Books Young Adult Fiction The Legend of Beka Cooper: Mastiff (#3)

The Legend of Beka Cooper: Mastiff (#3) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/72/56/d9/_2964700_1319541911.jpg
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1327   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 25, 2011
ISBN
0375814701
Buy This Book
      

The Legend of Beka Cooper gives Tamora Pierce's fans exactly what they want—a smart and savvy heroine making a name for herself on the mean streets of Tortall's Lower City—while offering plenty of appeal for new readers as well.

Beka and her friends will face their greatest and most important challenge ever when the young heir to the kingdom vanishes. They will be sent out of Corus on a trail that appears and disappears, following a twisting road throughout Tortall. It will be her greatest Hunt—if she can survive the very powerful people who do not want her to succeed in her goal.

Editor reviews

Opening at the burial service for Beka’s betrothed, a fellow Dog named Holborn, Tamora Pierce’s The Legend of Beka Cooper: Mastiff takes off from there.

Beka and her partner Tunstall, are teamed with strange mage, Master Farmer Cape, to find the kidnapped heir to the throne. As they fight off ambush after ambush, it soon becomes clear that someone on the team is betraying their movements to the kidnappers.

When things come to a head and Beka identifies the traitor, she—and Tortall—will never be the same again.

The Beka Cooper books are Ms. Pierce’s darkest, focusing with gritty realism on Dogs, the criminals they chase, and the slums where they work. The Hunt in Mastiff offers all the elements fans expect: the team follows the trail through the dangers of Tortall’s wild lands and the perils of its noble houses, making enemies at every turn.

Beka is true to form: hardworking, stubborn, practical, and full of both integrity and dry humor. In this book, she matures more than Ms. Pierce’s main characters usually do. She keeps her mind strictly on her Dog work, but she also struggles to understand her feelings for Holborn…and for Master Farmer.

The journey also leads Beka among slaves and the noble families who deal in them. What she witnesses makes it difficult for the more adult Beka to mask her growing opposition to the slave trade.

Fans will enjoy seeing Tortall become the country they know from the author’s other series. Those new to the series should be fine starting with Mastiff, though they may stumble over the “cant” or street slang that Beka uses occasionally(less than in the first two books).

I wish the author had fully committed to a story about Beka’s newly complex emotions and motivations, which sometimes seemed glossed over in favor of details about the day-to-day work of a Dog. The story wandered a bit as the author tried to bring together all its threads, but I always wanted to keep reading.

While Mastiff would benefit from a tighter structure and more focus, it’s a satisfying story for fans and new readers alike.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Rosanne Catalano Reviewed by Rosanne Catalano January 21, 2012
Last updated: January 21, 2012
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A Great for Fans and New Readers

Opening at the burial service for Beka’s betrothed, a fellow Dog named Holborn, Tamora Pierce’s The Legend of Beka Cooper: Mastiff takes off from there.

Beka and her partner Tunstall, are teamed with strange mage, Master Farmer Cape, to find the kidnapped heir to the throne. As they fight off ambush after ambush, it soon becomes clear that someone on the team is betraying their movements to the kidnappers.

When things come to a head and Beka identifies the traitor, she—and Tortall—will never be the same again.

The Beka Cooper books are Ms. Pierce’s darkest, focusing with gritty realism on Dogs, the criminals they chase, and the slums where they work. The Hunt in Mastiff offers all the elements fans expect: the team follows the trail through the dangers of Tortall’s wild lands and the perils of its noble houses, making enemies at every turn.

Beka is true to form: hardworking, stubborn, practical, and full of both integrity and dry humor. In this book, she matures more than Ms. Pierce’s main characters usually do. She keeps her mind strictly on her Dog work, but she also struggles to understand her feelings for Holborn…and for Master Farmer.

The journey also leads Beka among slaves and the noble families who deal in them. What she witnesses makes it difficult for the more adult Beka to mask her growing opposition to the slave trade.

Fans will enjoy seeing Tortall become the country they know from the author’s other series. Those new to the series should be fine starting with Mastiff, though they may stumble over the “cant” or street slang that Beka uses occasionally(less than in the first two books).

I wish the author had fully committed to a story about Beka’s newly complex emotions and motivations, which sometimes seemed glossed over in favor of details about the day-to-day work of a Dog. The story wandered a bit as the author tried to bring together all its threads, but I always wanted to keep reading.

While Mastiff would benefit from a tighter structure and more focus, it’s a satisfying story for fans and new readers alike.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)