The Diamond and the Boy

The Diamond and the Boy

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
213   0
Write Review
The Diamond and the Boy
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
October 02, 2018
ISBN
978-0062659033
Buy This Book
      
Told in a unique dual-narrative format, The Diamond and the Boy follows the stories of both natural diamond creation and the life of H. Tracy Hall, the inventor of a revolutionary diamond-making machine. Perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer, and On a Beam of Light: A Story of Albert Einstein.

Before a diamond is a gem, it’s a common gray rock called graphite. Through an intense trial of heat and pressure, it changes into one of the most valuable stones in the world.

Before Tracy Hall was an inventor, he was a boy—born into poverty, bullied by peers, forced to work at an early age. However, through education and experimentation, he became one of the brightest innovators of the twentieth century, eventually building a revolutionary machine that makes diamonds.

From debut author Hannah Holt—the granddaughter of Tracy Hall—and illustrator Jay Fleck comes this fascinating in-depth portrait of both rock and man.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0  (1)
Learning Value 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

All About Diamonds

Told in alternation POVs, THE DIAMOND AND THE BOY tells the story of how the diamond is created and the history of H. Tracy Hall, the inventor of a diamond-making machine. The story is told in a poem format that is both educational and intriguing.

The illustrations are eye-catching and the facts are relative to those interested in diamonds and learning. The reader learns things that they might've not known, like that H. Tracy Hall was bullied. This is a heartfelt story about H. Tracy Hall with the addition of how diamonds form. It is both educational and interesting.


Final Verdict: This is perfect for fans of diamonds, learning new things, history, and innovation. This book even got the wheels in my brain turning with new facts.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Just For Clicks
Mommy blogs are great . . . unless the blog...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
i am Elephant, i am Butterfly
When sixteen-year-old Simone Wheeler is accepted into the elite Camp...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mike
MEET FLOYD. He's a tennis star. Possibly good enough to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unconventional Warfare (Special Forces, Book 1)
Discover the secret missions behind America's greatest conflicts.Danny Manion has...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Again, But Better
Shane has been doing college all wrong. Pre-med, stellar grades,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Summer of '69
With his girlfriend, Robin, away in Canada,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stick Cat: Two Cats and a Baby (#4)
Now that their owners are married, Stick Cat and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Waking Nightmare (Hello Neighbor #2)
It's been four months since Nicky Roth has seen his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Once and Future Geek (The Camelot Code #1)
When young Arthur of Camelot accidentally time-travels to the 21st...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lumberjanes: The Good Egg (Lumberjanes #3)
Welcome to Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Good Kind of Trouble
Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Wasn't Me
THE BREAKFAST CLUB meets middle school with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Start a Club by Accident (Two Dogs in a Trench Coat #2)
Sassy and Waldo love school! Everything smells like meat and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bird and Squirrel All Tangled Up
When Red has to go spend the night helping Grandmole,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Defeat a Wizard (Marty Pants #3)
Marty Pants returns to face his archenemy Simon, the so-called...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweeping Up the Heart
Amelia Albright dreams about going to Florida for spring break...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Just For Clicks
 
5.0
"Claire and her twin sister, Poppy, are ‘internet famous’. Every part of their lives have been blogged, photographed, and recorded..."
Obsidian (Lux #1)
 
5.0
"That's why I love paranormal romances :D"
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I'm a sucker for YA and Friends to Lovers romance, and Kasie West is one of my favorite YA author..."
Alienated (Alienated #1)
 
4.7
"I think I fell in love! Aelyx and Cara’s romance is of the slow-burn kind.... simply swoony! The..."
P.S. I Like You
 
4.7
"Be yourself, even when you don’t fit in! Two teenagers who both felt like something was missing in their lives..."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
5.0
"NYC will never be the same after reading this great Urban Fantasy... Even my heart will never be the same..."
Catching Jordan
 
4.7
"It's sooooo cute!!!!!! I shipped Jordan and Sam pretty much from page 1. I can't praise this book enough...."
The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1)
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely amazing! Beautifully written and compelling, with memorable characters. I was completed invested in each of them!..."
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I've read this book twice now, and I can't stop thinking about it. I feel madly in love with Charlie,..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
4.7
"Twilight is the epic love story of Edward and Bella. Forget any vampire romance you have read before, Twilight is..."
The Art of Losing
 
4.3
"Seventeen-year-old Harley has been dating Mike for a couple of years, and being his girlfriend gives her a status and..."
Midnight Angel
 
5.0
"Such a fantastic book. The story: Naomi is the daughter of harsh parents. They're part of a cult and..."
Beneath a Sinister Moon
 
5.0
"Wow besides the awesome title Beneath A Sinister Moon the inside of this book is even better. Things I wanted..."
Within the Darkest Hollows
 
5.0
"If you thought Book 1 Between the Bleeding Willows was great you haven't read nothing yet. Within the Darkest Hollows..."
Between the Bleeding Willows
 
5.0
"After Cassidy Ravanaugh's boyfriend Jace dies she goes to find a ring that he had been wearing. but get gets..."
Black Enough: Stories of Being Young and Black in America
 
5.0
"See more of my reviews on The YA Kitten! My copy was an ARC I got from the publisher as..."
Winner Take All
 
4.3
"The phrases “beautiful disaster” and “bad romance” but NOT the well-known novels that use those phrases for their titles. Five..."
Fresh Ink: An Anthology
 
4.0
"Anthologies have such a special place in my heart. The art of the short story is undervalued and it’s just..."
Between Before and After
 
4.7
"Elaine is the child of poor Irish immigrants growing up in turn of the century New York City. When Elaine’s..."
Beneath a Sinister Moon
 
5.0
"An amazing conclusion to this epic paranormal series! It did leave it open for the possibilities of more books but..."