Books Kids Nonfiction Food, Faith & Fun: A Faithgirlz Cookbook

Food, Faith & Fun: A Faithgirlz Cookbook Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f5/51/7b/_faithgirlzcookbook-1346436065.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
528   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
978-0310723165
Buy This Book
      
Stir Up Some Food, Fun and Faith in the kitchen. Grab your apron and a friend or two and cook up some tasty treats and yummy eats. With step-by-step instructions and photos good enough to make your mouth water, this cookbook helps you master simple recipes, impressive main courses, and elegant desserts, including: Homemade Hot Pretzels, Toffee Tarts, White Chicken Chili, Mango Chicken Quesadillas, Best Friend Cupcakes, soups, smoothies, holiday recipes, and much more--some contributed from other Faithgirlz just like you. Plus, you'll also experience cooking as a memory-making, God-honoring, wonderful way to share and serve delicious food with those you love. So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. --1 Corinthians 10:31

Editor reviews

I am not familiar with the “Faithgirlz” series, and honestly, when I first looked through this book, I was not all that impressed. I am a pretty avid cook myself, and plan on teaching my children how to do it since it is such an important aspect of my life. But as I looked it over some more, I thought about my own childhood and how I didn’t (and lots in my generation) learn how to cook from my parents. Cooking was an interest I took in college and as I grew in my ability and expanded my palate, it took on an entirely new meaning for my life. The recipes on this pages are not ornate or complicated, and at first that was what I expected. Also, the “Christian” aspect of this book could also almost be entirely lost on the reader because that part of it is so brief. However, I eventually found this to be a good book to get your girls interested in not only cooking simple and fun dishes, but as a way to pique interest in the spiritual aspects of food and hospitality, which a mom can go deeper and further into on her own if she wants to get the full benefit of this book. So, don’t be disappointed upon a first glance! Think of this as a book for your budding cook (not you!) and go through it together!
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
Nicholette Tilghman, Editor Reviewed by Nicholette Tilghman, Editor November 02, 2012
Last updated: November 02, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (120)

Simple, Cute Recipes for Beginning Hostesses

I am not familiar with the “Faithgirlz” series, and honestly, when I first looked through this book, I was not all that impressed. I am a pretty avid cook myself, and plan on teaching my children how to do it since it is such an important aspect of my life. But as I looked it over some more, I thought about my own childhood and how I didn’t (and lots in my generation) learn how to cook from my parents. Cooking was an interest I took in college and as I grew in my ability and expanded my palate, it took on an entirely new meaning for my life. The recipes on this pages are not ornate or complicated, and at first that was what I expected. Also, the “Christian” aspect of this book could also almost be entirely lost on the reader because that part of it is so brief. However, I eventually found this to be a good book to get your girls interested in not only cooking simple and fun dishes, but as a way to pique interest in the spiritual aspects of food and hospitality, which a mom can go deeper and further into on her own if she wants to get the full benefit of this book. So, don’t be disappointed upon a first glance! Think of this as a book for your budding cook (not you!) and go through it together!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)