Books Kids Nonfiction The Spatulatta Cookbook

The Spatulatta Cookbook

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/8e/0d/fe/the-spatulatta-cookbook-6-1409147884.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
420   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 01, 2007
ISBN
0439022509
Buy This Book
      
A cookbook for kids based on the Spatulatta Cooking 4 Kids Online website featuring the Gerasole sisters, Isabella (age 10) and Olivia (age 8). This fabulous cookbook for kids features Isabella and Olivia Gerasole, the adorable and charming hosts on www.spatulatta.com. A cooking for kids website that recently won a 2006 James Beard Award, which is the equivalent of an Oscar in the culinary world. Their kid-friendly recipes range from basic "Mom's the Star Toast" to a peek into various ethnic cuisines like "Yumbo Gumbo." The cookbook is arranged by season and also includes special sections devoted to snacks and vegetarian recipes along with easy-to-follow basic cooking skills and weights and measures.

Editor reviews

Excuse me while I drool over this colorful cookbook packed full of luscious recipes. The cookbook is the brainchild of pre-teen sisters Olivia and Isabella Gerasole who have won a prestigious James Beard award for their website (www.spatulatta.com), which teaches other kids how to cook via webcasts.

The Spatulatta Cookbook features dozens of great-looking recipes arranged according to season, plus special sections for snacks and vegetarian dishes. It also has well-illustrated chapters on "basic skills" for those who don't have a clue how to separate an egg, chop an onion, or measure ingredients. Each page-turn reveals another fun-looking dish to prepare along with bright photographs. The only question is where to start? I just can't decide between pulled-pork sandwiches or some spicy Spatulatta Enchiladas . . .

One thing is for sure: if you start browsing through The Spatulatta Cookbook, you may well find yourself as enthusiastic about cooking as Isabella and Olivia are.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0
Terry Miller Shannon Reviewed by Terry Miller Shannon October 01, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (232)

Yummy Recipes Invented by Award-Winning Sisters

Excuse me while I drool over this colorful cookbook packed full of luscious recipes. The cookbook is the brainchild of pre-teen sisters Olivia and Isabella Gerasole who have won a prestigious James Beard award for their website (www.spatulatta.com), which teaches other kids how to cook via webcasts.

The Spatulatta Cookbook features dozens of great-looking recipes arranged according to season, plus special sections for snacks and vegetarian dishes. It also has well-illustrated chapters on "basic skills" for those who don't have a clue how to separate an egg, chop an onion, or measure ingredients. Each page-turn reveals another fun-looking dish to prepare along with bright photographs. The only question is where to start? I just can't decide between pulled-pork sandwiches or some spicy Spatulatta Enchiladas . . .

One thing is for sure: if you start browsing through The Spatulatta Cookbook, you may well find yourself as enthusiastic about cooking as Isabella and Olivia are.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)