Books Kids Nonfiction Food, Faith & Fun: A Faithgirlz Cookbook

Food, Faith & Fun: A Faithgirlz Cookbook Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f5/51/7b/_faithgirlzcookbook-1346436065.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
600   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
978-0310723165
Buy This Book
      
Stir Up Some Food, Fun and Faith in the kitchen. Grab your apron and a friend or two and cook up some tasty treats and yummy eats. With step-by-step instructions and photos good enough to make your mouth water, this cookbook helps you master simple recipes, impressive main courses, and elegant desserts, including: Homemade Hot Pretzels, Toffee Tarts, White Chicken Chili, Mango Chicken Quesadillas, Best Friend Cupcakes, soups, smoothies, holiday recipes, and much more--some contributed from other Faithgirlz just like you. Plus, you'll also experience cooking as a memory-making, God-honoring, wonderful way to share and serve delicious food with those you love. So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. --1 Corinthians 10:31

Editor reviews

I am not familiar with the “Faithgirlz” series, and honestly, when I first looked through this book, I was not all that impressed. I am a pretty avid cook myself, and plan on teaching my children how to do it since it is such an important aspect of my life. But as I looked it over some more, I thought about my own childhood and how I didn’t (and lots in my generation) learn how to cook from my parents. Cooking was an interest I took in college and as I grew in my ability and expanded my palate, it took on an entirely new meaning for my life. The recipes on this pages are not ornate or complicated, and at first that was what I expected. Also, the “Christian” aspect of this book could also almost be entirely lost on the reader because that part of it is so brief. However, I eventually found this to be a good book to get your girls interested in not only cooking simple and fun dishes, but as a way to pique interest in the spiritual aspects of food and hospitality, which a mom can go deeper and further into on her own if she wants to get the full benefit of this book. So, don’t be disappointed upon a first glance! Think of this as a book for your budding cook (not you!) and go through it together!
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
Nicholette Tilghman, Editor Reviewed by Nicholette Tilghman, Editor November 02, 2012
Last updated: November 02, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (120)

Simple, Cute Recipes for Beginning Hostesses

I am not familiar with the “Faithgirlz” series, and honestly, when I first looked through this book, I was not all that impressed. I am a pretty avid cook myself, and plan on teaching my children how to do it since it is such an important aspect of my life. But as I looked it over some more, I thought about my own childhood and how I didn’t (and lots in my generation) learn how to cook from my parents. Cooking was an interest I took in college and as I grew in my ability and expanded my palate, it took on an entirely new meaning for my life. The recipes on this pages are not ornate or complicated, and at first that was what I expected. Also, the “Christian” aspect of this book could also almost be entirely lost on the reader because that part of it is so brief. However, I eventually found this to be a good book to get your girls interested in not only cooking simple and fun dishes, but as a way to pique interest in the spiritual aspects of food and hospitality, which a mom can go deeper and further into on her own if she wants to get the full benefit of this book. So, don’t be disappointed upon a first glance! Think of this as a book for your budding cook (not you!) and go through it together!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Order
Category: Young Adult Indie
Lana Crewe is a strong, fiercely driven seventeen year old living in a village ruled by fear. With their king...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)