Books Kids Nonfiction The Marvelous Book of Magical Horses

The Marvelous Book of Magical Horses

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/04/a8/62/_MagicalHorses_1330018425.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
582   0
Age Range
1+
Release Date
February 01, 2011
ISBN
978-1591749264
Buy This Book
      

Who knew paper dolls could be so enchanting? The Marvelous Book of Magical Horses comes with six gorgeous paper ponies and three paper-doll fairies. Plus, of course, everything you need to dress them up and play: a dozen fabulous wings, more than 200 punch-out saddles, manes, bows, and other horse and fairy fashions, and four fabulously illustrated playscapes. Frustration-proof sticky shapes hold the outfits on tight and make this activity as simple as can be.

Comes With: 6 punch-out paper horses, 6 sets of wings for horses, 2 paper-doll fairies, over 250 fashions for horses and fairies, double-sided removable adhesive dots

Editor reviews

Easy to punch out, this paper-doll style book has horses, fairies, and outfits galore for your child (and you!) to create and design. Although it is probably best used by children 5 and older, my three-year-old has already spent a few hours arranging outfits for the horses, even without sticking them on permanently. Definitely a fun addition to a little girl's craft activity stash! Make sure not to punch out too many things at once because pieces can get easily misplaced and overwhelming. Have your child focus on one or two horses or fairies each "design session," and have a spot to store the ones you take out (although the book does have a handy pocket in the back for this purpose as well). The items are also easy to rip, and not super-sturdy.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
3.0

Hours of Fun with Fairies and Horses

Easy to punch out, this paper-doll style book has horses, fairies, and outfits galore for your child (and you!) to create and design. Although it is probably best used by children 5 and older, my three-year-old has already spent a few hours arranging outfits for the horses, even without sticking them on permanently. Definitely a fun addition to a little girl's craft activity stash! Make sure not to punch out too many things at once because pieces can get easily misplaced and overwhelming. Have your child focus on one or two horses or fairies each "design session," and have a spot to store the ones you take out (although the book does have a handy pocket in the back for this purpose as well). The items are also easy to rip, and not super-sturdy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)