The Spatulatta Cookbook

The Spatulatta Cookbook

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
692   0
Write Review
The Spatulatta Cookbook
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 01, 2007
ISBN
0439022509
Buy This Book
      
A cookbook for kids based on the Spatulatta Cooking 4 Kids Online website featuring the Gerasole sisters, Isabella (age 10) and Olivia (age 8). This fabulous cookbook for kids features Isabella and Olivia Gerasole, the adorable and charming hosts on www.spatulatta.com. A cooking for kids website that recently won a 2006 James Beard Award, which is the equivalent of an Oscar in the culinary world. Their kid-friendly recipes range from basic "Mom's the Star Toast" to a peek into various ethnic cuisines like "Yumbo Gumbo." The cookbook is arranged by season and also includes special sections devoted to snacks and vegetarian recipes along with easy-to-follow basic cooking skills and weights and measures.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Yummy Recipes Invented by Award-Winning Sisters

Excuse me while I drool over this colorful cookbook packed full of luscious recipes. The cookbook is the brainchild of pre-teen sisters Olivia and Isabella Gerasole who have won a prestigious James Beard award for their website (www.spatulatta.com), which teaches other kids how to cook via webcasts.

The Spatulatta Cookbook features dozens of great-looking recipes arranged according to season, plus special sections for snacks and vegetarian dishes. It also has well-illustrated chapters on "basic skills" for those who don't have a clue how to separate an egg, chop an onion, or measure ingredients. Each page-turn reveals another fun-looking dish to prepare along with bright photographs. The only question is where to start? I just can't decide between pulled-pork sandwiches or some spicy Spatulatta Enchiladas . . .

One thing is for sure: if you start browsing through The Spatulatta Cookbook, you may well find yourself as enthusiastic about cooking as Isabella and Olivia are.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)