Books Kids Fiction Magic by Moonlight (The Amulet Series #2)

Magic by Moonlight (The Amulet Series #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/43/dc/4c/magic-by-moonlight-the-amulet-series-2-81-1409684805.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
451   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 01, 2011
ISBN
1453758615
Buy This Book
      
With a magical amulet in hand, three friends are whisked back in time to the Salem witch hunts, a terrible time in our history. When Tituba, the Parris' slave, secretly teaches the children a lot more than housekeeping, like voodoo, fortunes, and spell casting, it leads to utter chaos in the village. Ultimately, Emily, Megan, and Ben uncover a hidden secret which may alter the course of history. Can they get the villagers to see what's really causing the fits and tantrums before they get accused of being witches themselves? Follow the friends on a fantastic adventure as they uncover a mystery when they travel back in time.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Maria G

I love what D.L. does with the story which is exactly what I loved about Shape of Mercy (which was oddly enough the same characters and I reviewed just a few weeks ago) is that the authors take a story from history and weave in fictional characters to make the story modern and more appealing. Most children aren't interested in history, it is bland, wordy and sometimes hard to understand. But alter it, make it current and it becomes interesting.  D.L.'s take on the Witch Hunts and how things could be interrupted was brilliant. It is the way kids would think and act if they suddenly found themselves inserted in a different time (if this could ever happen).


I love how the children reacted to their conditions, surroundings, food, and education on the mill. It is a well written, interesting story and textbook
in one.  What I think is great about the marriage of fiction and non-fiction mix-ups is that, these stories open the readers mind to research further. To find out more about the non-fiction part of the story because now they know some of the players. Knowledge is power and getting kids to read books in a world of technology is hard, but making it fun and entertaining, brings out the researcher in all of us. 
Great book for ages 8-14. I give it 5 stars!
A Maria's Space Book Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader May 17, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Time Travel at Its Best!

Reader reviewed by Maria G

I love what D.L. does with the story which is exactly what I loved about Shape of Mercy (which was oddly enough the same characters and I reviewed just a few weeks ago) is that the authors take a story from history and weave in fictional characters to make the story modern and more appealing. Most children aren't interested in history, it is bland, wordy and sometimes hard to understand. But alter it, make it current and it becomes interesting.  D.L.'s take on the Witch Hunts and how things could be interrupted was brilliant. It is the way kids would think and act if they suddenly found themselves inserted in a different time (if this could ever happen).


I love how the children reacted to their conditions, surroundings, food, and education on the mill. It is a well written, interesting story and textbook
in one.  What I think is great about the marriage of fiction and non-fiction mix-ups is that, these stories open the readers mind to research further. To find out more about the non-fiction part of the story because now they know some of the players. Knowledge is power and getting kids to read books in a world of technology is hard, but making it fun and entertaining, brings out the researcher in all of us. 
Great book for ages 8-14. I give it 5 stars!
A Maria's Space Book Review

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)