Splat the Cat

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
587   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
ISBN
0060831545
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

This Cat Schooled Me!

Reader reviewed by Julie M. Prince

SPLAT THE CAT made me smile before I even opened the book. Who could resist the appearance of textured fur on Splat that makes readers want to reach out and pet him? And Seymour, Splats pet mouse, is the perfect sidekick for Splats adventure: his first day of Cat School. But Splat is paralyzed by thoughts of the unknown. What will school be like?

Preschool aged children who are curious about big school will find their fears addressed and assuaged in this fantastically funny book with an engaging (and curious) protagonist.

Rob Scotton does an excellent job of marrying his text and illustrations, with my favorite page being the trip to school, during which Splat exclaims, The gate wont let go of my fingers, Mom with an accompanying picture that shows Splat clinging desperately to the front gate.

Bright colors offset grayscale images to draw reader attention exactly where this author/illustrator wants it to travel. For a book with humorous appeal that will have young readers returning again and again, check this one out!

Off to turn another page&.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

25664625.jpg
Little Red is on her way to visit Auntie Rosie...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
27210475.jpg
For fans of Fancy Nancy, Ladybug Girl, and Chu’s First...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cake Pop Crush
Alicia Ramirez has always loved baking. Her family owns Say...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Still a Gorilla
Will Willy be another type of animal? No! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Please Say Please
How do you ask for what you'd like? Do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat's Got Class
New York Times bestselling author and artist James Dean brings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
***Finalist in the National Indie Excellence Awards for Young...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Icarus
Daedelum's children pray for the honor of being chosen...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Run
Run
Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lost-in-Wonderland-evernightpublishing-JayAheer2016-smallpreview.jpg
Monsters, serial killers, and imaginary friends—being a Wonderlander can...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
P.S. I Like You
Signed, sealed, delivered... While spacing out in Chemistry class,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)