Books Young Adult Fiction Dark Lord of Derkholm (Derkholm #1)

Dark Lord of Derkholm (Derkholm #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ae/83/ca/105_836267-1349281655.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.7 (3)
435   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 29, 1998
ISBN
0688160042
Buy This Book
      
Everyone - wizards, soldiers, farmers, elves, dragons, kings and queens alike - is fed up with Mr Chesney's Pilgrim Parties: groups of tourists from the world next door who descend en masse every year to take the Grand Tour. What they expect are all the trappings of a grand fantasy adventure, including the Evil Enchantress, Wizard Guides, the Dark Lord, Winged Minions, and all. And every year different people are chosen to play these parts. But now they've had enough: Mr Chesney may be backed by a very powerful demon, but the Oracles have spoken. Now it's up to the Wizard Derk and his son Blade, this year's Dark Lord and Wizard Guide, not to mention Blade's griffin brothers and sisters, to save the world from Mr Chesney's depredations.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.7  (3)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Katya

This book is brilliant. If you've not read it yet, why not? Go do it!

If you've ever read any fantasy novels - or even if you haven't, you'll find it very funny. But the novel has an excellent plot, too; it's typical of Diana Wynne Jones in that you sit wondering what's going on until right at the very end, when everything suddenly comes together, and you realise that the solutions to all the mishaps and problems the characters suffer have been there, staring them in the face, all along.

It is, in essence, the story of Blade and his siblings - Shona, Kit, Calette, Lydda et al. But it's much more than that. It's about how Derk, their father, surpasses all expectations in his role as Dark Lord; it's about love, and how teenagers react to it; it's about opression and how people will, eventually, rise up and stand up for themselves.

But most of all, it's a novel about magic - and a brilliant one at that. How can you fail to like a book with invisible cats, sarcastic geese and flying pigs?
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 18, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Superbly funny and brilliantly written.

Reader reviewed by Katya

This book is brilliant. If you've not read it yet, why not? Go do it!

If you've ever read any fantasy novels - or even if you haven't, you'll find it very funny. But the novel has an excellent plot, too; it's typical of Diana Wynne Jones in that you sit wondering what's going on until right at the very end, when everything suddenly comes together, and you realise that the solutions to all the mishaps and problems the characters suffer have been there, staring them in the face, all along.

It is, in essence, the story of Blade and his siblings - Shona, Kit, Calette, Lydda et al. But it's much more than that. It's about how Derk, their father, surpasses all expectations in his role as Dark Lord; it's about love, and how teenagers react to it; it's about opression and how people will, eventually, rise up and stand up for themselves.

But most of all, it's a novel about magic - and a brilliant one at that. How can you fail to like a book with invisible cats, sarcastic geese and flying pigs?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Tif

Derk, a wizard, is chosen as Dark Lord for this year's Pilgrim Party tours of his world, run by Mr. Chesney. Derk, with Mara, has two children, Shona and Blade, and several griffin children. Derk creates new creatures like Flying Pigs. He has to get a lot of help running the Tours and being Dark Lord. Others are attempting to stop the Tours from continuing to exploit their world.

This is a good book. It is witty and takes a thought-provoking look at the international tourism industry. It dragged a bit at the beginning, with too many names and characters. Fans should also read the author's Tough Guide to Fantasy Land.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 08, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A new look at tourism

Reader reviewed by Tif

Derk, a wizard, is chosen as Dark Lord for this year's Pilgrim Party tours of his world, run by Mr. Chesney. Derk, with Mara, has two children, Shona and Blade, and several griffin children. Derk creates new creatures like Flying Pigs. He has to get a lot of help running the Tours and being Dark Lord. Others are attempting to stop the Tours from continuing to exploit their world.

This is a good book. It is witty and takes a thought-provoking look at the international tourism industry. It dragged a bit at the beginning, with too many names and characters. Fans should also read the author's Tough Guide to Fantasy Land.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Katie

The world this book is about has been taken over by a tour company, one man actually, Mr. Chesney to be exact. The whole world caters to his Pilgrim Parties, groups of off-world tourists that come expecting to see battles between good and evil, wizards with long white beards, and enticing enchantresses.

And if Mr.Chesney has anything to do with it, they will get what they expect, no matter what he has to do. Querida, who is the head wizard around, has started a resistance to the tours, because she knows that what is going on is wrong. But Mr. Chesney is hard to break down. He has plans- and nothing is going to stop him.

Diana Wynne Jones also includes quite a bit of wry humor that got me LOL. To find out what happens, read this great book! I hope that you like it as much as I did.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 23, 2002
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Tour Another World

Reader reviewed by Katie

The world this book is about has been taken over by a tour company, one man actually, Mr. Chesney to be exact. The whole world caters to his Pilgrim Parties, groups of off-world tourists that come expecting to see battles between good and evil, wizards with long white beards, and enticing enchantresses.

And if Mr.Chesney has anything to do with it, they will get what they expect, no matter what he has to do. Querida, who is the head wizard around, has started a resistance to the tours, because she knows that what is going on is wrong. But Mr. Chesney is hard to break down. He has plans- and nothing is going to stop him.

Diana Wynne Jones also includes quite a bit of wry humor that got me LOL. To find out what happens, read this great book! I hope that you like it as much as I did.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)