Books Kids Nonfiction Rome: A 3D Keepsake Cityscape

Rome: A 3D Keepsake Cityscape Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/0b/4d/36/_0763664154-1364478901.jpg
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
628   0
Age Range
4+
Release Date
April 09, 2013
ISBN
0763664154
Buy This Book
      

Whether you’re dreaming of visiting Italy’s capital city or wish to remember it forever, here is an exquisite slip-cased memento. When in Rome, do as the Romans do — but when you’re away, you’re invited to take a vicarious tour with the help of this concertina-style guide. From St. Peter’s Basilica to the Villa Borghese, stopping at such sights as the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps along the way, this foldout guide, with its attractive case, offers the perfect way to keep the eternal city close at hand.

Editor reviews

What I loved:
Having never been to Rome, there is very little I know about the city outside what I learned in school and saw in films. This adorable little pop-up guide book shows you where each great attraction is located in the city and what each one is famous for. The illustrations are whimsical and inviting, and I found myself wishing I could hop right onto the page and see the sights in real life. If only books were a uniquely *transportable* magic...

What left me wanting:
Nothing at all. This book is thorough without being boring and overwhelming. Only the most basic facts are presented.

However, I will say that even though the book is aged for kindergarten and above, I'd probably give this book to older elementary kids or younger middle schoolers. The facts presented are written in a way that is geared toward that older age group. Also, that was the age I really started getting interested in traveling and far-off cities like Paris and Rome. Of course it depends on the child and their interests, but that would be my personal recommendation. I know as a "wanderlustful" sixth grader, I would've devoured this book and used it as a primer to get myself prepared for my very own Roman Holiday. My piggybank would've been overflowing.

Thank you, Candlewick, for these adorable 3D Keepsake books. Keep them coming!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
MG Buehrlen, Site Manager Reviewed by MG Buehrlen, Site Manager March 28, 2013
Last updated: April 09, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

Wanderlustful

What I loved:
Having never been to Rome, there is very little I know about the city outside what I learned in school and saw in films. This adorable little pop-up guide book shows you where each great attraction is located in the city and what each one is famous for. The illustrations are whimsical and inviting, and I found myself wishing I could hop right onto the page and see the sights in real life. If only books were a uniquely *transportable* magic...

What left me wanting:
Nothing at all. This book is thorough without being boring and overwhelming. Only the most basic facts are presented.

However, I will say that even though the book is aged for kindergarten and above, I'd probably give this book to older elementary kids or younger middle schoolers. The facts presented are written in a way that is geared toward that older age group. Also, that was the age I really started getting interested in traveling and far-off cities like Paris and Rome. Of course it depends on the child and their interests, but that would be my personal recommendation. I know as a "wanderlustful" sixth grader, I would've devoured this book and used it as a primer to get myself prepared for my very own Roman Holiday. My piggybank would've been overflowing.

Thank you, Candlewick, for these adorable 3D Keepsake books. Keep them coming!

Good Points
- Excellent architectural illustrations
- Lots of facts and basic info
- Great for travel-minded kids, older elementary school or middle school
Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Author Top 5 with Catherine Linka

      Today we welcome Catherine Linka to YABC! Zinka's soon to be released sequel to A Girl Called Fearless, A Girl Undone, is sure to appeal to fans of Divergent and An Ember in the Ashes. The next installment in The Girl Called Fearless series will make its debut June 23rd and w ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to another fabulous cover reveal, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE MIRROR KING by Jodi Meadows, releasing April 5, 2016 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins Publishers. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Jodi:   ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When you’re in love with the wrong person for the right reasons, anything could happen. Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else ...

  • Books Aren't Dangerous Campaign

      Do you remember that book that changed your life as a reader, or maybe just your life in general? You do? That’s great!        Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, authors of the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series, have started a campaign called BOOKS AREN’T DANG ...

  • TOMORROWLAND - Drive Through Movie Review

    **********NO SPOILERS************ The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, give their thoughts on the new Disney film TOMORROWLAND.    QUESTION: If you could go to an alternate universe what would you want to see there? ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Secret Side of Empty by Maria E. Andreu + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE SECRET SIDE OF EMPTY by Maria E. Andreu, releasing September 1, 2015 from Running Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Maria:   YABC Readers!  I’m so excited to share the pape ...

  • May 2015 YABC Book Haul

    Hey YABCers! Once again, our office has been innundated with books, books, and  more BOOKS! We've run out of shelf space which can only mean one thing .... it's time for the May Book Haul! Enjoy the video and let us know in the comments which books you can't wait to add to your TBR. &nbs ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hello, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for INSIDIOUS by Dawn Metcalf, releasing August 25, 2015 from Harlequin TEEN. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Dawn:   You know when you finish a story, you never really finish because there' ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

      This month's theme for the Librarian's corner is all about picture books you can share with teens! Picture books aren't just for kids and babies anymore. In fact, teens love storytime too!    For May, I am featuring some of my favorite picture books to share ...

  • The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival

        The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival--TBF 2015 Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Here at Young Adult Books Central, we LOVE YA! Fortunately for us, The Greater Rochester Book Festival held at Nazareth Collge devotes itself to s ...

  • Giveaway: If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski (US Only)

    If You Feel Too Much: Thoughts on Things Found and Lost and Hoped For By Jamie Tworkowski Release Date: May 26, 2015   About the Book In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

1424455187deadlydesigncover.jpg
Genetically engineered identical twins Kyle and Connor McAdams were born two years apart. Their parents figured it was safer that...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
What do you do with your last day on earth? There are 27 hours and fifteen minutes left until an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Ashley Watson walks through the halls of her high school, bullies taunt and shove her. She can't go...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation. Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
"This is LIFE, people! You've got air coming through your nose! You've got a heartbeat! That means it's time to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
61K250js3oL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
Discover how Benjamin Franklin’s scientific method challenged a certain Dr. Mesmer’s mysterious powers in a whimsical look at a true...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alexis Wyndham is the other type of Queen B—the Queen Bitch. After years of being the subject of ridicule,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In this hilarious novel, written in the voice of eighth-grader Wyatt Palmer, Dave Barry takes us on a class trip...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dominion of Atalanta is at war. But for eighteen-year-old Aris, the fighting is nothing more than a distant nightmare,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At the outset of World War II, Denmark did not resist German occupation. Deeply ashamed of his nation's leaders, fifteen-year-old...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The revolution is here. Bodies line the streets of Urobrun; a great pyre burns in Republic Square. The rebels grow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dyna comes from a long line of risk-takers and is an avid thrill-seeker in her own right, until she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Catherine Linka, the sequel and explosive conclusion to A Girl Called Fearless. Having survived a violent confrontation with the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheEscape.jpg
Not everyone who goes into the woods comes out.... It was supposed to be a short hike, a way for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The realities of teen prostitution are revealed in this eye-opening, heartbreaking story from the author of America, which Booklist called...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The_Dogst.jpg
Out of the corner of my eye, I catch something moving by the barn. When I look, it disappears. Wait....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning re-imagining of Robin Hood, the first in an exciting new trilogy Forget everything you've ever heard about Robin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A summer romance filled with danger and lies Jane is ready for a fantastic summer. In fact, she’s pretty sure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)