have to wait, because something from the dark side of the supernatural world is hiding in Shadow Falls.  It’s about to threaten everything she holds dear…and bring her closer to her destiny.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
(Updated: December 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Great sequel to 'Born at Midnight'

I was super excited when I received this book to review. I enjoyed the first book and was really looking forward to more of Kylie's story. I can honestly say that this is a great sequel to the first book. The book starts off just about where the first one ended. Kylie still has ghosts visiting her, and her roommates are still arguing with each other, pretty much everything is the same. Kylie and her "boyfriend" Derek are becoming closer, but she can't get Lucas out of her head. This starts to cause trouble in Kylie and Derek's relationship, as you would assume, and she has to figure out what she really wants. Add in a bit of drama at the camp, some familiar characters and you get the idea.

Okay, so first what I loved about the book. I really do enjoy reading about all the different types of para-normals. In some books I have read it's a bit much and overwhelming, but C.C. Hunter does a great job of bring paranormal life to...well life! I also really enjoy reading about the struggles that Kylie goes through. That might sound kind of weird, but it's fun to watch a character grow, develop and become more confident in herself. I also love the friendship that Kylie and her roommates, Della and Miranda, have. Even though Della (a vampire) and Miranda (a witch) don't always get along, you know that they would do anything for each other. I also enjoy reading about Kylie's relationship with Derek, and Lucas. I'm just going to go ahead and throw this out, I like Kylie and Lucas more then Kylie and Derek, but that's just me. It was hard to read about Derek getting hurt when he realizes Kylie has feelings for both of them.

What I wish was different about the book. I remember this from the first book as well, and this sequel is no different. C.C. Hunter does a great job of giving the reader a lot of detail, but I think it's a bit much. We know everything little thing that goes through Kylie's head and for me that got a bit frustrating. I felt that as a reader, we don't need to know the obvious. Maybe it's just me, but when I read what I already knew, it made the book feel a bit boring. However, I still enjoyed the book overall and I'm really looking forward to the third and final installment!

Good Points
I really enjoy all the paranormal elements. Even though there are many different types of para-normals in this book, it's not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.6
Plot 
 
4.7  (3)
Characters 
 
5.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A

love this series

Though a few of the details were fuzzy, it did not take me long to dive back into Kylie's world and character. I love her voice, the sarcasm, the emotion and the kindness and loyalty to her friends. She wants and needs answers, and she takes the avoidance tactic, which I am so familiar with. I really connected with her in the feeling like an outcast at times though. That is a theme in this book and it feels like a theme in my own life. But I really like how she deals with it, and it is so well written how she makes friendships and slowly builds them.
And oh the drama in here, there are scenes I totally loved, and could imagine so clearly. Shifter fight anyone? Make out session? Oh yes, please. C.C.'s style is great and she draws me right into the world of Shadow Falls. The range of supernatural all in one place, working together is awesome, as well as the set-up with the tension and the antagonists.
It's awesome to watch Kylie come into herself and figure out exactly what she is, and it leaves me with questions and speculations. I also liked how she made better decisions for herself instead of being weak, even when it was hard.
I love this series and can't wait to make time in my schedule to read the rest!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Great Sequel!

"Awake At Dawn" is the second installment in the Shadow Falls series. I was a huge fan of the first book, so although I was excited to know which direction the story went, I was nervous that the second book would just ruin it for me. That wasn't the case this time! This book continues the story of Kylie at Shadow Falls, a summer camp for supernatural teens. Kylie, obviously, is one of the supernaturals but nobody, not even herself, knows what she is. Holiday, camp leader, knows Kylie is special and believes that everything will eventually fall into place. Through this book, Kylie gets confused between two boys: Derek, whom she met at the camp, and Lucas, whom she's known since she was six years old. Derek is half fae, Lucas is a werewolf. A whole bunch of events happen through this, I won't summarize them all.

I gave this book 4 stars. I loved it! Most sequels can't come to match up with the first book, but this sequel was soo much better! I've come to seriously wish I was in Kylie's shoes right now, mostly because of Derek and Lucas (yummm!). You actually find out soooo much about Kylie and her journey in this book, it's amazing how they could make two more books to follow it! I can't wait to get my hands on the third book. I'm already going through withdrawal symptoms! :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Awake At Dawn by C.C. Hunter

ISBN: 9780312624682
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Pages: 383


Awake At Dawn is the second book in the Shadow Falls series.
Now that she’s settled in at Shadow Falls Camp, Kylie Galen’s determined to discover the extent of her supernatural abilities. But with a ghost insisting someone Kylie loves is about die, a rogue vampire on a murdering rampage, and her sixth sense telling her someone is watching her, Kylie’s quest for answers is quickly put on hold.


Awake At Dawn was kindly sent to me by Loren Jaggers. I really enjoyed reading Awake At Dawn! It was wonderfully written, so much so I read it in two sittings! (And whilst I enjoyed every moment of it, I wish I had read it slower just to savour the beautiful story for just a short while longer!) My favourite characters were Kylie, Miranda & Della. Because although I absolutely loved reading about Miranda & Della in Born At Midnight, in Awake At Dawn I felt I got to know them better as individuals, and therefore they quickly became my favourite characters. Kylie is still my favourite character, her protectiveness, determination and her sarcasm are just a few aspects among many that make Kylie an amazing character that is a pleasure to read about. I love the cover of Awake At Dawn! The image captured on the cover signifies an important event in the book as does the title, which makes both the title and the cover all the more stunningly beautiful to behold.


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)