While You Were Sleeping

While You Were Sleeping Featured

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1058   0
Write Review
While You Were Sleeping
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
December 01, 2012
ISBN
0545430283
Buy This Book
      
Discover the amazing things that happen around the world while you are asleep!

Books are often used to put children to bed. But what happens after we close our eyes? The world keeps spinning, people go to work, machines plug on, and many of the Earth's living creatures are just waking up! WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING is going to fill its readers in on everything they're missing after they drift off to sleep. The book is divided into six chapters (animals, the human body, space, pop culture, and sports), with each chapter focusing on different activities that happen every night. The pages will have fun and kid-friendly, full-color illustrations throughout.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0  (1)
Learning Value 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: December 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Another Homerun

Not only does WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING open your eyes to all the incredible facts that happen across the globe each night, it will also make you laugh and say, "What?! How cool!" more than you may think.

For instance, did you know NASA launched a spacecraft called Juno, which is manned by three Lego figurines? No kidding! While you're snoozing away, these three little Lego buddies are careening toward Jupiter on a mission. How cool is that? NASA just went up in my estimation right there. I can just imagine the confusion an alien species might have if they intercepted that spacecraft...

Space is just one of the several categories in WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING. Joining it are The Human Body, Animals, Nature, and Pop Culture. You'll discover answers to all sorts of zany (and not so zany) questions. Which creepy and crawly creatures only come out at night? How many skin cells does your body shed in your sleep? How many tweets are posted on Twitter during the nighttime hours? Which plant makes the most...noise?!

Matthew and Steve Murrie's fact books for kids are some of my favorite books on the market. Each fact is delivered succinctly and simply with lots of humor, so even the most "anti-educational book" kid will be entertained. These books are great for classrooms, for science project or essay reference, or for the science lover in your family. I'd even recommend them as a way to get a reluctant child interested in science and the world around them.

I was quite the science geek as a child, and I would have loved to have these books (EVERY MINUTE ON EARTH, EVERY DAY ON EARTH, WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING) while I was growing up. I suggest taking them on road trips. They're great to read aloud!

Good Points
- gasp-worthy facts that will delight your kids
- cute/quirky illustrations
- super succinct phrasing makes each fact fun for even the most reluctant reader
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)