Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation (Jack Blank Adventure #1)

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation (Jack Blank Adventure #1)

 
3.0
 
4.0 (1)
2039   0
Write Review
Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation (Jack Blank Adventure #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
August 03, 2010
ISBN
1416995617
Buy This Book
      
Jack Blank is an orphan, abandoned from birth at bleak, dreary swampland St Barnaby’s Home for the Hopeless, Abandoned, Forgotten, and Lost. Covertly reading old comic books is Jack’s only solace, until a real Robo-Zombie attacks and emissary Jazen whisks him to a secret island country "the Imagine Nation". But the super-heroes fear him as a threat.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Comic book fantasy

Raised in an orphanage, Jack Blank doesnt know who he is or even his real name. The teachers and other students shun Jack but he finds solace in his secret stash of contraband comic books and his mysterious powers that just make things happen. Then a mysterious robot appears and tries to attack Jack, setting in motion an adventure Jack has never imaginedhis home is the Imagine Nation. Jazen, an emissary from this strange island of superheroes, arrives to take Jack home but Jack is not welcome on the island any more than he was in the orphanage. As he makes friends and enemies in this technologically amazing world, Jack must face the robot who tried to kill him and protect the Imagine Nation, but first he must understand himself.

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation is wildly imaginative, exploring a whole new world, yet it falls into the trap of so many sci-fi/fantasy booksit explains rather than reveals. The author doesnt gradually unfold the world for us; he throws entire narrative chunks at the reader. He offers the reader factoids that the main character cant possibly know and this spoils the illusion of discovery. The author has become so excited about the world hes created that he focuses on explaining it, instead of letting his character explore it.

On the other hand, plenty of excitement and action abound here. The comic book flavor and the empowering of a young man will appeal to a solid readership and might inspire non-readers to pick up the book. While not great literature, this book would make a fine read for boys who love comic books, detailed sci-fi/fantasy and the otherworldly.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation (A Room with Books review)

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation is basically awesomesauce. I mean, we have killer robots, superheroes, orphans, a secret island, and SO much more.

First, we have Jack. He’s had a pretty miserable life at the orphanage, so when he finds out he has super powers and there’s a place where he belongs, he’s pretty ecstatic. But then he gets there and almost everyone in Imagine Nation hates him. Jack gets a little down at this, understandably, but he doesn’t give up. He pushes onward working to develop his powers and prove he’s not the person everyone thinks he is. Sure, he gets a little worked up and emotional sometimes, but he’s twelve so it’s pretty understandable. I don’t even think I could handle the type of stuff Jack does and I’m 20!

I’ve never really been into superheroes, but I still found them really fun to read about in Jack Blank. And there are so many different types! There’s everything from people with true super powers like flight and super-stretchiness to androids.

I really thought the pacing was great. There’s plenty of action and adventure with just the right amount of downtime in between for the perfect balance. Plus, there’s quite a few mysteries sprinkled in to keep you wondering about everything. Jack Blank does a good job of leaving you wanting a sequel yet still satisfied with the ending.

My one main problem with Jack Blank was the side characters. I’m hoping for a little more of all of them in the sequel. I feel like despite the fact that we could see growth in some of them they were still just background noise.

The Nutshell: If you like your middle grades full of action, mystery, superheroes, and plucky young heroes then Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation is for you.

Hit

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."
How You Ruined My Life
 
4.7
"Rodney's father left, so he and his mother struggle to get by. When his well-to-do aunt and uncle decide to..."