Books Kids Nonfiction Food, Faith & Fun: A Faithgirlz Cookbook

Food, Faith & Fun: A Faithgirlz Cookbook Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f5/51/7b/_faithgirlzcookbook-1346436065.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
609   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
978-0310723165
Buy This Book
      
Stir Up Some Food, Fun and Faith in the kitchen. Grab your apron and a friend or two and cook up some tasty treats and yummy eats. With step-by-step instructions and photos good enough to make your mouth water, this cookbook helps you master simple recipes, impressive main courses, and elegant desserts, including: Homemade Hot Pretzels, Toffee Tarts, White Chicken Chili, Mango Chicken Quesadillas, Best Friend Cupcakes, soups, smoothies, holiday recipes, and much more--some contributed from other Faithgirlz just like you. Plus, you'll also experience cooking as a memory-making, God-honoring, wonderful way to share and serve delicious food with those you love. So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. --1 Corinthians 10:31

Editor reviews

I am not familiar with the “Faithgirlz” series, and honestly, when I first looked through this book, I was not all that impressed. I am a pretty avid cook myself, and plan on teaching my children how to do it since it is such an important aspect of my life. But as I looked it over some more, I thought about my own childhood and how I didn’t (and lots in my generation) learn how to cook from my parents. Cooking was an interest I took in college and as I grew in my ability and expanded my palate, it took on an entirely new meaning for my life. The recipes on this pages are not ornate or complicated, and at first that was what I expected. Also, the “Christian” aspect of this book could also almost be entirely lost on the reader because that part of it is so brief. However, I eventually found this to be a good book to get your girls interested in not only cooking simple and fun dishes, but as a way to pique interest in the spiritual aspects of food and hospitality, which a mom can go deeper and further into on her own if she wants to get the full benefit of this book. So, don’t be disappointed upon a first glance! Think of this as a book for your budding cook (not you!) and go through it together!
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
Nicholette Tilghman Reviewed by Nicholette Tilghman November 02, 2012
Last updated: November 02, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (120)

Simple, Cute Recipes for Beginning Hostesses

I am not familiar with the “Faithgirlz” series, and honestly, when I first looked through this book, I was not all that impressed. I am a pretty avid cook myself, and plan on teaching my children how to do it since it is such an important aspect of my life. But as I looked it over some more, I thought about my own childhood and how I didn’t (and lots in my generation) learn how to cook from my parents. Cooking was an interest I took in college and as I grew in my ability and expanded my palate, it took on an entirely new meaning for my life. The recipes on this pages are not ornate or complicated, and at first that was what I expected. Also, the “Christian” aspect of this book could also almost be entirely lost on the reader because that part of it is so brief. However, I eventually found this to be a good book to get your girls interested in not only cooking simple and fun dishes, but as a way to pique interest in the spiritual aspects of food and hospitality, which a mom can go deeper and further into on her own if she wants to get the full benefit of this book. So, don’t be disappointed upon a first glance! Think of this as a book for your budding cook (not you!) and go through it together!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Tor Maddox: Unleashed by Liz Coley + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley, releasing May 1, 2015 from LCTeen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Liz:   Hi YABC! I’m thrilled to int ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!   The sheriff's son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, ...

  • YABC Superstar of the Month: Ellie Gehman!

    YABC is a big site with a lot of moving pieces. We wouldn't exist without the tireless efforts of our incredible staff of volunteers. Our volunteers read and review books, post giveaways and cover reveals, format book graphics for our social media sites, and much more. YABC is a fabulous communit ...

  • MTV Movie Awards Recap

    Last night was a big night for YA book-to-movie adaptations at the MTV Movie Awards! Check out how many categories we won: MOVIE OF THE YEAR:    BEST KISS:   BREAKTHROUGH PERFORMANCE: Dylan O'Brien The Maze Runner BEST FEMALE PERFORMAN ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare by M.G. Buehrlen + Giveaway (US Only)

      Hello, YABC! We've got a special reveal for you today! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE 57 LIVES OF ALEX WAYFARE by M.G. Buehrlen, releasing April 14, 2015 from Diversion Books. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from M.G.:   ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Starflight by Melissa Landers + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to the second cover reveal of the week! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for STARFLIGHT by Melissa Landers, releasing February 2, 2016 from Disney Hyperion. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hey, YAB ...

  • Trailer Reveal: Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby + Giveaway (US Only)

    Hello, YABCers! We're bringing you a different kind of reveal today! Today we're super excited to celebrate the trailer reveal for THINGS WE KNOW BY HEART by Jessi Kirby, releasing April 21, 2015 from HarperTeen. Before we get to the trailer, here's a note from Jessi:   ...

  • Author Top 5 with Fonda Lee

    Today we welcome Fonda Lee to YABC! Fonda’s newly released book ZEROBOXER (Flux/Llewellyn) is high-action science fiction novel that releases this week. Since all authors want their books to find the right readers, Fonda has compiled this handy quiz to help you determine if you are the sort ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves With WNDB!

    Columnist: Maurene Goo   It’s very exciting to write the debut post for this new series of diversity recs for YABC! As a member of We Need Diverse Books and as a YA author who started this entire journey because I wanted to see books that reflected something close to my teen years in ...

  • Giveaway: Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman (US& CAN Only)

    Shadow Scale By Rachel Hartman Release Date: March 10, 2015   About the Book In her Morris Award-winning and New York Times bestselling debut, Rachel Hartman took our breath away with an utterly original alternative-medieval world full of dragons, Seraphina. This novel ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Angels of Moirai (Book One)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Since man first walked the earth, the Angels of Moirai have watched over them. Born human, they are taught never...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
By the author of the critically acclaimed Wild Awake, a beautiful coming-of-age story about deep friendship, the weight of secrets,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The-Girl-Who-Ignored-Ghosts.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Kat Preston doesn’t believe in ghosts. Not because she’s never seen one, but because she saw one too many. Refusing...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the past two months, Kitty Doe's life has been a lie. Forced to impersonate the Prime Minister's niece, her...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nerdy Dozen 2.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In this exciting sequel to The Nerdy Dozen, Neil Andertol and his gang of dorky gamers are once again called...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
les miserables.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Travel back to nineteenth-century France with ex-convict Jean Valjean as he tries to put his criminal past behind him and...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Wishing doesn't make it so, Azra does. Azra has just turned sixteen, and overnight her body lengthens, her olive skin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being on the run, Ariane Tucker finds herself back where she started-under Dr. Jacobs's cruel control. Now she must...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
Can one girl take on so many identities without losing her own? Find out in this riveting companion to The...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Three different teenage girls learn how to navigate their hearts and NYC. City Love is the start of a romantic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen. Molly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
woven book.jpg
Two unlikely allies must journey across a kingdom in the hopes of thwarting death itself. All his life, Nels has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When your life is a lie, how do you know what’s real? Alexandra Gastone has a simple plan: graduate high...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Allie Carmichael has always believed life is simple. You’re born. You live. You die. She has no cause to...
 
0.0
 
4.5 (2)
I am different. I have always been different, but no one can know or my life will be in danger....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free. Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Is there anything that electric chemistry can’t overcome? The past may be gone, but love has a way of holding...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)