Magic by Moonlight (The Amulet Series #2)

Magic by Moonlight (The Amulet Series #2)

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
677   0
Write Review
Magic by Moonlight (The Amulet Series #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 01, 2011
ISBN
1453758615
Buy This Book
      
With a magical amulet in hand, three friends are whisked back in time to the Salem witch hunts, a terrible time in our history. When Tituba, the Parris' slave, secretly teaches the children a lot more than housekeeping, like voodoo, fortunes, and spell casting, it leads to utter chaos in the village. Ultimately, Emily, Megan, and Ben uncover a hidden secret which may alter the course of history. Can they get the villagers to see what's really causing the fits and tantrums before they get accused of being witches themselves? Follow the friends on a fantastic adventure as they uncover a mystery when they travel back in time.

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Time Travel at Its Best!

Reader reviewed by Maria G

I love what D.L. does with the story which is exactly what I loved about Shape of Mercy (which was oddly enough the same characters and I reviewed just a few weeks ago) is that the authors take a story from history and weave in fictional characters to make the story modern and more appealing. Most children aren't interested in history, it is bland, wordy and sometimes hard to understand. But alter it, make it current and it becomes interesting.  D.L.'s take on the Witch Hunts and how things could be interrupted was brilliant. It is the way kids would think and act if they suddenly found themselves inserted in a different time (if this could ever happen).


I love how the children reacted to their conditions, surroundings, food, and education on the mill. It is a well written, interesting story and textbook
in one.  What I think is great about the marriage of fiction and non-fiction mix-ups is that, these stories open the readers mind to research further. To find out more about the non-fiction part of the story because now they know some of the players. Knowledge is power and getting kids to read books in a world of technology is hard, but making it fun and entertaining, brings out the researcher in all of us. 
Great book for ages 8-14. I give it 5 stars!
A Maria's Space Book Review

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)