Books Kids Nonfiction Cleopatra Queen of Egypt

Cleopatra Queen of Egypt

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/fe/92/c9/_cleopatra-queen-1359600268.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
447   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 31, 2012
ISBN
978-0763660956
Buy This Book
      
Meet the woman who became the icon.

The story of Cleopatra’s life has captured the imagination of countless writers and artists for centuries. As one of history’s most enduring figures, much lore has obscured the real woman behind the myth. Was she a beautiful and heartless schemer who stopped at nothing to get what she wanted? Or was Cleopatra a tragic victim of her own heart? This next volume in the acclaimed Notebook series offers a fascinating look into the world of one of Egypt’s most notorious leaders. Featuring a fictional journal that invites us into Cleopatra’s inner world, this is an exquisite guide bursting with gorgeous illustrations and packed with fun interactive extras such as flaps featuring historical facts and pop-culture references.This is a riveting volume rife with battles, passion, and even murderous intrigue — an exclusive look into the legendary queen’s dramatic life.

Editor reviews

This is a great resource for sixth grade classrooms. This year I'm teaching sixth grade. Part of the sixth grade social studies curriculum and California state standards includes learning about Ancient Civilizations. Two civilizations that are covered include Ancient Rome and Egypt. I'm excited to learn about both civilizations as my brother-in-law Eihab is an Egyptian national and I'm a fourth generation Italian-American. Egypt has always fascinated me. So I was especially excited to be able to read CLEOPATRA QUEEN OF EGYPT and know others will too!

I love this book! The illustrations add to this story of one of the most infamous Egyptian Queens: Cleopatra. At the beginning the book goes over 'Lady of Legend' which gives readers a glimpse of the rumors behind her. It's like my former university professor told us, "History is written by the victors." I'm sure this is the case about Cleopatra. I mean, what would have happened if the tables were turned and she did defeat the Romans?

There's pop ups throughout that give little tidbits behind the tragic history of Cleopatra that are told in 'her' voice. There's her childhood, her county, Caesar, Antony, and what lead to their downfall.

This is a great addition to any sixth grade library. Also the print, illustrations of this book are sure to appeal to reluctant readers.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor January 30, 2013
Last updated: January 30, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (389)

Great Resource for Sixth Grade Classrooms and Those who love Ancient Egyptian History

This is a great resource for sixth grade classrooms. This year I'm teaching sixth grade. Part of the sixth grade social studies curriculum and California state standards includes learning about Ancient Civilizations. Two civilizations that are covered include Ancient Rome and Egypt. I'm excited to learn about both civilizations as my brother-in-law Eihab is an Egyptian national and I'm a fourth generation Italian-American. Egypt has always fascinated me. So I was especially excited to be able to read CLEOPATRA QUEEN OF EGYPT and know others will too!

I love this book! The illustrations add to this story of one of the most infamous Egyptian Queens: Cleopatra. At the beginning the book goes over 'Lady of Legend' which gives readers a glimpse of the rumors behind her. It's like my former university professor told us, "History is written by the victors." I'm sure this is the case about Cleopatra. I mean, what would have happened if the tables were turned and she did defeat the Romans?

There's pop ups throughout that give little tidbits behind the tragic history of Cleopatra that are told in 'her' voice. There's her childhood, her county, Caesar, Antony, and what lead to their downfall.

This is a great addition to any sixth grade library. Also the print, illustrations of this book are sure to appeal to reluctant readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)