Cryptic Canada

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
696   0
Write Review
Cryptic Canada
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 16, 2012
ISBN
1926973380
Buy This Book
      
While Canada cannot lay claim to wonders like the Great Pyramid of Egypt, Stonehenge of England, or ruins of Machu Picchu in Peru, Canada is by no means lacking for stories of intrigue and adventure. From buried treasure to ice mummies to bootleggers to shipwrecks, curious readers need look no further than Cryptic Canada to discover seven of this country’s most engaging unsolved mysteries.

Beginning with the ongoing hunt in Nova Scotia for the legendary treasure of Captain Kidd and his crew, moving to the discovery of the mummified Franklin Expedition in Nunavut by modern-day scientists, and ending with an exploration of the Great Lakes Triangle phenomenon (with several other exciting stories in between), this book has something for every adventurous reader.

Each chapter, bursting with illustrations by Matt Hammill and color photographs, ends with an interview with an expert in the field, who answers questions kids will be eager to ask after reading about each mysterious case.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0  (1)
Learning Value 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Fascinating!

What I Loved:

This is a fabulous book full of legends and mysteries located in Canada. From lost pirate treasure to underground cities full of gangsters to the story of the Free Masons, this book is a well-researched, fascinating historical tale from cover to cover.

I really enjoyed the way each chapter is laid out. The author starts with the original mystery, then adds a section called Puzzle Pieces which fleshes out the mystery with a solid list of historical facts, then moves to a What Now? section to discuss how the mystery is currently being handled, and finally ends with an Ask an Expert section which interviews an expert on the subject. Throughout it all, the narrative flows well and is engaging and easy to read.

The pictures that accompany each chapter are illustrative and definitely add value to the book. As a former home schooler, I can see this being a fun resource for home schoolers or for classrooms to use for both historical research and for writing prompts.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The only thing that left me a little cold were the illustrations themselves. The photographs are excellent. The drawings felt a bit too simplistic and childish for the 8+ age range. But because the photographs are the majority of the book's illustrations, it really didn't take away from the overall impact of the book.

Final Verdict:

CRYPTIC CANADA is a fascinating book that brings old mysteries to light using solid research, engaging narrative, and colorful pictures. Readers of all ages are sure to find many compelling mysteries to explore!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

     

 

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
mister max.jpg
In Act III of Newbery Medalist Cynthia Voigt’s Mister Max...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macbeth #killingit (OMG Shakespeare series)
Macbeth, one of the greatest stories ever told . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)