Books Kids Nonfiction While You Were Sleeping

While You Were Sleeping Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/59/05/38/_sleeping-1354390385.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
744   0
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
December 01, 2012
ISBN
0545430283
Buy This Book
      
Discover the amazing things that happen around the world while you are asleep!

Books are often used to put children to bed. But what happens after we close our eyes? The world keeps spinning, people go to work, machines plug on, and many of the Earth's living creatures are just waking up! WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING is going to fill its readers in on everything they're missing after they drift off to sleep. The book is divided into six chapters (animals, the human body, space, pop culture, and sports), with each chapter focusing on different activities that happen every night. The pages will have fun and kid-friendly, full-color illustrations throughout.

Editor reviews

Not only does WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING open your eyes to all the incredible facts that happen across the globe each night, it will also make you laugh and say, "What?! How cool!" more than you may think.

For instance, did you know NASA launched a spacecraft called Juno, which is manned by three Lego figurines? No kidding! While you're snoozing away, these three little Lego buddies are careening toward Jupiter on a mission. How cool is that? NASA just went up in my estimation right there. I can just imagine the confusion an alien species might have if they intercepted that spacecraft...

Space is just one of the several categories in WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING. Joining it are The Human Body, Animals, Nature, and Pop Culture. You'll discover answers to all sorts of zany (and not so zany) questions. Which creepy and crawly creatures only come out at night? How many skin cells does your body shed in your sleep? How many tweets are posted on Twitter during the nighttime hours? Which plant makes the most...noise?!

Matthew and Steve Murrie's fact books for kids are some of my favorite books on the market. Each fact is delivered succinctly and simply with lots of humor, so even the most "anti-educational book" kid will be entertained. These books are great for classrooms, for science project or essay reference, or for the science lover in your family. I'd even recommend them as a way to get a reluctant child interested in science and the world around them.

I was quite the science geek as a child, and I would have loved to have these books (EVERY MINUTE ON EARTH, EVERY DAY ON EARTH, WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING) while I was growing up. I suggest taking them on road trips. They're great to read aloud!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
MG Buehrlen, Senior Editor Reviewed by MG Buehrlen, Senior Editor December 01, 2012
Last updated: December 01, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

Another Homerun

Not only does WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING open your eyes to all the incredible facts that happen across the globe each night, it will also make you laugh and say, "What?! How cool!" more than you may think.

For instance, did you know NASA launched a spacecraft called Juno, which is manned by three Lego figurines? No kidding! While you're snoozing away, these three little Lego buddies are careening toward Jupiter on a mission. How cool is that? NASA just went up in my estimation right there. I can just imagine the confusion an alien species might have if they intercepted that spacecraft...

Space is just one of the several categories in WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING. Joining it are The Human Body, Animals, Nature, and Pop Culture. You'll discover answers to all sorts of zany (and not so zany) questions. Which creepy and crawly creatures only come out at night? How many skin cells does your body shed in your sleep? How many tweets are posted on Twitter during the nighttime hours? Which plant makes the most...noise?!

Matthew and Steve Murrie's fact books for kids are some of my favorite books on the market. Each fact is delivered succinctly and simply with lots of humor, so even the most "anti-educational book" kid will be entertained. These books are great for classrooms, for science project or essay reference, or for the science lover in your family. I'd even recommend them as a way to get a reluctant child interested in science and the world around them.

I was quite the science geek as a child, and I would have loved to have these books (EVERY MINUTE ON EARTH, EVERY DAY ON EARTH, WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING) while I was growing up. I suggest taking them on road trips. They're great to read aloud!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)