Books Kids Fiction Rise of the Darklings (The Invisible Order #1)

Rise of the Darklings (The Invisible Order #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/9a/52/18/rise-of-the-darklings-the-invisible-order-1-83-1374511163.jpg
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
467   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 28, 2010
ISBN
1606840312
Buy This Book
      
Emily Snow is twelve years old, supporting herself and her younger brother on the streets of Victorian England by selling watercress. One early winter morning on her way to buy supplies, she encounters a piskie--a small but very sarcastic fey creature that has been cornered by a group of the Black Sidhe, piskies from an opposing clan. She rescues him and unknowingly becomes involved in a war between the Seelie and the Unseelie, two opposing factions of fairies that have been battling each other throughout the long centuries of human history, with London--and England itself--as the ultimate prize. When the Invisible Order--a centuries-old secret society of humans that has protected mankind from the fey's interference--gets involved, things really start to get complicated. Now she is the central figure in this ancient war that could permanently change Earth. With no one to trust, Emily must rely on her own instincts and guile to make the right choices that could save her family and all of mankind.

Editor reviews

Can I just say Im becoming a big fan of Egmont books? Whats not to love? And the next upcoming fantasy THE INVISIBLE ORDER only adds to a growing line of must read books.

Twelve-year-old Emily is left to raise her younger brother Will after both of her parents disappear. One day, on the way to work, she happens to witness a battle between faeries. Then everything disappears. She thinks shes imaging things until two men come to her place demanding to know what she saw. Add to that a destiny that involves Christopher Wren, Merlin, and a centuries old feud. Emily doesnt know who to trust in a battle that will involve her and those she loves.

I loved this faery tale! Right at the very beginning I was swept away to a Victorian world where the world of faery exists along with ours. The images and details are vivid with an assortment of characters that are unforgettable. I love the whole Victorian world atmosphere existing next to the haunting world of the fey. The concept of an invisible order, those who are sworn to protect humans from faeries was intriguing. Mr. Ravenhills character fascinated me. A page turning tale guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat! I know it did for me!

Those who love fantasies with a spunky heroine who helps solves century old mysteries will enjoy this book. I cant wait for the next book in the series.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

New page turning trilogy

Can I just say Im becoming a big fan of Egmont books? Whats not to love? And the next upcoming fantasy THE INVISIBLE ORDER only adds to a growing line of must read books.

Twelve-year-old Emily is left to raise her younger brother Will after both of her parents disappear. One day, on the way to work, she happens to witness a battle between faeries. Then everything disappears. She thinks shes imaging things until two men come to her place demanding to know what she saw. Add to that a destiny that involves Christopher Wren, Merlin, and a centuries old feud. Emily doesnt know who to trust in a battle that will involve her and those she loves.

I loved this faery tale! Right at the very beginning I was swept away to a Victorian world where the world of faery exists along with ours. The images and details are vivid with an assortment of characters that are unforgettable. I love the whole Victorian world atmosphere existing next to the haunting world of the fey. The concept of an invisible order, those who are sworn to protect humans from faeries was intriguing. Mr. Ravenhills character fascinated me. A page turning tale guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat! I know it did for me!

Those who love fantasies with a spunky heroine who helps solves century old mysteries will enjoy this book. I cant wait for the next book in the series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Rise of the Darklings was a light read I'd recommend for anyone ages 8+. It was definitely a children's book, not because of writing or anything like that but just because the story was a little young. But I still enjoyed it.

All of the characters complimented each other very well, especially Jack and Emily. At times I didn't really feel a connection with Emily, our main character, but Jack was easy to love. He was easily my favorite character. He and Emily are perfect for each other!

The author had me guessing until the very end. I really didn't know who Emily could trust. At first, I thought it was the Queen Kelindra but then I was like, she can't. Then I thought, oh the Dagda. And then I was thinking, well maybe it's the Invisible Order.... I must say that I was instantly drawn to Sebastian. Forgive me, I can't remember who he was but if you read the book then you will.... *hint hint*

Paul Crilley did a good job building his world and I enjoyed the different pixies and gnomes. Corrigan was definately a favorite. (Oh, there's another reason you have to read it because I'm not telling you who he is. And I remember this character.) Over all, a good book but I'd recommend it predominantly for children ages 8-12 and younger if they can read well enough.

I actually went out and bought the second book and have been thinking of finally reading it. So keep an eye out for my review of the The Fire King.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Stephanie Reviewed by Stephanie March 29, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Good Middle Grade Book

Rise of the Darklings was a light read I'd recommend for anyone ages 8+. It was definitely a children's book, not because of writing or anything like that but just because the story was a little young. But I still enjoyed it.

All of the characters complimented each other very well, especially Jack and Emily. At times I didn't really feel a connection with Emily, our main character, but Jack was easy to love. He was easily my favorite character. He and Emily are perfect for each other!

The author had me guessing until the very end. I really didn't know who Emily could trust. At first, I thought it was the Queen Kelindra but then I was like, she can't. Then I thought, oh the Dagda. And then I was thinking, well maybe it's the Invisible Order.... I must say that I was instantly drawn to Sebastian. Forgive me, I can't remember who he was but if you read the book then you will.... *hint hint*

Paul Crilley did a good job building his world and I enjoyed the different pixies and gnomes. Corrigan was definately a favorite. (Oh, there's another reason you have to read it because I'm not telling you who he is. And I remember this character.) Over all, a good book but I'd recommend it predominantly for children ages 8-12 and younger if they can read well enough.

I actually went out and bought the second book and have been thinking of finally reading it. So keep an eye out for my review of the The Fire King.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)