Books Young Adult Fiction Jane Jones: Worst Vampire Ever

Jane Jones: Worst Vampire Ever

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/b0/e6/05/10717_Jane Jones Worst Vampire Ever by Caissie St.Onge_1319505825.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.0 (1)
901   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 10, 2011
ISBN
9780375968914
Buy This Book
      
For Jane Jones, being a vampire is nothing like you read about in books. In fact, it kind of sucks. She's not beautiful, she's not rich, and she doesn't "sparkle." She's just an average, slightly nerdy girl from an ordinary suburban family (who happens to be vampires.) Jane's from the wrong side of the tracks (not to mention stuck in the world's longest awkward phase), so she doesn't fit in with the cool vampire kids at school or with the humans kids. To top it all off, she's battling an overprotective mom, a clique of high school mean girls (the kind who really do have fangs), and the most embarrassing allergy in the history of the undead, she's blood intolerant. So no one's more surprised than Jane when for the first time in her life, things start to heat up (as much as they can for a walking corpse, anyway) with not one, but two boys. Eli's a geeky, but cute real-live boy in her history class, and Timothy is a beautiful, brooding bloodsucker, who might just hold the key to a possible "cure" for vampirism. Facing an eternity of high school pressure, fumbling first dates, or a mere lifetime together with Timothy, what's a 90-something year-old teen vampire to do?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
I already announced that I thought this book was cute when I did my mid-book review. The premise behind a blood intolerant vampire strikes me as pretty darn funny. Of course, I'm the type of person that will smile at the mentioning of diarrhea and corny jokes in novels. I smiled a lot during this book.

As I finished this book, I realized that I found some things about the plot that I didn't like. Originally, I was intrigued with Timothy--the hunky vampire hot throb-- but by the end of the story he annoyed me. I think his part was rushed and the author "did away with" him in the best way she saw fit. I was a little disappointed to say the least. As far as love interests go though, I really liked Eli. What a dork. But an extremely likeable dork. I picture him as the kind of kid that has a lunch box full of PB&J sandwiches with no crusts, napkins with superhero imprints, and 100% juice juice boxes-- in high school, of course. You really couldn't help but like the kid. I could tell that he was meant to be the main love interest, because his part in the story felt consistent and even. It didn't feel neglected or rushed.

For those of you that like the quirky, sarcastic MCs-- this is another book to add to your list. Jane is every bit as feisty as Pearl in Sarah Beth Durst's Drink, Slay, Love. She may not have as much "bite" (I couldn't resist it) as Pearl, but she has a lot of heart. Okay, I'll stop. It's just too easy... Seriously, though, Jane has a likeable quality that you seem drawn to--even if she is technically undead. Oh, and the bad guys? They are extra bad. Astrid is a super bi-atch. And that favorite teacher turned arch-nemesis I mentioned in the mid-book review? Whoa, nelly! I have to admit, at the moment, that was a twist I didn't expect.

Overall, Jane Jones: Wort Vampire Ever was a super quick, fun read that was perfect for my Halloween themed reading pleasure. It wasn't scary (I don't do scary). I laughed out loud several times-- enough that my 9 year old son started hanging over my shoulder trying to read the book too. I'm not sure if this would hold the attention of an upper YA reader, but it would work for the older MG crowd.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Alanna Shaw Reviewed by Alanna Shaw October 19, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (223)

Quirky Vampire Read

I already announced that I thought this book was cute when I did my mid-book review. The premise behind a blood intolerant vampire strikes me as pretty darn funny. Of course, I'm the type of person that will smile at the mentioning of diarrhea and corny jokes in novels. I smiled a lot during this book.

As I finished this book, I realized that I found some things about the plot that I didn't like. Originally, I was intrigued with Timothy--the hunky vampire hot throb-- but by the end of the story he annoyed me. I think his part was rushed and the author "did away with" him in the best way she saw fit. I was a little disappointed to say the least. As far as love interests go though, I really liked Eli. What a dork. But an extremely likeable dork. I picture him as the kind of kid that has a lunch box full of PB&J sandwiches with no crusts, napkins with superhero imprints, and 100% juice juice boxes-- in high school, of course. You really couldn't help but like the kid. I could tell that he was meant to be the main love interest, because his part in the story felt consistent and even. It didn't feel neglected or rushed.

For those of you that like the quirky, sarcastic MCs-- this is another book to add to your list. Jane is every bit as feisty as Pearl in Sarah Beth Durst's Drink, Slay, Love. She may not have as much "bite" (I couldn't resist it) as Pearl, but she has a lot of heart. Okay, I'll stop. It's just too easy... Seriously, though, Jane has a likeable quality that you seem drawn to--even if she is technically undead. Oh, and the bad guys? They are extra bad. Astrid is a super bi-atch. And that favorite teacher turned arch-nemesis I mentioned in the mid-book review? Whoa, nelly! I have to admit, at the moment, that was a twist I didn't expect.

Overall, Jane Jones: Wort Vampire Ever was a super quick, fun read that was perfect for my Halloween themed reading pleasure. It wasn't scary (I don't do scary). I laughed out loud several times-- enough that my 9 year old son started hanging over my shoulder trying to read the book too. I'm not sure if this would hold the attention of an upper YA reader, but it would work for the older MG crowd.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)