Scholastic Discover More: World War II

Scholastic Discover More: World War II Featured

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1210   0
Write Review
Scholastic Discover More: World War II
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
978-0545479752
Buy This Book
      
A comprehensive modern reference book all about World War II for expert readers.

It’s nearly 70 years since World War II ended, but its after effects are still shaping our world. Nicknamed THE DEADLIEST CONFLICT IN HISTORY, it claimed at least 50 million lives. It was also the backdrop to atrocities we are still struggling to comprehend, notably the Holocaust and the dropping of atomic bombs on Japan. Discover More: World War II charts the course of the war, from the rise of Nazism to Hitler's suicide in April 1945. Moving first-hard accounts bring history to life and show how individuals experienced the war, be they military or civilian, adult or child. In addition to a wealth of contemporary photographs, there are detailed cutaway artworks that reveal the inner workings of vehicles that defined the war: the German U-boat, Sherman tank, and Liberator bomber.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0  (1)
Learning Value 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

History comes alive

The history of World War II comes alive in this book. Colorful pictures, timelines, vocabulary, first person accounts and web links offer an interactive element. A lot of history books tend to break WWII up into either the European or The Pacific but this one covers it all. This is a must have for any history buff but can also be used as a supplement for curriculum.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)