Books Kids Nonfiction Lincoln's Grave Robbers

Lincoln's Grave Robbers Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/02/7f/9e/14612_lincolns-grave-robbers-1359054276.jpg
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
838   0
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
0545405726
Buy This Book
      
A true crime thriller -- the first book for teens to tell the nearly unknown tale of the brazen attempt to steal Abraham Lincoln's body!

The action begins in October of 1875, as Secret Service agents raid the Fulton, Illinois, workshop of master counterfeiter Ben Boyd. Soon after Boyd is hauled off to prison, members of his counterfeiting ring gather in the back room of a smoky Chicago saloon to discuss how to spring their ringleader. Their plan: grab Lincoln's body from its Springfield tomb, stash it in the sand dunes near Lake Michigan, and demand, as a ransom, the release of Ben Boyd --and $200,000 in cash. From here, the action alternates between the conspirators, the Secret Service agents on their trail, and the undercover agent moving back and forth between the two groups. Along the way readers get glimpses into the inner workings of counterfeiting, grave robbing, detective work, and the early days of the Secret Service. The plot moves toward a wild climax as robbers and lawmen converge at Lincoln's tomb on election night: November 7, 1876.

Editor reviews

Lincoln's Grave Robbers is an exciting,fast paced and well-researched story of a little-known crime in post-Civil War history. It is a historical non-fiction book that portrays the events of men who make countereit money. They hatch a plan to steal Abraham Lincoln's body and ransom it for the release of a friend in jail.

Author Steve Sheinkin presents the material with clear prose and a great eye for telling detail. From this book, I learned more about the Secret Service, the different ways that people used to get counterfeit money into circulation, and what they had to do to get detective work done. this is the type of history I wish they would teach in school. They are fascinating and readers can learn so much about how different life was like back then.

The history buffs young and old won't be able to put this book down. For those looking to try reading up on history- this is the book for you. The entire account reads like a true crime novel- while sticking to the facts. The writing captures the moments with great detail and keep the readers attention. There are images scattered throughout the book that help emphasize the details and allow the reader to visual specifically what was going on during that time.

This book is highly recommended to readers of all ages. Readers of Chasing Lincoln's Killer, will find this a great companion and addition to their collection. This is a must read.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Joanne, Editor Reviewed by Joanne, Editor January 28, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (99)

Thrilling Look at the Attempt to Steal Lincoln's Body!

Lincoln's Grave Robbers is an exciting,fast paced and well-researched story of a little-known crime in post-Civil War history. It is a historical non-fiction book that portrays the events of men who make countereit money. They hatch a plan to steal Abraham Lincoln's body and ransom it for the release of a friend in jail.

Author Steve Sheinkin presents the material with clear prose and a great eye for telling detail. From this book, I learned more about the Secret Service, the different ways that people used to get counterfeit money into circulation, and what they had to do to get detective work done. this is the type of history I wish they would teach in school. They are fascinating and readers can learn so much about how different life was like back then.

The history buffs young and old won't be able to put this book down. For those looking to try reading up on history- this is the book for you. The entire account reads like a true crime novel- while sticking to the facts. The writing captures the moments with great detail and keep the readers attention. There are images scattered throughout the book that help emphasize the details and allow the reader to visual specifically what was going on during that time.

This book is highly recommended to readers of all ages. Readers of Chasing Lincoln's Killer, will find this a great companion and addition to their collection. This is a must read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)