The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1)

The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1)

 
0.0
 
3.9 (4)
1773   1
Write Review
The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 22, 2007
ISBN
0385736002
Buy This Book
      
He holds the secret that can end the world.

The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330. Nearly 700 years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life.

The records show that he died in 1418.

But his tomb is empty.

The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects—the Book of Abraham the Mage. It's the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That's exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won't know what's happening until it's too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it.

Sometimes legends are true.

And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.9
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.8  (4)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0

Legends Into The Modern Day

I loved this book! From the references to classic myths, the incorporation of legendary characters and the unique take on magic all made up made up a fun read. I loved the twins and their roles in the story along with their individual personalities. Dee was a full developed villain which made it easy to understand him yet still hate him as 'The Villain'. And there's a living tree building!

You read from the perspective of Sophie, Josh, Perenelle, Dree and even Nicholas. This may sound confusing but it actually makes the story even fuller. I can't wait to read the rest the of the series!

Good Points
Mythological references, good characters & good pacing
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Sometimes Legends are True...

This is a great book, that brings together all the legends and gods from lots of different cultures and times. It makes this book very original, and I think that this book took a lot of thought, but it isn't one of those where the idea is overthinked (is that a word?).

This story is about two twins, Josh and Sophie Newman, who are in San Francisco for the summer and have summer jobs. Josh has his job in a bookstore owned by a very nice man and his wife, Nick and Perry Fleming.

One day, when they were both just in the wrong place at the wrong time, their ordinary lives were changed forever, and they discovered that a lot worse can happen to you than getting an F on your exam. They discovered that Nick and Perry Fleming were actually Nicholas and Perenel Flamel, two immortal people who have been living since 1330. Sophie and Josh were dragged into a world full of Dark Elders and magic and auras and the like.

During this book, I had quite a few cases of JOSH WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU YOU IDIOT! but maybe that's just me.

But even though it made me want to go into the book, find Josh and punch him, I like that Michael Scott made him jealous of Sophie. It seemed very realistic, especially the fact that Dr John Dee (the supreme evil guy) picked up on this and started twisting Josh to his own ends. This seemed very likely to happen, because who wouldn't be jealous if your twin, who had been with you your whole life, suddenly got superpowers and you didn't? Still, Josh was an idiot.

This book is really great, with a very interesting plot and idea. I recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy set in the modern world and is between the ages of 10 - 14.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Legend

This book brings together gods and goddess from many religions, both dead and alive, history from long dead cultures and modern fiction to create a marvelous work of fantasy. I think that Michael Scott must of done some research so he could get the Elders right, but then he adapted from their to create his own work like no other.

I think that this story was fast as in the way that the writing seemed to me to be a bit rushed. I also got a bit confused in some parts but I think that was just me, as I might of been reading it to fast, and missing some parts.

I thought that this would be a bit more like Harry Potter as it was based on it. Nicholas Flamel was in the Harry Potter series, so I thought the magic would be more similar, and there might even be references to Dumbledore, as they were meant to be close. But there was not. I think Michael Scott might of stole the idea, and then did not relate back to Harry Potter, this is both good and bad in some ways.

I liked the idea of Josh's jealousy with his twin Sophie. That would happen to anyone, and I liked how the author made Dr. John Dee saw that and tried to use it to his advantage. This concept was really realistic, as anyone would get jealous if their twin had super powers and you did not. The author made this work really well, and I think he can use it on in later books.

This book has an interesting idea, and anyone who likes fantasy set in the modern world with twist from the past would fall in love with this book. That is if you are between the ages 8-14!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

History and Fiction Unite for a Tale of Fantasy!

Reader reviewed by GRgenius

Sophie and Josh Newman are twins.  They've been together their whole lives and don't want that to stop anytime soon.  Seeking to further their independence together, they retain jobs at two local establishment run by Nicolas Flamel and his wife Perry (Perrenelle).  As a bookshop owner and coffee house keeper, their lives seem quiet enough and the pay adequate enough to move along these two youngsters.  Little did they know the adventure that lies in wait of their arrival.  You see, this couple, seemingly quaint and ordinary, has been living for hundreds of years thanks to the spells within the Codex.  Their limited use has kept them in good health and the book protected...until now.  John Dee is an immortal that will stop at nothing to ge this hands on the Codex.  You see, he has bigger and nastier bosses to answer to than his own whims.  Can Nicolas keep the Codex safe?  What of the twins?  How are they to fight in a war that has been raging for centuries between immortal beings when they are simply teenagers themselves?

You'll have to read on to find out!  Number one in a series of 3 (thus far), you can be certain that their tale will have you turning the page for more....happy reading!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."
How You Ruined My Life
 
4.7
"Rodney's father left, so he and his mother struggle to get by. When his well-to-do aunt and uncle decide to..."
Zombie Abbey
 
4.0
"It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"i really loved this book, the plot and the characters. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the..."
Kat and Meg Conquer the World
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: The course of friendship, like love, doesn’t run smoothly. Epcot at Disney World nearly broke up my..."