Books Kids Nonfiction Cryptic Canada

Cryptic Canada

http://69.195.136.18/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/5b/be/43/_000-1357875557.jpg
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
468   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 16, 2012
ISBN
1926973380
Buy This Book
      
While Canada cannot lay claim to wonders like the Great Pyramid of Egypt, Stonehenge of England, or ruins of Machu Picchu in Peru, Canada is by no means lacking for stories of intrigue and adventure. From buried treasure to ice mummies to bootleggers to shipwrecks, curious readers need look no further than Cryptic Canada to discover seven of this country’s most engaging unsolved mysteries.

Beginning with the ongoing hunt in Nova Scotia for the legendary treasure of Captain Kidd and his crew, moving to the discovery of the mummified Franklin Expedition in Nunavut by modern-day scientists, and ending with an exploration of the Great Lakes Triangle phenomenon (with several other exciting stories in between), this book has something for every adventurous reader.

Each chapter, bursting with illustrations by Matt Hammill and color photographs, ends with an interview with an expert in the field, who answers questions kids will be eager to ask after reading about each mysterious case.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

This is a fabulous book full of legends and mysteries located in Canada. From lost pirate treasure to underground cities full of gangsters to the story of the Free Masons, this book is a well-researched, fascinating historical tale from cover to cover.

I really enjoyed the way each chapter is laid out. The author starts with the original mystery, then adds a section called Puzzle Pieces which fleshes out the mystery with a solid list of historical facts, then moves to a What Now? section to discuss how the mystery is currently being handled, and finally ends with an Ask an Expert section which interviews an expert on the subject. Throughout it all, the narrative flows well and is engaging and easy to read.

The pictures that accompany each chapter are illustrative and definitely add value to the book. As a former home schooler, I can see this being a fun resource for home schoolers or for classrooms to use for both historical research and for writing prompts.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The only thing that left me a little cold were the illustrations themselves. The photographs are excellent. The drawings felt a bit too simplistic and childish for the 8+ age range. But because the photographs are the majority of the book's illustrations, it really didn't take away from the overall impact of the book.

Final Verdict:

CRYPTIC CANADA is a fascinating book that brings old mysteries to light using solid research, engaging narrative, and colorful pictures. Readers of all ages are sure to find many compelling mysteries to explore!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor January 10, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Fascinating!

What I Loved:

This is a fabulous book full of legends and mysteries located in Canada. From lost pirate treasure to underground cities full of gangsters to the story of the Free Masons, this book is a well-researched, fascinating historical tale from cover to cover.

I really enjoyed the way each chapter is laid out. The author starts with the original mystery, then adds a section called Puzzle Pieces which fleshes out the mystery with a solid list of historical facts, then moves to a What Now? section to discuss how the mystery is currently being handled, and finally ends with an Ask an Expert section which interviews an expert on the subject. Throughout it all, the narrative flows well and is engaging and easy to read.

The pictures that accompany each chapter are illustrative and definitely add value to the book. As a former home schooler, I can see this being a fun resource for home schoolers or for classrooms to use for both historical research and for writing prompts.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The only thing that left me a little cold were the illustrations themselves. The photographs are excellent. The drawings felt a bit too simplistic and childish for the 8+ age range. But because the photographs are the majority of the book's illustrations, it really didn't take away from the overall impact of the book.

Final Verdict:

CRYPTIC CANADA is a fascinating book that brings old mysteries to light using solid research, engaging narrative, and colorful pictures. Readers of all ages are sure to find many compelling mysteries to explore!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)