Books Kids Nonfiction Cleopatra Queen of Egypt

Cleopatra Queen of Egypt

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/fe/92/c9/_cleopatra-queen-1359600268.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
423   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 31, 2012
ISBN
978-0763660956
Buy This Book
      
Meet the woman who became the icon.

The story of Cleopatra’s life has captured the imagination of countless writers and artists for centuries. As one of history’s most enduring figures, much lore has obscured the real woman behind the myth. Was she a beautiful and heartless schemer who stopped at nothing to get what she wanted? Or was Cleopatra a tragic victim of her own heart? This next volume in the acclaimed Notebook series offers a fascinating look into the world of one of Egypt’s most notorious leaders. Featuring a fictional journal that invites us into Cleopatra’s inner world, this is an exquisite guide bursting with gorgeous illustrations and packed with fun interactive extras such as flaps featuring historical facts and pop-culture references.This is a riveting volume rife with battles, passion, and even murderous intrigue — an exclusive look into the legendary queen’s dramatic life.

Editor reviews

This is a great resource for sixth grade classrooms. This year I'm teaching sixth grade. Part of the sixth grade social studies curriculum and California state standards includes learning about Ancient Civilizations. Two civilizations that are covered include Ancient Rome and Egypt. I'm excited to learn about both civilizations as my brother-in-law Eihab is an Egyptian national and I'm a fourth generation Italian-American. Egypt has always fascinated me. So I was especially excited to be able to read CLEOPATRA QUEEN OF EGYPT and know others will too!

I love this book! The illustrations add to this story of one of the most infamous Egyptian Queens: Cleopatra. At the beginning the book goes over 'Lady of Legend' which gives readers a glimpse of the rumors behind her. It's like my former university professor told us, "History is written by the victors." I'm sure this is the case about Cleopatra. I mean, what would have happened if the tables were turned and she did defeat the Romans?

There's pop ups throughout that give little tidbits behind the tragic history of Cleopatra that are told in 'her' voice. There's her childhood, her county, Caesar, Antony, and what lead to their downfall.

This is a great addition to any sixth grade library. Also the print, illustrations of this book are sure to appeal to reluctant readers.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor January 30, 2013
Last updated: January 30, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (382)

Great Resource for Sixth Grade Classrooms and Those who love Ancient Egyptian History

This is a great resource for sixth grade classrooms. This year I'm teaching sixth grade. Part of the sixth grade social studies curriculum and California state standards includes learning about Ancient Civilizations. Two civilizations that are covered include Ancient Rome and Egypt. I'm excited to learn about both civilizations as my brother-in-law Eihab is an Egyptian national and I'm a fourth generation Italian-American. Egypt has always fascinated me. So I was especially excited to be able to read CLEOPATRA QUEEN OF EGYPT and know others will too!

I love this book! The illustrations add to this story of one of the most infamous Egyptian Queens: Cleopatra. At the beginning the book goes over 'Lady of Legend' which gives readers a glimpse of the rumors behind her. It's like my former university professor told us, "History is written by the victors." I'm sure this is the case about Cleopatra. I mean, what would have happened if the tables were turned and she did defeat the Romans?

There's pop ups throughout that give little tidbits behind the tragic history of Cleopatra that are told in 'her' voice. There's her childhood, her county, Caesar, Antony, and what lead to their downfall.

This is a great addition to any sixth grade library. Also the print, illustrations of this book are sure to appeal to reluctant readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)