I Am #5: George Washington

I Am #5: George Washington Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1051   0
Write Review
I Am #5: George Washington
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
December 01, 2012
ISBN
9780545484350
Buy This Book
      
The inspiring tale of an American hero's journey to become the first President of the United States.

Just in time for President's Day, children will be moved by Washington's revolutionary vision for our country. Celebrated war hero, George Washington used his progressive ideals to become the first President of the US, earning the nickname "Father of his country." Readers will be inspired by Washington's heroic journey to make America a better place.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0  (1)
Learning Value 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

A very readable biography.

The bibliography for this book was very well updated, and I enjoyed the lists of facts at the end.

Good Points
As a huge fan of the Childhood of Famous Americans series as a child, I've been very pleased with this new Scholastic "I Am" series. Written in kid-friendly prose, these short books present the most important facts about historical figures in an engaging and fun way. I even learned some things that I didn't know, such as the fact that Mt. Vernon originally belonged to George's stepbrother who developed tuberculosis. George traveled with Lawrence to Barbados to try to cure him, but when he succumbed to the disease, George ended up with the estate. This book is a great way to incorporate nonfiction text into social studies lessons.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)