Books Kids Fiction Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation (Jack Blank Adventure #1)

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation (Jack Blank Adventure #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/6b/ee/69/jack-blank-and-the-imagine-nation-jack-blank-adventure-1-30-1409762216.jpg
 
3.0
 
4.0 (1)
790   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
August 03, 2010
ISBN
1416995617
Buy This Book
      
Jack Blank is an orphan, abandoned from birth at bleak, dreary swampland St Barnaby’s Home for the Hopeless, Abandoned, Forgotten, and Lost. Covertly reading old comic books is Jack’s only solace, until a real Robo-Zombie attacks and emissary Jazen whisks him to a secret island country "the Imagine Nation". But the super-heroes fear him as a threat.

Editor reviews

Raised in an orphanage, Jack Blank doesnt know who he is or even his real name. The teachers and other students shun Jack but he finds solace in his secret stash of contraband comic books and his mysterious powers that just make things happen. Then a mysterious robot appears and tries to attack Jack, setting in motion an adventure Jack has never imaginedhis home is the Imagine Nation. Jazen, an emissary from this strange island of superheroes, arrives to take Jack home but Jack is not welcome on the island any more than he was in the orphanage. As he makes friends and enemies in this technologically amazing world, Jack must face the robot who tried to kill him and protect the Imagine Nation, but first he must understand himself.

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation is wildly imaginative, exploring a whole new world, yet it falls into the trap of so many sci-fi/fantasy booksit explains rather than reveals. The author doesnt gradually unfold the world for us; he throws entire narrative chunks at the reader. He offers the reader factoids that the main character cant possibly know and this spoils the illusion of discovery. The author has become so excited about the world hes created that he focuses on explaining it, instead of letting his character explore it.

On the other hand, plenty of excitement and action abound here. The comic book flavor and the empowering of a young man will appeal to a solid readership and might inspire non-readers to pick up the book. While not great literature, this book would make a fine read for boys who love comic books, detailed sci-fi/fantasy and the otherworldly.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Jaci Miller Reviewed by Jaci Miller October 26, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (45)

Comic book fantasy

Raised in an orphanage, Jack Blank doesnt know who he is or even his real name. The teachers and other students shun Jack but he finds solace in his secret stash of contraband comic books and his mysterious powers that just make things happen. Then a mysterious robot appears and tries to attack Jack, setting in motion an adventure Jack has never imaginedhis home is the Imagine Nation. Jazen, an emissary from this strange island of superheroes, arrives to take Jack home but Jack is not welcome on the island any more than he was in the orphanage. As he makes friends and enemies in this technologically amazing world, Jack must face the robot who tried to kill him and protect the Imagine Nation, but first he must understand himself.

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation is wildly imaginative, exploring a whole new world, yet it falls into the trap of so many sci-fi/fantasy booksit explains rather than reveals. The author doesnt gradually unfold the world for us; he throws entire narrative chunks at the reader. He offers the reader factoids that the main character cant possibly know and this spoils the illusion of discovery. The author has become so excited about the world hes created that he focuses on explaining it, instead of letting his character explore it.

On the other hand, plenty of excitement and action abound here. The comic book flavor and the empowering of a young man will appeal to a solid readership and might inspire non-readers to pick up the book. While not great literature, this book would make a fine read for boys who love comic books, detailed sci-fi/fantasy and the otherworldly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation is basically awesomesauce. I mean, we have killer robots, superheroes, orphans, a secret island, and SO much more.

First, we have Jack. He’s had a pretty miserable life at the orphanage, so when he finds out he has super powers and there’s a place where he belongs, he’s pretty ecstatic. But then he gets there and almost everyone in Imagine Nation hates him. Jack gets a little down at this, understandably, but he doesn’t give up. He pushes onward working to develop his powers and prove he’s not the person everyone thinks he is. Sure, he gets a little worked up and emotional sometimes, but he’s twelve so it’s pretty understandable. I don’t even think I could handle the type of stuff Jack does and I’m 20!

I’ve never really been into superheroes, but I still found them really fun to read about in Jack Blank. And there are so many different types! There’s everything from people with true super powers like flight and super-stretchiness to androids.

I really thought the pacing was great. There’s plenty of action and adventure with just the right amount of downtime in between for the perfect balance. Plus, there’s quite a few mysteries sprinkled in to keep you wondering about everything. Jack Blank does a good job of leaving you wanting a sequel yet still satisfied with the ending.

My one main problem with Jack Blank was the side characters. I’m hoping for a little more of all of them in the sequel. I feel like despite the fact that we could see growth in some of them they were still just background noise.

The Nutshell: If you like your middle grades full of action, mystery, superheroes, and plucky young heroes then Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation is for you.

Hit
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Jasmine Reviewed by Jasmine November 05, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (326)

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation (A Room with Books review)

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation is basically awesomesauce. I mean, we have killer robots, superheroes, orphans, a secret island, and SO much more.

First, we have Jack. He’s had a pretty miserable life at the orphanage, so when he finds out he has super powers and there’s a place where he belongs, he’s pretty ecstatic. But then he gets there and almost everyone in Imagine Nation hates him. Jack gets a little down at this, understandably, but he doesn’t give up. He pushes onward working to develop his powers and prove he’s not the person everyone thinks he is. Sure, he gets a little worked up and emotional sometimes, but he’s twelve so it’s pretty understandable. I don’t even think I could handle the type of stuff Jack does and I’m 20!

I’ve never really been into superheroes, but I still found them really fun to read about in Jack Blank. And there are so many different types! There’s everything from people with true super powers like flight and super-stretchiness to androids.

I really thought the pacing was great. There’s plenty of action and adventure with just the right amount of downtime in between for the perfect balance. Plus, there’s quite a few mysteries sprinkled in to keep you wondering about everything. Jack Blank does a good job of leaving you wanting a sequel yet still satisfied with the ending.

My one main problem with Jack Blank was the side characters. I’m hoping for a little more of all of them in the sequel. I feel like despite the fact that we could see growth in some of them they were still just background noise.

The Nutshell: If you like your middle grades full of action, mystery, superheroes, and plucky young heroes then Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation is for you.

Hit

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)