Books Kids Fiction Girls Acting Catty (Annabelle Unleashed #2)

Girls Acting Catty (Annabelle Unleashed #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/47/2c/ce/girls-acting-catty-annabelle-unleashed-2-52-1409776303.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
905   0
Age Range
10+
Release Date
November 10, 2009
ISBN
1599902370
Buy This Book
      
What's harder to deal with than a group of boys who act like dogs? How about a clique of catty mean girls? Annabelle has just figured out how to survive in junior high school. She's made great friends, her teachers are nice, and she's got lots of tricks up her sleeve for taming those pesky boys. But now she and her friends must confront a whole new brand of headache-- the mean girl clique. At first Taylor and her friends were out to get Annabelle's bff Rachel, but soon the whole group is involved. Their friendship is getting tenser by the minute -- unless Annabelle can save the day again?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Rita Lorraine Hubbard, The Original H.I.R. (Historical Investigative Reporter)

Don't you just hate it when you're caught in the middle? That's exactly how Annabelle feels about being caught in the middle of sixth-grade girls acting too catty for words, in author Leslie Margolis hilarious book, Girls Acting Catty.

Annabelle's group is small, run-of-the-mill and mostly forgettable, but they're her friends, and she's happy with them. Happy, that is, until uber-popular Taylor, from a group known as Taylor and the Terrible T's, sets out to make Annabelle's group miserable.

Taylor is cruel and intense and loves to shine the spotlight on other people's physical flaws, like when she insinuates that Annabelle's friend Rachel should wear a paper bag over her head to hide her pimples. Annabelle can't believe how cruel Taylor is, and wants nothing to do with her...until Taylor takes a sudden liking to her, that is.

Taylor begins talking to Annabelle, and although Rachel and her other friends don't like it, Annabelle doesn't see a problem. Even when Rachelle reminds her of all the mean and sneaky things Taylor has done, Annabelle doesn't listen. She falls right into Taylor's trap, and doesn't figure out that Taylor is just using her until she loses her own friends and Taylor's fickled group in the process.

Girls Acting Catty is a wonderful book. Margolis uses skill, humor and sensitivity to handle peer pressure, bullying, first bra's, put-down's, and even hopeless crushes in this delightful sequel to her 2008 Bloomsbury title, Boys are Dogs. And yes, Annabelle has a crush. Only it's not a crush on any of the boys in her own class. It's on her future-stepbrother, 20-year old college hunk Jason, of all people!

Whatever you do, you can't miss this coming-of-age book that is both sensitive and laugh-out-loud funny.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader July 14, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Girls Acting Catty

Reader reviewed by Rita Lorraine Hubbard, The Original H.I.R. (Historical Investigative Reporter)

Don't you just hate it when you're caught in the middle? That's exactly how Annabelle feels about being caught in the middle of sixth-grade girls acting too catty for words, in author Leslie Margolis hilarious book, Girls Acting Catty.

Annabelle's group is small, run-of-the-mill and mostly forgettable, but they're her friends, and she's happy with them. Happy, that is, until uber-popular Taylor, from a group known as Taylor and the Terrible T's, sets out to make Annabelle's group miserable.

Taylor is cruel and intense and loves to shine the spotlight on other people's physical flaws, like when she insinuates that Annabelle's friend Rachel should wear a paper bag over her head to hide her pimples. Annabelle can't believe how cruel Taylor is, and wants nothing to do with her...until Taylor takes a sudden liking to her, that is.

Taylor begins talking to Annabelle, and although Rachel and her other friends don't like it, Annabelle doesn't see a problem. Even when Rachelle reminds her of all the mean and sneaky things Taylor has done, Annabelle doesn't listen. She falls right into Taylor's trap, and doesn't figure out that Taylor is just using her until she loses her own friends and Taylor's fickled group in the process.

Girls Acting Catty is a wonderful book. Margolis uses skill, humor and sensitivity to handle peer pressure, bullying, first bra's, put-down's, and even hopeless crushes in this delightful sequel to her 2008 Bloomsbury title, Boys are Dogs. And yes, Annabelle has a crush. Only it's not a crush on any of the boys in her own class. It's on her future-stepbrother, 20-year old college hunk Jason, of all people!

Whatever you do, you can't miss this coming-of-age book that is both sensitive and laugh-out-loud funny.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)