Jane Jones: Worst Vampire Ever

Jane Jones: Worst Vampire Ever

 
0.0
 
3.0 (1)
1342   0
Write Review
Jane Jones: Worst Vampire Ever
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 10, 2011
ISBN
9780375968914
Buy This Book
      
For Jane Jones, being a vampire is nothing like you read about in books. In fact, it kind of sucks. She's not beautiful, she's not rich, and she doesn't "sparkle." She's just an average, slightly nerdy girl from an ordinary suburban family (who happens to be vampires.) Jane's from the wrong side of the tracks (not to mention stuck in the world's longest awkward phase), so she doesn't fit in with the cool vampire kids at school or with the humans kids. To top it all off, she's battling an overprotective mom, a clique of high school mean girls (the kind who really do have fangs), and the most embarrassing allergy in the history of the undead, she's blood intolerant. So no one's more surprised than Jane when for the first time in her life, things start to heat up (as much as they can for a walking corpse, anyway) with not one, but two boys. Eli's a geeky, but cute real-live boy in her history class, and Timothy is a beautiful, brooding bloodsucker, who might just hold the key to a possible "cure" for vampirism. Facing an eternity of high school pressure, fumbling first dates, or a mere lifetime together with Timothy, what's a 90-something year-old teen vampire to do?

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Quirky Vampire Read

I already announced that I thought this book was cute when I did my mid-book review. The premise behind a blood intolerant vampire strikes me as pretty darn funny. Of course, I'm the type of person that will smile at the mentioning of diarrhea and corny jokes in novels. I smiled a lot during this book.

As I finished this book, I realized that I found some things about the plot that I didn't like. Originally, I was intrigued with Timothy--the hunky vampire hot throb-- but by the end of the story he annoyed me. I think his part was rushed and the author "did away with" him in the best way she saw fit. I was a little disappointed to say the least. As far as love interests go though, I really liked Eli. What a dork. But an extremely likeable dork. I picture him as the kind of kid that has a lunch box full of PB&J sandwiches with no crusts, napkins with superhero imprints, and 100% juice juice boxes-- in high school, of course. You really couldn't help but like the kid. I could tell that he was meant to be the main love interest, because his part in the story felt consistent and even. It didn't feel neglected or rushed.

For those of you that like the quirky, sarcastic MCs-- this is another book to add to your list. Jane is every bit as feisty as Pearl in Sarah Beth Durst's Drink, Slay, Love. She may not have as much "bite" (I couldn't resist it) as Pearl, but she has a lot of heart. Okay, I'll stop. It's just too easy... Seriously, though, Jane has a likeable quality that you seem drawn to--even if she is technically undead. Oh, and the bad guys? They are extra bad. Astrid is a super bi-atch. And that favorite teacher turned arch-nemesis I mentioned in the mid-book review? Whoa, nelly! I have to admit, at the moment, that was a twist I didn't expect.

Overall, Jane Jones: Wort Vampire Ever was a super quick, fun read that was perfect for my Halloween themed reading pleasure. It wasn't scary (I don't do scary). I laughed out loud several times-- enough that my 9 year old son started hanging over my shoulder trying to read the book too. I'm not sure if this would hold the attention of an upper YA reader, but it would work for the older MG crowd.

Good Points
MC was fun and sarcastic
Quirky twist on vampires
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)