Books Kids Nonfiction The Spatulatta Cookbook

The Spatulatta Cookbook

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/8e/0d/fe/the-spatulatta-cookbook-6-1409147884.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
464   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 01, 2007
ISBN
0439022509
Buy This Book
      
A cookbook for kids based on the Spatulatta Cooking 4 Kids Online website featuring the Gerasole sisters, Isabella (age 10) and Olivia (age 8). This fabulous cookbook for kids features Isabella and Olivia Gerasole, the adorable and charming hosts on www.spatulatta.com. A cooking for kids website that recently won a 2006 James Beard Award, which is the equivalent of an Oscar in the culinary world. Their kid-friendly recipes range from basic "Mom's the Star Toast" to a peek into various ethnic cuisines like "Yumbo Gumbo." The cookbook is arranged by season and also includes special sections devoted to snacks and vegetarian recipes along with easy-to-follow basic cooking skills and weights and measures.

Editor reviews

Excuse me while I drool over this colorful cookbook packed full of luscious recipes. The cookbook is the brainchild of pre-teen sisters Olivia and Isabella Gerasole who have won a prestigious James Beard award for their website (www.spatulatta.com), which teaches other kids how to cook via webcasts.

The Spatulatta Cookbook features dozens of great-looking recipes arranged according to season, plus special sections for snacks and vegetarian dishes. It also has well-illustrated chapters on "basic skills" for those who don't have a clue how to separate an egg, chop an onion, or measure ingredients. Each page-turn reveals another fun-looking dish to prepare along with bright photographs. The only question is where to start? I just can't decide between pulled-pork sandwiches or some spicy Spatulatta Enchiladas . . .

One thing is for sure: if you start browsing through The Spatulatta Cookbook, you may well find yourself as enthusiastic about cooking as Isabella and Olivia are.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0
Terry Miller Shannon Reviewed by Terry Miller Shannon October 01, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (232)

Yummy Recipes Invented by Award-Winning Sisters

Excuse me while I drool over this colorful cookbook packed full of luscious recipes. The cookbook is the brainchild of pre-teen sisters Olivia and Isabella Gerasole who have won a prestigious James Beard award for their website (www.spatulatta.com), which teaches other kids how to cook via webcasts.

The Spatulatta Cookbook features dozens of great-looking recipes arranged according to season, plus special sections for snacks and vegetarian dishes. It also has well-illustrated chapters on "basic skills" for those who don't have a clue how to separate an egg, chop an onion, or measure ingredients. Each page-turn reveals another fun-looking dish to prepare along with bright photographs. The only question is where to start? I just can't decide between pulled-pork sandwiches or some spicy Spatulatta Enchiladas . . .

One thing is for sure: if you start browsing through The Spatulatta Cookbook, you may well find yourself as enthusiastic about cooking as Isabella and Olivia are.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)