Splat the Cat

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
514   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
ISBN
0060831545
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

This Cat Schooled Me!

Reader reviewed by Julie M. Prince

SPLAT THE CAT made me smile before I even opened the book. Who could resist the appearance of textured fur on Splat that makes readers want to reach out and pet him? And Seymour, Splats pet mouse, is the perfect sidekick for Splats adventure: his first day of Cat School. But Splat is paralyzed by thoughts of the unknown. What will school be like?

Preschool aged children who are curious about big school will find their fears addressed and assuaged in this fantastically funny book with an engaging (and curious) protagonist.

Rob Scotton does an excellent job of marrying his text and illustrations, with my favorite page being the trip to school, during which Splat exclaims, The gate wont let go of my fingers, Mom with an accompanying picture that shows Splat clinging desperately to the front gate.

Bright colors offset grayscale images to draw reader attention exactly where this author/illustrator wants it to travel. For a book with humorous appeal that will have young readers returning again and again, check this one out!

Off to turn another page&.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)