Books Kids Fiction Rise of the Darklings (The Invisible Order #1)

Rise of the Darklings (The Invisible Order #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/9a/52/18/rise-of-the-darklings-the-invisible-order-1-83-1374511163.jpg
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
517   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 28, 2010
ISBN
1606840312
Buy This Book
      
Emily Snow is twelve years old, supporting herself and her younger brother on the streets of Victorian England by selling watercress. One early winter morning on her way to buy supplies, she encounters a piskie--a small but very sarcastic fey creature that has been cornered by a group of the Black Sidhe, piskies from an opposing clan. She rescues him and unknowingly becomes involved in a war between the Seelie and the Unseelie, two opposing factions of fairies that have been battling each other throughout the long centuries of human history, with London--and England itself--as the ultimate prize. When the Invisible Order--a centuries-old secret society of humans that has protected mankind from the fey's interference--gets involved, things really start to get complicated. Now she is the central figure in this ancient war that could permanently change Earth. With no one to trust, Emily must rely on her own instincts and guile to make the right choices that could save her family and all of mankind.

Editor reviews

Can I just say Im becoming a big fan of Egmont books? Whats not to love? And the next upcoming fantasy THE INVISIBLE ORDER only adds to a growing line of must read books.

Twelve-year-old Emily is left to raise her younger brother Will after both of her parents disappear. One day, on the way to work, she happens to witness a battle between faeries. Then everything disappears. She thinks shes imaging things until two men come to her place demanding to know what she saw. Add to that a destiny that involves Christopher Wren, Merlin, and a centuries old feud. Emily doesnt know who to trust in a battle that will involve her and those she loves.

I loved this faery tale! Right at the very beginning I was swept away to a Victorian world where the world of faery exists along with ours. The images and details are vivid with an assortment of characters that are unforgettable. I love the whole Victorian world atmosphere existing next to the haunting world of the fey. The concept of an invisible order, those who are sworn to protect humans from faeries was intriguing. Mr. Ravenhills character fascinated me. A page turning tale guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat! I know it did for me!

Those who love fantasies with a spunky heroine who helps solves century old mysteries will enjoy this book. I cant wait for the next book in the series.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

New page turning trilogy

Can I just say Im becoming a big fan of Egmont books? Whats not to love? And the next upcoming fantasy THE INVISIBLE ORDER only adds to a growing line of must read books.

Twelve-year-old Emily is left to raise her younger brother Will after both of her parents disappear. One day, on the way to work, she happens to witness a battle between faeries. Then everything disappears. She thinks shes imaging things until two men come to her place demanding to know what she saw. Add to that a destiny that involves Christopher Wren, Merlin, and a centuries old feud. Emily doesnt know who to trust in a battle that will involve her and those she loves.

I loved this faery tale! Right at the very beginning I was swept away to a Victorian world where the world of faery exists along with ours. The images and details are vivid with an assortment of characters that are unforgettable. I love the whole Victorian world atmosphere existing next to the haunting world of the fey. The concept of an invisible order, those who are sworn to protect humans from faeries was intriguing. Mr. Ravenhills character fascinated me. A page turning tale guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat! I know it did for me!

Those who love fantasies with a spunky heroine who helps solves century old mysteries will enjoy this book. I cant wait for the next book in the series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Rise of the Darklings was a light read I'd recommend for anyone ages 8+. It was definitely a children's book, not because of writing or anything like that but just because the story was a little young. But I still enjoyed it.

All of the characters complimented each other very well, especially Jack and Emily. At times I didn't really feel a connection with Emily, our main character, but Jack was easy to love. He was easily my favorite character. He and Emily are perfect for each other!

The author had me guessing until the very end. I really didn't know who Emily could trust. At first, I thought it was the Queen Kelindra but then I was like, she can't. Then I thought, oh the Dagda. And then I was thinking, well maybe it's the Invisible Order.... I must say that I was instantly drawn to Sebastian. Forgive me, I can't remember who he was but if you read the book then you will.... *hint hint*

Paul Crilley did a good job building his world and I enjoyed the different pixies and gnomes. Corrigan was definately a favorite. (Oh, there's another reason you have to read it because I'm not telling you who he is. And I remember this character.) Over all, a good book but I'd recommend it predominantly for children ages 8-12 and younger if they can read well enough.

I actually went out and bought the second book and have been thinking of finally reading it. So keep an eye out for my review of the The Fire King.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Stephanie Reviewed by Stephanie March 29, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Good Middle Grade Book

Rise of the Darklings was a light read I'd recommend for anyone ages 8+. It was definitely a children's book, not because of writing or anything like that but just because the story was a little young. But I still enjoyed it.

All of the characters complimented each other very well, especially Jack and Emily. At times I didn't really feel a connection with Emily, our main character, but Jack was easy to love. He was easily my favorite character. He and Emily are perfect for each other!

The author had me guessing until the very end. I really didn't know who Emily could trust. At first, I thought it was the Queen Kelindra but then I was like, she can't. Then I thought, oh the Dagda. And then I was thinking, well maybe it's the Invisible Order.... I must say that I was instantly drawn to Sebastian. Forgive me, I can't remember who he was but if you read the book then you will.... *hint hint*

Paul Crilley did a good job building his world and I enjoyed the different pixies and gnomes. Corrigan was definately a favorite. (Oh, there's another reason you have to read it because I'm not telling you who he is. And I remember this character.) Over all, a good book but I'd recommend it predominantly for children ages 8-12 and younger if they can read well enough.

I actually went out and bought the second book and have been thinking of finally reading it. So keep an eye out for my review of the The Fire King.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)