Books Kids Fiction Outcast (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness #4)

Outcast (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness #4)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f4/ae/22/6682_2179020-1349236421.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
536   1
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 06, 2007
ISBN
9781842551738
Buy This Book
      
A thrilling story of friendship, survival, and the need to belong.

For two moons Torak has hidden a terrible secret—and now it is revealed. He bears the mark of the Soul-Eater, and must pay the price. Cast out from the clans, he is alone and on the run: cut off from his best friend, Renn, and his beloved pack-brother, Wolf.

He flees to the haunted reed-beds of Lake Axehead, where he is hunted by the Otter Clan, taunted by the Hidden People, and, as soul-sickness claims him, he falls prey to an even greater menace. Tormented by secrets and broken trust, he uncovers a deception that will turn his world upside down.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Outcast is a thrilling story of survival, friendship and the need to belong. In this book Torak has hidden the mark of the Soul Eaters for two moons and when Aki of Boar Clan sees it, Torak is casted out by all of the clans. On the run, Torak must survive by himself while being hunted by the Clans and the Soul Eaters. He flees to Lake Axehead where he is hunted by the Otter Clan, taunted by the Hidden People and falls to soul-sickness when he falls prey to an even greater menace. Full of secrets and broken trusts, Outcast is the best of the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness that I have read so far.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Casog Reviewed by Casog March 24, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (261)

A thrilling read

Outcast is a thrilling story of survival, friendship and the need to belong. In this book Torak has hidden the mark of the Soul Eaters for two moons and when Aki of Boar Clan sees it, Torak is casted out by all of the clans. On the run, Torak must survive by himself while being hunted by the Clans and the Soul Eaters. He flees to Lake Axehead where he is hunted by the Otter Clan, taunted by the Hidden People and falls to soul-sickness when he falls prey to an even greater menace. Full of secrets and broken trusts, Outcast is the best of the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness that I have read so far.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by EshInoBi

This is by far my favourite books in this series. Torak is torn from Raven Clan and feels he cannot trust anyone. It is revealed that he bears the mark of the soul eaters, and he is given a while to try to escape, but then after that, everyone who sees him, has to kill him, or risk-get-execution. Torak becomes savage and doesn't recognize anything. He even starts to not be able to understand Wolf, his wolf friend that he's been friends-his guide- ever since Torak's father died. Torak runs far, avoiding others trying to kill him. One person swore to his father to kill him, and Torak doesn't know what he's become when he ignores him dying. Renn heals him, and he realizes that if he had told Renn earlier, they could have cut out the mark, but it wasn't the season anymore. I felt really bad for Torak at this part. Healed by Renn, they arrive at a cave while Renn is out. Seshru, Renn's mother, tries to kill them, including Renn. In the end, Finn-Kedin adopts him, saying that killing Torak will not do anything to help their issue with the soul eaters.

I love this book, and I fell in love with Torak's life! I couldn't believe that anyone could be cast out for just bearing a mark, I found that cruel, for it wasn't his fault! You'll enjoy this book as I did, everyone!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader June 08, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

SoulSick

Reader reviewed by EshInoBi

This is by far my favourite books in this series. Torak is torn from Raven Clan and feels he cannot trust anyone. It is revealed that he bears the mark of the soul eaters, and he is given a while to try to escape, but then after that, everyone who sees him, has to kill him, or risk-get-execution. Torak becomes savage and doesn't recognize anything. He even starts to not be able to understand Wolf, his wolf friend that he's been friends-his guide- ever since Torak's father died. Torak runs far, avoiding others trying to kill him. One person swore to his father to kill him, and Torak doesn't know what he's become when he ignores him dying. Renn heals him, and he realizes that if he had told Renn earlier, they could have cut out the mark, but it wasn't the season anymore. I felt really bad for Torak at this part. Healed by Renn, they arrive at a cave while Renn is out. Seshru, Renn's mother, tries to kill them, including Renn. In the end, Finn-Kedin adopts him, saying that killing Torak will not do anything to help their issue with the soul eaters.

I love this book, and I fell in love with Torak's life! I couldn't believe that anyone could be cast out for just bearing a mark, I found that cruel, for it wasn't his fault! You'll enjoy this book as I did, everyone!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
At fourteen, Catrina MacGreagor was left to care for her nine siblings after her mother passed. She didn't truly mind,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)