The World of the Bible: Biblical Stories and the Archaeology Behind Them

The World of the Bible: Biblical Stories and the Archaeology Behind Them

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
206   0
Write Review
The World of the Bible: Biblical Stories and the Archaeology Behind Them
Age Range
8+
Release Date
November 07, 2017
ISBN
978-1426328817
Buy This Book
      
Travel back to ancient times to revisit classic Bible stories from the Old and New Testaments. Learn fascinating facts about biblical history, then explore that same landscape as archaeologists are studying it today. Unearth clues about where these stories took place and how people in that time period might have lived. Stories include the Garden of Eden, Joseph in Egypt, Moses and the Ten Commandments, the birth of Jesus, Paul's conversion, and many more. Classic paintings and photos of the Middle East today enrich the archaeological explanations. Kids don't just revisit classic Bible stories in this book ... they'll dig deeper into the history behind the tales to learn more about the biblical world.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0  (1)
Learning Value 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0

Archaeology and Faith

A reading experience that combines the Bible with actual archaeological finds and information—bringing scripture to life in a more vivid and academic (yet accessible) way than children typically encounter. The book is divided into two distinct sections. The first 85 pages convey select portions of the Old Testament, and the last 35 pages encompass the New Testament.

The actual content is engagingly laid out. The text-based segments include condensed retellings, singular emphasized bible verses, cultural/contextual explanations, and quick “Did You Know?” facts set in larger stand-alone font. Visual aids range from maps to illustrations to pictures of actual archaeological sites, artifacts, reliefs, and frescos. Though there are plenty of visuals and free space, some of the segments are very text dense with font small enough I would say this trends more toward a Middle Grade audience than simply “kids.”

The illustrations crop up on roughly every other 2-page spread and are made up of gorgeous paintings from the 15th, 16th, 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. Their styles, while variable, all carry a cohesive feel that ties the aesthetics together. The downside to this… the paintings are all European in origin, and so the many Biblical characters depicted are almost painfully Caucasian in appearance.

Personally, I wasn’t a huge fan of some of the paraphrased retellings. They tend to leave much out in a bid for simplicity—which, I realize, one must compromise on when adapting material like this for child consumption. Still, it runs the risk of perpetuating contextual misunderstandings that have been long-running issues for both the churched and unchurched. I recommend parents read the retellings with their children so that they can answer questions and potentially modify elements that don’t as successfully convey the point. (I had to do this with the Adam & Eve telling in particular, as the wording didn’t make it clear that Adam was present to watch Eve eat the fruit first and she did not ‘trick him’, as my children were gathering.)

Note: At one point the book states that Abraham sacrificed a lamb in Isacc's place. (All texts I can find state it was a ram, not a lamb.) A minor discrepancy of animal sex and developmental age, perhaps, but still a touch concerning.

I also found it curious how frequently the Old Testament section includes possible scientific explanations for numerous miracles, plagues, acts-of-God, etc. This was especially prominent in the portions dedicated to the plagues of Egypt, and the Israelite nation’s crossing of the Red Sea. While these are interesting considerations, it had something of a vaguely dismissive effect. It also seems relevant to note that the New Testament is not given this same treatment (i.e. there is no attempt to explain or downplay the miracles of Christ.)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
 
4.0
"PROFESSOR RENOIR'S COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS primarily follows Babe, a fourteen-year-old girl who has gigantism. She already stands..."
Truman
 
5.0
"TRUMAN is an unbelievably sweet story about a tortoise. Truman the tortoise lives with his best friend and owner Sarah,..."
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
 
4.0
"THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD features cartoony planets and drawings along with poems on each page. Topical, clever,..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."