The Nutcracker

The Nutcracker

 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
751   0
Write Review
The Nutcracker
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
October 01, 2003
ISBN
081184837X
Buy This Book
      
Adventure, fantasy, romance ... a world full of toys and sweets ... and, of course, Christmas—these are the hallmarks of this timeless story, brought theatrically to life by one of America's favorite illustrators. It is the unforgettable dream of a peculiar Christmas gift—a nutcracker that leads a young girl into a magical realm, where she boldly helps save a boy living under an evil curse. This elegant retelling combines E. T. A. Hoffman's original version with beloved elements of the ballet in a readable picture book format. Michael Hague, celebrated for his lavish interpretations of classics, now makes this tale accessible to a new generation. From the sweeping drama of the battle scene to the magnificent illusions of rich, draped fabrics, every detail will be cherished.

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Cherished Gift

Reader reviewed by Linda Johnson

     One year at a large Christmas celebration a boy and girl received special gifts from their godfather who came to visit.
     The girl received a doll that was a nutcracker. She loved her gift. Her godfather told them a tale about it.
     She didn' t want her brother to play with the nutcracker out of fear that he would break it. Her brother, Fritz, tried to crack a nut and broke it.
     The nutcracker was placed in a cupboard of toys.
     Marie, the girl, went downstairs in the night to sleep by the cupboard. She had a dream in the night with the nutcracker in it.
     The next day she woke up to see her mother who found her asleep by the toy cupboard.
     Her godfather came to visit to mend the toy. He brought his nephew with him.
     Many years later Marie married Frederick, her godfather' s nephew.
     This is a famous story. It is special that a heartbroken girl can become a happy girl again. She cherished her gift that was given to her by their godfather.
     Children would like this book. They like storytelling. The tale from the godfather and Marie' s dream would be of interest to them.
     Teens would like to read a famous story.
     Storytelling can be intertwined with a dream and become a lesson learned in life.
     Love can be beautiful in feeling with special items or a look in one' s eyes. A doll that is not handsome can be loved as a special gift.
     A terrible story can be a terrible dream.
     Sadness can be helped to become happiness.
     This is a good story about a gift for a child and things that can happen when a toy is shared. Excitement ensues and things happen that can be remedied.
     Love can be shattered and then be brought back again.
     This story is written in the order that it happened. It is a flowing story.
     The book is valuable in a lesson learned through sharing a toy. It has a tale told by the godfather and a dream in relation to it. The girl finds happiness in the end.
     I have known of The Nutcracker as a famous story. I have seen advertisements of The Nutcracker as a ballet.
     I have had toys come and go with age. I had special toys and shared all of them. I still have memories of them. I have known of special toys to others and shared them.
     The author' s work is deserving of a standing ovation. He has illustrated more than twenty children' s classics.
     The story is very famous. I have read many good stories recommended by others, because they are famous and because the title looks good.
     I like the book. I like reading about tales. Dreams are an added interest. I am interested in famous works. This was a short story to read. It didn' t take long. It was interesting.
    

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Cherished Gift

Reader reviewed by Linda Johnson

     One year at a large Christmas celebration a boy and girl received special gifts from their godfather who came to visit.
     The girl received a doll that was a nutcracker. She loved her gift. Her godfather told them a tale about it.
     She didn' t want her brother to play with the nutcracker out of fear that he would break it. Her brother, Fritz, tried to crack a nut and broke it.
     The nutcracker was placed in a cupboard of toys.
     Marie, the girl, went downstairs in the night to sleep by the cupboard. She had a dream in the night with the nutcracker in it.
     The next day she woke up to see her mother who found her asleep by the toy cupboard.
     Her godfather came to visit to mend the toy. He brought his nephew with him.
     Many years later Marie married Frederick, her godfather' s nephew.
     This is a famous story. It is special that a heartbroken girl can become a happy girl again. She cherished her gift that was given to her by their godfather.
     Children would like this book. They like storytelling. The tale from the godfather and Marie' s dream would be of interest to them.
     Teens would like to read a famous story.
     Storytelling can be intertwined with a dream and become a lesson learned in life.
     Love can be beautiful in feeling with special items or a look in one' s eyes. A doll that is not handsome can be loved as a special gift.
     A terrible story can be a terrible dream.
     Sadness can be helped to become happiness.
     This is a good story about a gift for a child and things that can happen when a toy is shared. Excitement ensues and things happen that can be remedied.
     Love can be shattered and then be brought back again.
     This story is written in the order that it happened. It is a flowing story.
     The book is valuable in a lesson learned through sharing a toy. It has a tale told by the godfather and a dream in relation to it. The girl finds happiness in the end.
     I have known of The Nutcracker as a famous story. I have seen advertisements of The Nutcracker as a ballet.
     I have had toys come and go with age. I had special toys and shared all of them. I still have memories of them. I have known of special toys to others and shared them.
     The author' s work is deserving of a standing ovation. He has illustrated more than twenty children' s classics.
     The story is very famous. I have read many good stories recommended by others, because they are famous and because the title looks good.
     I like the book. I like reading about tales. Dreams are an added interest. I am interested in famous works. This was a short story to read. It didn' t take long. It was interesting.
    

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)