Books Kids Fiction Outcast (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness #4)

Outcast (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness #4)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f4/ae/22/6682_2179020-1349236421.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
475   1
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 06, 2007
ISBN
9781842551738
Buy This Book
      
A thrilling story of friendship, survival, and the need to belong.

For two moons Torak has hidden a terrible secret—and now it is revealed. He bears the mark of the Soul-Eater, and must pay the price. Cast out from the clans, he is alone and on the run: cut off from his best friend, Renn, and his beloved pack-brother, Wolf.

He flees to the haunted reed-beds of Lake Axehead, where he is hunted by the Otter Clan, taunted by the Hidden People, and, as soul-sickness claims him, he falls prey to an even greater menace. Tormented by secrets and broken trust, he uncovers a deception that will turn his world upside down.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Outcast is a thrilling story of survival, friendship and the need to belong. In this book Torak has hidden the mark of the Soul Eaters for two moons and when Aki of Boar Clan sees it, Torak is casted out by all of the clans. On the run, Torak must survive by himself while being hunted by the Clans and the Soul Eaters. He flees to Lake Axehead where he is hunted by the Otter Clan, taunted by the Hidden People and falls to soul-sickness when he falls prey to an even greater menace. Full of secrets and broken trusts, Outcast is the best of the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness that I have read so far.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Casog Reviewed by Casog March 24, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (261)

A thrilling read

Outcast is a thrilling story of survival, friendship and the need to belong. In this book Torak has hidden the mark of the Soul Eaters for two moons and when Aki of Boar Clan sees it, Torak is casted out by all of the clans. On the run, Torak must survive by himself while being hunted by the Clans and the Soul Eaters. He flees to Lake Axehead where he is hunted by the Otter Clan, taunted by the Hidden People and falls to soul-sickness when he falls prey to an even greater menace. Full of secrets and broken trusts, Outcast is the best of the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness that I have read so far.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by EshInoBi

This is by far my favourite books in this series. Torak is torn from Raven Clan and feels he cannot trust anyone. It is revealed that he bears the mark of the soul eaters, and he is given a while to try to escape, but then after that, everyone who sees him, has to kill him, or risk-get-execution. Torak becomes savage and doesn't recognize anything. He even starts to not be able to understand Wolf, his wolf friend that he's been friends-his guide- ever since Torak's father died. Torak runs far, avoiding others trying to kill him. One person swore to his father to kill him, and Torak doesn't know what he's become when he ignores him dying. Renn heals him, and he realizes that if he had told Renn earlier, they could have cut out the mark, but it wasn't the season anymore. I felt really bad for Torak at this part. Healed by Renn, they arrive at a cave while Renn is out. Seshru, Renn's mother, tries to kill them, including Renn. In the end, Finn-Kedin adopts him, saying that killing Torak will not do anything to help their issue with the soul eaters.

I love this book, and I fell in love with Torak's life! I couldn't believe that anyone could be cast out for just bearing a mark, I found that cruel, for it wasn't his fault! You'll enjoy this book as I did, everyone!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader June 08, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

SoulSick

Reader reviewed by EshInoBi

This is by far my favourite books in this series. Torak is torn from Raven Clan and feels he cannot trust anyone. It is revealed that he bears the mark of the soul eaters, and he is given a while to try to escape, but then after that, everyone who sees him, has to kill him, or risk-get-execution. Torak becomes savage and doesn't recognize anything. He even starts to not be able to understand Wolf, his wolf friend that he's been friends-his guide- ever since Torak's father died. Torak runs far, avoiding others trying to kill him. One person swore to his father to kill him, and Torak doesn't know what he's become when he ignores him dying. Renn heals him, and he realizes that if he had told Renn earlier, they could have cut out the mark, but it wasn't the season anymore. I felt really bad for Torak at this part. Healed by Renn, they arrive at a cave while Renn is out. Seshru, Renn's mother, tries to kill them, including Renn. In the end, Finn-Kedin adopts him, saying that killing Torak will not do anything to help their issue with the soul eaters.

I love this book, and I fell in love with Torak's life! I couldn't believe that anyone could be cast out for just bearing a mark, I found that cruel, for it wasn't his fault! You'll enjoy this book as I did, everyone!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)