Learn to Speak Fashion: A Guide To Creating, Showcasing, and Promoting Your Style

Learn to Speak Fashion: A Guide To Creating, Showcasing, and Promoting Your Style Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
643   0
Write Review
Learn to Speak Fashion: A Guide To Creating, Showcasing, and Promoting Your Style
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 11, 2012
ISBN
978-1926973371
Buy This Book
      
Fashion surrounds us . . . and some might even say overwhelms us. Whether it’s shopping for clothes or getting dressed in the morning, it’s easy to feel at odds with a world that seems to be all about appearances. But not only can fashion be fun, silly, impulsive, and even inexpensive — it can also be a really rewarding avenue of self-expression for everyone.

By starting with the most basic formula (clothes + art = fashion), Learn To Speak Fashion strips away the anxiety and artifice to get to the heart of what makes clothing so much more than what we put on our bodies. The lessons within these pages range from understanding how to dress every part of the body and how to make your own pair of pants, to learning how to harness your design ideas with an inspiration board, or hold a fashion show in your backyard.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0  (1)
Learning Value 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
3.0

Perfect gift for a young fashionista

This beautifully designed book introduces readers to various aspects of the fashion industry. Many middle grade students are interested in the fashion that they seen in teen magazine, but this book introduces them also to the world of designers, runway shows, fashion shoots and practical information about sewing and photography. Step-by-step instructions teach how to make a pair of pants, put together a fashion show and design a photo shoot. Many terms are defined and different aspects of fashion discussed.

Good Points
Adored the 1960s inspired color scheme and line drawings, and the descriptions of all of the inside information about fashion shoots, etc. would be very helpful to readers of the book above. I have a particular students in mind who would love to read this.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

61tbP2jpoXL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
When a glamorous family of teenage witches brings a mysterious...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51W7EOxIV9L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Exo
It’s been a century of peace since Earth became a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Lion Inside
From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Scotland is in my blood... All sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)