Books Kids Nonfiction Learn to Speak Fashion: A Guide To Creating, Showcasing, and Promoting Your Style

Learn to Speak Fashion: A Guide To Creating, Showcasing, and Promoting Your Style Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/b3/7f/42/_13584761-1353772957.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
329   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 11, 2012
ISBN
978-1926973371
Buy This Book
      
Fashion surrounds us . . . and some might even say overwhelms us. Whether it’s shopping for clothes or getting dressed in the morning, it’s easy to feel at odds with a world that seems to be all about appearances. But not only can fashion be fun, silly, impulsive, and even inexpensive — it can also be a really rewarding avenue of self-expression for everyone.

By starting with the most basic formula (clothes + art = fashion), Learn To Speak Fashion strips away the anxiety and artifice to get to the heart of what makes clothing so much more than what we put on our bodies. The lessons within these pages range from understanding how to dress every part of the body and how to make your own pair of pants, to learning how to harness your design ideas with an inspiration board, or hold a fashion show in your backyard.

Editor reviews

This beautifully designed book introduces readers to various aspects of the fashion industry. Many middle grade students are interested in the fashion that they seen in teen magazine, but this book introduces them also to the world of designers, runway shows, fashion shoots and practical information about sewing and photography. Step-by-step instructions teach how to make a pair of pants, put together a fashion show and design a photo shoot. Many terms are defined and different aspects of fashion discussed.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
3.0

Perfect gift for a young fashionista

This beautifully designed book introduces readers to various aspects of the fashion industry. Many middle grade students are interested in the fashion that they seen in teen magazine, but this book introduces them also to the world of designers, runway shows, fashion shoots and practical information about sewing and photography. Step-by-step instructions teach how to make a pair of pants, put together a fashion show and design a photo shoot. Many terms are defined and different aspects of fashion discussed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)