Psalm 23 Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/05/57/90/_screen-shot-2013-03-28-at-1-20-45-pm-1364492133.png
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
790   0
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 05, 2013
ISBN
0310727847
Buy This Book
      
In this follow-up to his bestselling children's book, The Lord's Prayer, illustrator Richard Jesse Watson brings to life the beloved Psalm 23. Watson's use of vibrant color and detailed imagery beautifully captures the essence of the comforting words of David, bringing the King James Version of Psalm 23 alive for readers young and old.

Editor reviews

What I loved:
Peruse any picture book aisle at any bookstore and you'll see no shortage of biblical passages paired with colorful illustrations, making the bible accessible for young ones. But where most of these picture books leave off, Psalm 23 adds a valuable element I haven't seen before.

Psalm 23 certainly has vibrant illustrations, and I loved the juxtaposition in the artwork between children and lambs, which helps kids decipher the psalm's true meaning -- that God is our shepherd. The rich colors will have little ones gazing at the pages in wonder for years to come.

But my favorite part? At the end, each line of Psalm 23 is broken down and explained in kid-friendly terms. Example:

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
"God watches over me like a shepherd watches over his sheep. He protects me and takes care of all my needs."

and further:

He restoreth my soul
"When I make a mistake, God forgives me. When I'm lonely or sad, God comforts me."

This small addition turns this book into a mini-study bible. I can't wait to see more from Richard Jesse Watson. I think I'm sold for life.

What left me wanting:
I really enjoyed the illustrations at the beginning and end of the book of children from all nationalities. I'd love to see a book from Watson with those children as the main characters in the book. Just a suggestion!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
MG Buehrlen, Site Manager Reviewed by MG Buehrlen, Site Manager March 28, 2013
Last updated: March 28, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

Beautiful and Educational

What I loved:
Peruse any picture book aisle at any bookstore and you'll see no shortage of biblical passages paired with colorful illustrations, making the bible accessible for young ones. But where most of these picture books leave off, Psalm 23 adds a valuable element I haven't seen before.

Psalm 23 certainly has vibrant illustrations, and I loved the juxtaposition in the artwork between children and lambs, which helps kids decipher the psalm's true meaning -- that God is our shepherd. The rich colors will have little ones gazing at the pages in wonder for years to come.

But my favorite part? At the end, each line of Psalm 23 is broken down and explained in kid-friendly terms. Example:

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
"God watches over me like a shepherd watches over his sheep. He protects me and takes care of all my needs."

and further:

He restoreth my soul
"When I make a mistake, God forgives me. When I'm lonely or sad, God comforts me."

This small addition turns this book into a mini-study bible. I can't wait to see more from Richard Jesse Watson. I think I'm sold for life.

What left me wanting:
I really enjoyed the illustrations at the beginning and end of the book of children from all nationalities. I'd love to see a book from Watson with those children as the main characters in the book. Just a suggestion!

Good Points
- Gorgeous, lush illustrations
- Line-by-line study guide that explains the meaning being each poetic verse
Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Giveaway: Damage Done by Amanda Panitch (US & Canada Only)

    DAMAGE DONE by Amanda Panitch Release Date: 7/21/2015     About the Book Family can be a real killer. DAMAGE DONE is a gripping YA debut about a girl trying to escape the past. In this deliciously disturbing, heart-in-your-throat psychological thriller, the tru ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

      Column by Maurene Goo   Maybe it’s because Comic Con is around the corner, or just the general languor that settles in when it’s hot—but summer always makes me want to crack into a good graphic novel and just completely escape. So here ar ...

  • Giveaway: 5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O'Shea (US & Canada Only)

    5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O’Shea Release Date: 10/07/2015   About the Book They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds of Summer are more than just another boy band. Like ...

  • Giveaway: The Princess & the Pony by Kate Beaton (US Only)

    THE PRINCESS AND THE PONY by Kate Beaton In stores June 30th   About the Book Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse fit for a WARRIOR PRINCESS! But when the day arrives, she doesn't quite get the ...

  • Giveaway: The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson (US Only)

    The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson   Release Date: 6/30/15   About the Book Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from Brooklyn by their mother after she can no longe ...

  • Giveaway: Siren's Fury by Mary Weber (US Only)

    Siren’s Fury by Mary Weber Release Date: June 2, 2015   About the Book “I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But it’s no use. The curse I’ve spent my entire life abhorring—the thing I trained so hard to control—no ...

  • Giveaway: Paperweight by Meg Haston (US Only)

    PAPERWEIGHT by Meg Haston   Release Date: July 7, 2015   About the Book In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss. Seventeen-ye ...

  • Giveaway: Wanted Series by Erin Johnson (US Only)

    About the Books   WANTED: Grace and the Guiltless (Book 1) by Erin Johnson Release Date: August 1, 2014 As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride. Set in the Wild West, the book pigg ...

  • Giveaway: Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles (US & Canada Only)

    Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles Release Date: October 1, 2015     About the Book Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II, our modern technologies never evolved, and the Nazi ...

  • Giveaway: Alive by Chandler Baker (US Only)

    ALIVE   by Chandler Baker Release Date: June 9, 2015     About the Book Stella Cross's heart is poisoned. After years on the transplant waiting list, she's running out of hope that she'll ever see her eighteenth birthday. Then, miraculously, Stella re ...

  • Giveaway: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia (US & Canada Only)

    Made You Up by Francesca Zappia Release Date: May 19, 2015     About the Book Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to t ...

  • Giveaway: Minus Me by Ingelin Rossland (US Only)

    MINUS ME by Ingelin Røssland, translated by Deborah Dawkin Release Date: July 13, 2015     About the Book During a diving competition Linda discovers that she has a rare heart condition and is told that her only hope of surviving is a heart transplant. Sensitiv ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
The first book in an epic new series for fans of The School for Good and Evil and The Land...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Paper in the Wind is a compassionate and riveting story depicting a single father’s dedication to his daughter. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. “You could almost imagine everything was like...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. With their own water and power supplies, fourteen...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Zane is not that interested in the Gollywhopper Games. He'd rather play football and is sure that he's headed straight...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chock-full of puzzles, riddles, and challenges for the reader to solve along with the main characters, this fast-paced companion to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
On his twelfth birthday, Archie Greene receives a mysterious package containing an ancient book in a language he doesn't recognize....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The life of Australian teen Gerald Wilkins changed forever when he inherited twenty billion pounds and a mystery to solve....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It's only been a month since Gerald Wilkins became the richest kid on earth and uncovered a plot of murder...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gerald Wilkins never considered himself a particularly exceptional thirteen-year-old. But that was before he inherited twenty billion pounds, a Caribbean...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Brendan Buckley is headed to middle school on a whole new adventure. When his alternative energy idea gets him paired...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Bobbie's hilariously bumbling efforts to save her brother's Christmas actually land him on Santa's Naughty List, she must travel...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Rory Rooney likes to be prepared for anything. That sort of planning pays off when you’re the smallest kid in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kid genius Kevin Brewer and his friends must defend Earth from an invasion of vengeful aliens in the second installment...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Aliens Attack! When science camp buddies Kevin, Warner, Tara, and TJ summon alien life to earth, they quickly find out...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It is 1895. Stan is on a mission to find his long-lost father in the logging camps of Michigan. And...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jimmy Bishop loves doing 3 things: 1) Laughing at funny dog videos online, 2) watching his favorite show (Stop! Police!)...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Keep calm and make it to prom night—without a legit panic attack. For seventeen-year-old Bree Hughes, it’s easier said than...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avatar meets The Terminator in this thrilling cyber-tech adventure. Crippled by muscular dystrophy, Adam spends his...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Narrated by an alternating unreliable group of teens, this dark thriller will have readers on the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)