Ultimate Secrets Revealed: A Closer Look at the Weirdest, Wildest Facts on Earth

Ultimate Secrets Revealed: A Closer Look at the Weirdest, Wildest Facts on Earth

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
121   0
Write Review
Ultimate Secrets Revealed: A Closer Look at the Weirdest, Wildest Facts on Earth
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 16, 2018
ISBN
978-1426331831
Buy This Book
      
The world is full of mind-blowing marvels and this book uncovers our planet's most peculiar phenomena, puzzles from the past, eye-opening inventions, astonishing animals, and so much more!

Did you know that caterpillars liquefy when they turn into butterflies? That humans shed eight pounds of skin every year? That there's a funky forest in Poland where all the trees are mysteriously crooked? That space smells like burnt plastic? Our world is filled with strange, bizarre, and weird realities. But what do they mean? WHY are they important? And what exactly is the secret behind them?

National Geographic Kids presents a jam-packed new series perfect for fans of Weird But True! and 5,000 Awesome Facts. With cool, action-packed photos, tons of awesome information, and filled to the brim with the weirdest facts ever, this book takes readers behind the scenes of the world of the truly bizarre, to reveal the truth behind our planet's wildest and wackiest. Meet the bizarre bacteria that make Yellowstone National Park's Morning Glory Pool pop with radiant color, discover the mysteries behind the Sphinx of ancient Egypt, learn why the beaches of the Maldives glow bright blue, how tornadoes are so powerful, and so much more! And with Q&As with in-the-field experts, fantastic infographics, exciting stories, and more, this book presents a fresh way of looking at our bizarre planet. So, get ready to experience our not-so-secret world.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0  (1)
Learning Value 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Weird but true facts!

ULTIMATE SECRETS REVEALED has so much information about the weirdest things compiled into one book. The main topics the book hits are our world, astonishing animals, the past, feats beyond belief, space, the body, food, numbers uncovered, and inventions. The photography work is stunning and the layout of the book holds your attention throughout the whole thing.

This book had me grossed out, intrigued, awed, and all kinds of different feelings, which only made me want to read more. The author even talks about bacteria in your belly button! This would be a fun and educational gift for any child with a curious mind. To be honest, I loved it as an adult and think other adults would get a kick out of it too.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of weird facts, those with curious minds of how things work, and those who love to learn about things you most likely won't hear in a classroom.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one notices,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Red School (Clifford)
Clifford misses his best friend Emily Elizabeth every day when...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding Me by Kelly Gunderman
Tagline: Can you ever truly love someone who robbed you...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Don't Date Rosa Santos
Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea-at least, that's what...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An unforgettable name… A longing to be invisible… ...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
I Got Next
It’s game day! In this action-packed picture book from Daria...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Friend for Bently
Like all pigs, Bently loves to play in the mud,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Great Pumpkin Contest
Mimi and Clara are neighbors. Both cats want to win...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Save Your Friends!
This laugh-out-loud adventure encourages family sharing and is a perfect...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dibs!
Teaching your little brother his first word —dibs —is funny....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where Are You From?
This resonant picture book tells the story of one girl...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Out of Place
When twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein becomes the target of a school-wide...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Salvation Day
A lethal virus is awoken on an abandoned spaceship in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Bobby Ether and the Jade Academy
When sixteen-year-old Bobby Ether is abducted and brought to the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."
Little Rabbit Lost
 
4.5
"LITTLE RABBIT LOST follows Little Rabbit as he celebrates his birthday with his family. Little Rabbit wakes up feeling grown..."
Cece Loves Science and Adventure
 
5.0
"Books about girls who love science are always winners! Cece and her friends are trying to win their..."
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray For the First Day of School
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Hannah is starting first grade and excited about making friends. Only, every time..."
Turtle and Tortoise Are Not Friends
 
3.5
"Turtle and Tortoise Are Not Friends is a cute children's book that kids will like simply for the fact that..."
Trace
 
3.0
"TRACE is a book about healing. Trace lives with his Auntie Lea after his parents died in a car accident..."