Psalm 23 Featured

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
998   0
Write Review
Psalm 23
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 05, 2013
ISBN
0310727847
Buy This Book
      
In this follow-up to his bestselling children's book, The Lord's Prayer, illustrator Richard Jesse Watson brings to life the beloved Psalm 23. Watson's use of vibrant color and detailed imagery beautifully captures the essence of the comforting words of David, bringing the King James Version of Psalm 23 alive for readers young and old.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0  (1)
Learning Value 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: March 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Beautiful and Educational

What I loved:
Peruse any picture book aisle at any bookstore and you'll see no shortage of biblical passages paired with colorful illustrations, making the bible accessible for young ones. But where most of these picture books leave off, Psalm 23 adds a valuable element I haven't seen before.

Psalm 23 certainly has vibrant illustrations, and I loved the juxtaposition in the artwork between children and lambs, which helps kids decipher the psalm's true meaning -- that God is our shepherd. The rich colors will have little ones gazing at the pages in wonder for years to come.

But my favorite part? At the end, each line of Psalm 23 is broken down and explained in kid-friendly terms. Example:

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
"God watches over me like a shepherd watches over his sheep. He protects me and takes care of all my needs."

and further:

He restoreth my soul
"When I make a mistake, God forgives me. When I'm lonely or sad, God comforts me."

This small addition turns this book into a mini-study bible. I can't wait to see more from Richard Jesse Watson. I think I'm sold for life.

What left me wanting:
I really enjoyed the illustrations at the beginning and end of the book of children from all nationalities. I'd love to see a book from Watson with those children as the main characters in the book. Just a suggestion!

Good Points
- Gorgeous, lush illustrations
- Line-by-line study guide that explains the meaning being each poetic verse
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)