Lighting Our World: A Year of Celebrations

Lighting Our World: A Year of Celebrations Featured

 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
629   0
Write Review
Lighting Our World: A Year of Celebrations
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
6+
Release Date
September 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1554535941
Buy This Book
      
Throughout the year and around the globe, people use light -- candles, bonfires, lanterns and fireworks -- to celebrate special occasions. This richly illustrated book is an illuminating tour of the world's brightest and warmest festivities.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
4.0  (2)
Learning Value 
 
5.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Diverse & Informative

This book reminds me (in a good way) of the old set of Childbook Encyclopedias I had when I was little. I think it feels like the Childbooks because it has a similar writing style (fairly dry and informative, but rich in vivid details which as a child I found fascinating). The book follows the twelve month calendar and lists cultural events that involve light (candles etc) from nations across the globe. This is definitely a worthy book to have on any shelf, though younger readers will need some assistance with the writing style. Each holiday is summed up thoroughly and succinctly, and I think this book will certainly broaden every reader's appreciation and understanding of other cultures.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Light Up Your Cultural Knowledge!

Lighting our World: A Year of Celebrations is filled with great information about cultural events that use light to celebrate national holidays or historical events. Told from the perspective of native children across the globe, this book shares about the celebrations and goes through January to December. You will learn about Cinco de Mayo in Mexico, Carnival in the Caribbean, Chinese New Year, and more. The illustrations are vivid and almost dance like a flame off the pages themselves! The book held my interest and curiosity throughout, and I found it to be a great jumping-off point, inspiring me to learn more about each holiday and culture with my children. As a parent who wants my kids to be interested and informed about the variety of people and places around the world, I feel this is a unique and valuable book to include in my library.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)