Books Kids Nonfiction Cryptic Canada

Cryptic Canada

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/5b/be/43/_000-1357875557.jpg
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
501   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 16, 2012
ISBN
1926973380
Buy This Book
      
While Canada cannot lay claim to wonders like the Great Pyramid of Egypt, Stonehenge of England, or ruins of Machu Picchu in Peru, Canada is by no means lacking for stories of intrigue and adventure. From buried treasure to ice mummies to bootleggers to shipwrecks, curious readers need look no further than Cryptic Canada to discover seven of this country’s most engaging unsolved mysteries.

Beginning with the ongoing hunt in Nova Scotia for the legendary treasure of Captain Kidd and his crew, moving to the discovery of the mummified Franklin Expedition in Nunavut by modern-day scientists, and ending with an exploration of the Great Lakes Triangle phenomenon (with several other exciting stories in between), this book has something for every adventurous reader.

Each chapter, bursting with illustrations by Matt Hammill and color photographs, ends with an interview with an expert in the field, who answers questions kids will be eager to ask after reading about each mysterious case.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

This is a fabulous book full of legends and mysteries located in Canada. From lost pirate treasure to underground cities full of gangsters to the story of the Free Masons, this book is a well-researched, fascinating historical tale from cover to cover.

I really enjoyed the way each chapter is laid out. The author starts with the original mystery, then adds a section called Puzzle Pieces which fleshes out the mystery with a solid list of historical facts, then moves to a What Now? section to discuss how the mystery is currently being handled, and finally ends with an Ask an Expert section which interviews an expert on the subject. Throughout it all, the narrative flows well and is engaging and easy to read.

The pictures that accompany each chapter are illustrative and definitely add value to the book. As a former home schooler, I can see this being a fun resource for home schoolers or for classrooms to use for both historical research and for writing prompts.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The only thing that left me a little cold were the illustrations themselves. The photographs are excellent. The drawings felt a bit too simplistic and childish for the 8+ age range. But because the photographs are the majority of the book's illustrations, it really didn't take away from the overall impact of the book.

Final Verdict:

CRYPTIC CANADA is a fascinating book that brings old mysteries to light using solid research, engaging narrative, and colorful pictures. Readers of all ages are sure to find many compelling mysteries to explore!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor January 10, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Fascinating!

What I Loved:

This is a fabulous book full of legends and mysteries located in Canada. From lost pirate treasure to underground cities full of gangsters to the story of the Free Masons, this book is a well-researched, fascinating historical tale from cover to cover.

I really enjoyed the way each chapter is laid out. The author starts with the original mystery, then adds a section called Puzzle Pieces which fleshes out the mystery with a solid list of historical facts, then moves to a What Now? section to discuss how the mystery is currently being handled, and finally ends with an Ask an Expert section which interviews an expert on the subject. Throughout it all, the narrative flows well and is engaging and easy to read.

The pictures that accompany each chapter are illustrative and definitely add value to the book. As a former home schooler, I can see this being a fun resource for home schoolers or for classrooms to use for both historical research and for writing prompts.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The only thing that left me a little cold were the illustrations themselves. The photographs are excellent. The drawings felt a bit too simplistic and childish for the 8+ age range. But because the photographs are the majority of the book's illustrations, it really didn't take away from the overall impact of the book.

Final Verdict:

CRYPTIC CANADA is a fascinating book that brings old mysteries to light using solid research, engaging narrative, and colorful pictures. Readers of all ages are sure to find many compelling mysteries to explore!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)