Books Young Adult Fiction The Legend of Beka Cooper: Mastiff (#3)

The Legend of Beka Cooper: Mastiff (#3) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/72/56/d9/_2964700_1319541911.jpg
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1285   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 25, 2011
ISBN
0375814701
Buy This Book
      

The Legend of Beka Cooper gives Tamora Pierce's fans exactly what they want—a smart and savvy heroine making a name for herself on the mean streets of Tortall's Lower City—while offering plenty of appeal for new readers as well.

Beka and her friends will face their greatest and most important challenge ever when the young heir to the kingdom vanishes. They will be sent out of Corus on a trail that appears and disappears, following a twisting road throughout Tortall. It will be her greatest Hunt—if she can survive the very powerful people who do not want her to succeed in her goal.

Editor reviews

Opening at the burial service for Beka’s betrothed, a fellow Dog named Holborn, Tamora Pierce’s The Legend of Beka Cooper: Mastiff takes off from there.

Beka and her partner Tunstall, are teamed with strange mage, Master Farmer Cape, to find the kidnapped heir to the throne. As they fight off ambush after ambush, it soon becomes clear that someone on the team is betraying their movements to the kidnappers.

When things come to a head and Beka identifies the traitor, she—and Tortall—will never be the same again.

The Beka Cooper books are Ms. Pierce’s darkest, focusing with gritty realism on Dogs, the criminals they chase, and the slums where they work. The Hunt in Mastiff offers all the elements fans expect: the team follows the trail through the dangers of Tortall’s wild lands and the perils of its noble houses, making enemies at every turn.

Beka is true to form: hardworking, stubborn, practical, and full of both integrity and dry humor. In this book, she matures more than Ms. Pierce’s main characters usually do. She keeps her mind strictly on her Dog work, but she also struggles to understand her feelings for Holborn…and for Master Farmer.

The journey also leads Beka among slaves and the noble families who deal in them. What she witnesses makes it difficult for the more adult Beka to mask her growing opposition to the slave trade.

Fans will enjoy seeing Tortall become the country they know from the author’s other series. Those new to the series should be fine starting with Mastiff, though they may stumble over the “cant” or street slang that Beka uses occasionally(less than in the first two books).

I wish the author had fully committed to a story about Beka’s newly complex emotions and motivations, which sometimes seemed glossed over in favor of details about the day-to-day work of a Dog. The story wandered a bit as the author tried to bring together all its threads, but I always wanted to keep reading.

While Mastiff would benefit from a tighter structure and more focus, it’s a satisfying story for fans and new readers alike.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Rosanne Catalano Reviewed by Rosanne Catalano January 21, 2012
Last updated: January 21, 2012
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A Great for Fans and New Readers

Opening at the burial service for Beka’s betrothed, a fellow Dog named Holborn, Tamora Pierce’s The Legend of Beka Cooper: Mastiff takes off from there.

Beka and her partner Tunstall, are teamed with strange mage, Master Farmer Cape, to find the kidnapped heir to the throne. As they fight off ambush after ambush, it soon becomes clear that someone on the team is betraying their movements to the kidnappers.

When things come to a head and Beka identifies the traitor, she—and Tortall—will never be the same again.

The Beka Cooper books are Ms. Pierce’s darkest, focusing with gritty realism on Dogs, the criminals they chase, and the slums where they work. The Hunt in Mastiff offers all the elements fans expect: the team follows the trail through the dangers of Tortall’s wild lands and the perils of its noble houses, making enemies at every turn.

Beka is true to form: hardworking, stubborn, practical, and full of both integrity and dry humor. In this book, she matures more than Ms. Pierce’s main characters usually do. She keeps her mind strictly on her Dog work, but she also struggles to understand her feelings for Holborn…and for Master Farmer.

The journey also leads Beka among slaves and the noble families who deal in them. What she witnesses makes it difficult for the more adult Beka to mask her growing opposition to the slave trade.

Fans will enjoy seeing Tortall become the country they know from the author’s other series. Those new to the series should be fine starting with Mastiff, though they may stumble over the “cant” or street slang that Beka uses occasionally(less than in the first two books).

I wish the author had fully committed to a story about Beka’s newly complex emotions and motivations, which sometimes seemed glossed over in favor of details about the day-to-day work of a Dog. The story wandered a bit as the author tried to bring together all its threads, but I always wanted to keep reading.

While Mastiff would benefit from a tighter structure and more focus, it’s a satisfying story for fans and new readers alike.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)