Books Kids Nonfiction While You Were Sleeping

While You Were Sleeping Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/59/05/38/_sleeping-1354390385.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
788   0
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
December 01, 2012
ISBN
0545430283
Buy This Book
      
Discover the amazing things that happen around the world while you are asleep!

Books are often used to put children to bed. But what happens after we close our eyes? The world keeps spinning, people go to work, machines plug on, and many of the Earth's living creatures are just waking up! WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING is going to fill its readers in on everything they're missing after they drift off to sleep. The book is divided into six chapters (animals, the human body, space, pop culture, and sports), with each chapter focusing on different activities that happen every night. The pages will have fun and kid-friendly, full-color illustrations throughout.

Editor reviews

Not only does WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING open your eyes to all the incredible facts that happen across the globe each night, it will also make you laugh and say, "What?! How cool!" more than you may think.

For instance, did you know NASA launched a spacecraft called Juno, which is manned by three Lego figurines? No kidding! While you're snoozing away, these three little Lego buddies are careening toward Jupiter on a mission. How cool is that? NASA just went up in my estimation right there. I can just imagine the confusion an alien species might have if they intercepted that spacecraft...

Space is just one of the several categories in WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING. Joining it are The Human Body, Animals, Nature, and Pop Culture. You'll discover answers to all sorts of zany (and not so zany) questions. Which creepy and crawly creatures only come out at night? How many skin cells does your body shed in your sleep? How many tweets are posted on Twitter during the nighttime hours? Which plant makes the most...noise?!

Matthew and Steve Murrie's fact books for kids are some of my favorite books on the market. Each fact is delivered succinctly and simply with lots of humor, so even the most "anti-educational book" kid will be entertained. These books are great for classrooms, for science project or essay reference, or for the science lover in your family. I'd even recommend them as a way to get a reluctant child interested in science and the world around them.

I was quite the science geek as a child, and I would have loved to have these books (EVERY MINUTE ON EARTH, EVERY DAY ON EARTH, WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING) while I was growing up. I suggest taking them on road trips. They're great to read aloud!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
MG Buehrlen, Site Manager Reviewed by MG Buehrlen, Site Manager December 01, 2012
Last updated: December 01, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

Another Homerun

Not only does WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING open your eyes to all the incredible facts that happen across the globe each night, it will also make you laugh and say, "What?! How cool!" more than you may think.

For instance, did you know NASA launched a spacecraft called Juno, which is manned by three Lego figurines? No kidding! While you're snoozing away, these three little Lego buddies are careening toward Jupiter on a mission. How cool is that? NASA just went up in my estimation right there. I can just imagine the confusion an alien species might have if they intercepted that spacecraft...

Space is just one of the several categories in WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING. Joining it are The Human Body, Animals, Nature, and Pop Culture. You'll discover answers to all sorts of zany (and not so zany) questions. Which creepy and crawly creatures only come out at night? How many skin cells does your body shed in your sleep? How many tweets are posted on Twitter during the nighttime hours? Which plant makes the most...noise?!

Matthew and Steve Murrie's fact books for kids are some of my favorite books on the market. Each fact is delivered succinctly and simply with lots of humor, so even the most "anti-educational book" kid will be entertained. These books are great for classrooms, for science project or essay reference, or for the science lover in your family. I'd even recommend them as a way to get a reluctant child interested in science and the world around them.

I was quite the science geek as a child, and I would have loved to have these books (EVERY MINUTE ON EARTH, EVERY DAY ON EARTH, WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING) while I was growing up. I suggest taking them on road trips. They're great to read aloud!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Author Top 5 with Jenny Martin

      Today we welcome Jenny Martin to YABC! Martin's soon to be released debut novel, Tracked, is sure to appeal to fans of The Fast and the Furious and Firely along with Marie Lu's Legend and Veronica Roth's Divergent. This book will be racing across the finis ...

  • Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + Giveaway (International)

    The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen Release Date: March 26, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Laura:   Hi, YABC! I’m fired up about sharing my first chapter with you today. The Ark is about a young convict trapped in prison on the last day of ...

  • Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

      Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2, is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the ...

  • April 2015 Book Haul!

    Hey YABCers!  Our office was innundated with fabulous kidlit, middle grade, and YA books this month! (Including an audio book and a graphic novel.) Check out our book haul below and tell us which books look the most interesting to you!    ...

  • Giveaway: Twintuition - Double Vision by Tia & Tamera Mowry (US Only)

    TWINTUITION: DOUBLE VISION by Tia & Tamera Mowry Release Date: April 21, 2015   About the Book Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they can agree on is that neither of them is happy th ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE COMPLETE BLOOMING GODDESS TRILOGY by Tellulah Darling, releasing April 30, 2015 from Te Da Media. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Tellulah:   Hey YABC! I’ve basically been in sque ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing on ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Tor Maddox: Unleashed by Liz Coley + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley, releasing May 1, 2015 from LCTeen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Liz:   Hi YABC! I’m thrilled to int ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

flora and ulysses.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Some endings are inevitable, but so are some stories. Cora Matthews, the principal’s gloomy goth daughter, is not exactly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In End Times, Daphne lost herself in love with Owen, only to discover the dark secret that puts Carbon County...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A return to the world of THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB -- in a novel that gets to the heart of...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The most mysterious Bronte sister steps into the light in this must-read novel for fans of Wuthering Heights and Jane...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Wisdom is a journey across the Orion Arm of our galaxy and into the dreams, fears, and frailties of four...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ingrid and Gabby survived the Underneath. They saved their brother, Grayson, from a future of dark servitude and exposed a...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Rorke Denver trains the men who become Navy SEALs--the most creative problem solvers on the modern battlefield, ideal warriors for...
 
0.0
 
4.5 (1)
The remarkable third novel in Sara B. Larson's bestselling Defy series! At last, Alexa and King Damian are engaged to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After risking her life in the mortal world, the faerie princess Elora returns home to incite a revolution. Allied with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wasp’s job is simple. Hunt ghosts. And every year she has to fight to remain Archivist. Desperate and alone, she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An action-packed, romantic, and suspenseful third book in the Altered series. The Branch is in shambles, but Anna, Sam, Cas,...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
The Shakespeare Book brings the work of William Shakespeare to life with full-color photography, images, idea webs, timelines, and quotes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Louisa May Alcott can't believe it—her mother is leaving for the summer to earn money for the family and Louisa...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fan-favorite author Bree Despain continues her modern-day romance trilogy inspired by the Greek myth of Persephone and Hades with this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In critically acclaimed author Sarah Darer Littman's gripping new novel what happens online doesn't always stay online . . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, The Boyfriend Project is a romantic read about a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine's debut...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin Emerson's Exile trilogy combines the swoon-worthy romance of a Susane Colasanti novel with the rock 'n' roll of Eleanor...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kody Keplinger returns to the world of The DUFF in this brand-new companion novel! Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)