Girls Acting Catty (Annabelle Unleashed #2)

Girls Acting Catty (Annabelle Unleashed #2)

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
1534   0
Write Review
Girls Acting Catty (Annabelle Unleashed #2)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
November 10, 2009
ISBN
1599902370
Buy This Book
      
What's harder to deal with than a group of boys who act like dogs? How about a clique of catty mean girls? Annabelle has just figured out how to survive in junior high school. She's made great friends, her teachers are nice, and she's got lots of tricks up her sleeve for taming those pesky boys. But now she and her friends must confront a whole new brand of headache-- the mean girl clique. At first Taylor and her friends were out to get Annabelle's bff Rachel, but soon the whole group is involved. Their friendship is getting tenser by the minute -- unless Annabelle can save the day again?

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Girls Acting Catty

Reader reviewed by Rita Lorraine Hubbard, The Original H.I.R. (Historical Investigative Reporter)

Don't you just hate it when you're caught in the middle? That's exactly how Annabelle feels about being caught in the middle of sixth-grade girls acting too catty for words, in author Leslie Margolis hilarious book, Girls Acting Catty.

Annabelle's group is small, run-of-the-mill and mostly forgettable, but they're her friends, and she's happy with them. Happy, that is, until uber-popular Taylor, from a group known as Taylor and the Terrible T's, sets out to make Annabelle's group miserable.

Taylor is cruel and intense and loves to shine the spotlight on other people's physical flaws, like when she insinuates that Annabelle's friend Rachel should wear a paper bag over her head to hide her pimples. Annabelle can't believe how cruel Taylor is, and wants nothing to do with her...until Taylor takes a sudden liking to her, that is.

Taylor begins talking to Annabelle, and although Rachel and her other friends don't like it, Annabelle doesn't see a problem. Even when Rachelle reminds her of all the mean and sneaky things Taylor has done, Annabelle doesn't listen. She falls right into Taylor's trap, and doesn't figure out that Taylor is just using her until she loses her own friends and Taylor's fickled group in the process.

Girls Acting Catty is a wonderful book. Margolis uses skill, humor and sensitivity to handle peer pressure, bullying, first bra's, put-down's, and even hopeless crushes in this delightful sequel to her 2008 Bloomsbury title, Boys are Dogs. And yes, Annabelle has a crush. Only it's not a crush on any of the boys in her own class. It's on her future-stepbrother, 20-year old college hunk Jason, of all people!

Whatever you do, you can't miss this coming-of-age book that is both sensitive and laugh-out-loud funny.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

25664625.jpg
Little Red is on her way to visit Auntie Rosie...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
27210475.jpg
For fans of Fancy Nancy, Ladybug Girl, and Chu’s First...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cake Pop Crush
Alicia Ramirez has always loved baking. Her family owns Say...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Still a Gorilla
Will Willy be another type of animal? No! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Please Say Please
How do you ask for what you'd like? Do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat's Got Class
New York Times bestselling author and artist James Dean brings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
***Finalist in the National Indie Excellence Awards for Young...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Icarus
Daedelum's children pray for the honor of being chosen...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Run
Run
Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lost-in-Wonderland-evernightpublishing-JayAheer2016-smallpreview.jpg
Monsters, serial killers, and imaginary friends—being a Wonderlander can...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
P.S. I Like You
Signed, sealed, delivered... While spacing out in Chemistry class,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)