Girls Acting Catty (Annabelle Unleashed #2)

Girls Acting Catty (Annabelle Unleashed #2)

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
1315   0
Write Review
Girls Acting Catty (Annabelle Unleashed #2)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
November 10, 2009
ISBN
1599902370
Buy This Book
      
What's harder to deal with than a group of boys who act like dogs? How about a clique of catty mean girls? Annabelle has just figured out how to survive in junior high school. She's made great friends, her teachers are nice, and she's got lots of tricks up her sleeve for taming those pesky boys. But now she and her friends must confront a whole new brand of headache-- the mean girl clique. At first Taylor and her friends were out to get Annabelle's bff Rachel, but soon the whole group is involved. Their friendship is getting tenser by the minute -- unless Annabelle can save the day again?

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Girls Acting Catty

Reader reviewed by Rita Lorraine Hubbard, The Original H.I.R. (Historical Investigative Reporter)

Don't you just hate it when you're caught in the middle? That's exactly how Annabelle feels about being caught in the middle of sixth-grade girls acting too catty for words, in author Leslie Margolis hilarious book, Girls Acting Catty.

Annabelle's group is small, run-of-the-mill and mostly forgettable, but they're her friends, and she's happy with them. Happy, that is, until uber-popular Taylor, from a group known as Taylor and the Terrible T's, sets out to make Annabelle's group miserable.

Taylor is cruel and intense and loves to shine the spotlight on other people's physical flaws, like when she insinuates that Annabelle's friend Rachel should wear a paper bag over her head to hide her pimples. Annabelle can't believe how cruel Taylor is, and wants nothing to do with her...until Taylor takes a sudden liking to her, that is.

Taylor begins talking to Annabelle, and although Rachel and her other friends don't like it, Annabelle doesn't see a problem. Even when Rachelle reminds her of all the mean and sneaky things Taylor has done, Annabelle doesn't listen. She falls right into Taylor's trap, and doesn't figure out that Taylor is just using her until she loses her own friends and Taylor's fickled group in the process.

Girls Acting Catty is a wonderful book. Margolis uses skill, humor and sensitivity to handle peer pressure, bullying, first bra's, put-down's, and even hopeless crushes in this delightful sequel to her 2008 Bloomsbury title, Boys are Dogs. And yes, Annabelle has a crush. Only it's not a crush on any of the boys in her own class. It's on her future-stepbrother, 20-year old college hunk Jason, of all people!

Whatever you do, you can't miss this coming-of-age book that is both sensitive and laugh-out-loud funny.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

     

 

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
mister max.jpg
In Act III of Newbery Medalist Cynthia Voigt’s Mister Max...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macbeth #killingit (OMG Shakespeare series)
Macbeth, one of the greatest stories ever told . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)