Books Kids Fiction The Sky Inside

The Sky Inside

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/b1/40/6e/6630_10052814-1348077626.jpg
 
0.0
 
2.5 (2)
476   0
Age Range
10+
Release Date
March 15, 2008
ISBN
1416924221
Buy This Book
      
Martin lives in a perfect world.

Every year a new generation of genetically-engineered children is shipped out to meet their parents. Every spring the residents of his town take down the snow they've stuck to their windows and put up flowers. Every morning his family gathers around their television and votes, like everyone else, for whatever matter of national importance the president has on the table. Today, it is the color of his drapes. It's business as usual under the protective dome of suburb HM1.
And it's all about to come crashing down.

Because a stranger has come to take away all the little children, including Martin's sister, Cassie, and no one wants to talk about where she has gone. The way Martin sees it, he has a choice. He can remain in the dubious safety of HM1, with danger that no one wants to talk about lurking just beneath the surface, or he can actually break out of the suburb, into the mysterious land outside, rumored to be nothing but blowing sand for miles upon miles.

Acclaimed author Clare B. Dunkle has crafted a fresh and fast-paced science-fiction thriller, one that challenges her characters -- and her readers -- to look closer at the world they take for granted.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Funny story: I was browsing shelves at the library when I picked up The Sky Inside because the title reminded me of Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, which is a book I really want to read. It turned out to be a really lucky coincidence, because the cover blurb was really interesting, and I ended up checking out The Sky Inside, hoping for a cool dystopian novel.

I think at this point, it’s going to be impossible to create a “new” and “unique” dystopian premise. Since The Hunger Games, the genre has really taken off and it seems like 1 out of every 2 YA novels being released are dystopian. So while I can’t really say that the premise and plot of The Sky Inside is completely different and unlike anything I’ve ever read, I can say that this book was very, very interesting. In the best possible way, of course.

Martin is 13 years old, and he lives with his specially-designed genius sister and his parents. They all live in steel domes, known as “suburbs,” and their only communication into the world outside their dome is what shows on their television. For his birthday, Martin gets a new “dog” and from there he comes to question everything he’s known about his world and who he really is.

Again, not the most uncommon set-up for a novel, but it was all in the presentation. The Sky Inside is, I think, one of the only novels I’ve read where every single aspect of daily living has been twisted beyond recognition—in this book, humanity as we know it is completely dead. So watching Martin function, to uncover these lies, was truly fascinating for me.
I was a little disappointed that the “big reveal” only came in the very last chapter, and that it took the form of an info-dumping conversation. It would have been nice for Martin to figure things out on his own somehow.

Side note: that “dog” you see on the front cover? Yeah, I want one. Really badly.

Among the soup of dystopian novels swimming around, The Sky Inside stands out. Dunkle’s treatment of her topic was extremely interesting, and I very much enjoyed experiencing life inside the steel-domed “suburbs.”
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Renae M Reviewed by Renae M March 25, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (184)

The Sky Inside

Funny story: I was browsing shelves at the library when I picked up The Sky Inside because the title reminded me of Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, which is a book I really want to read. It turned out to be a really lucky coincidence, because the cover blurb was really interesting, and I ended up checking out The Sky Inside, hoping for a cool dystopian novel.

I think at this point, it’s going to be impossible to create a “new” and “unique” dystopian premise. Since The Hunger Games, the genre has really taken off and it seems like 1 out of every 2 YA novels being released are dystopian. So while I can’t really say that the premise and plot of The Sky Inside is completely different and unlike anything I’ve ever read, I can say that this book was very, very interesting. In the best possible way, of course.

Martin is 13 years old, and he lives with his specially-designed genius sister and his parents. They all live in steel domes, known as “suburbs,” and their only communication into the world outside their dome is what shows on their television. For his birthday, Martin gets a new “dog” and from there he comes to question everything he’s known about his world and who he really is.

Again, not the most uncommon set-up for a novel, but it was all in the presentation. The Sky Inside is, I think, one of the only novels I’ve read where every single aspect of daily living has been twisted beyond recognition—in this book, humanity as we know it is completely dead. So watching Martin function, to uncover these lies, was truly fascinating for me.
I was a little disappointed that the “big reveal” only came in the very last chapter, and that it took the form of an info-dumping conversation. It would have been nice for Martin to figure things out on his own somehow.

Side note: that “dog” you see on the front cover? Yeah, I want one. Really badly.

Among the soup of dystopian novels swimming around, The Sky Inside stands out. Dunkle’s treatment of her topic was extremely interesting, and I very much enjoyed experiencing life inside the steel-domed “suburbs.”

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Kelsey

I loved the plot line where everyone in Martin's world lives under a bubble, with fake sky, no UV rays, no wind, no rain, and no flowers (real, that is). And since I love animals, I enjoyed having Chip (a German Shepherd...most of the time) as one of the main characters.

Those are the only positive things I have to say about The Sky Inside. Most of the book seemed like it had no direction. The author filled the pages with words that weren't going anywhere for the most part. I was confused at some parts, like toward the end of the book with the robot traveler who taught Martin outdoor skills...what was the point of having that plotline?

I think the author should've waited until she had more substance and heart, and then wrote the book. It could've been better.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader July 19, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

The Sky Inside: Not Too Thrilling

Reader reviewed by Kelsey

I loved the plot line where everyone in Martin's world lives under a bubble, with fake sky, no UV rays, no wind, no rain, and no flowers (real, that is). And since I love animals, I enjoyed having Chip (a German Shepherd...most of the time) as one of the main characters.

Those are the only positive things I have to say about The Sky Inside. Most of the book seemed like it had no direction. The author filled the pages with words that weren't going anywhere for the most part. I was confused at some parts, like toward the end of the book with the robot traveler who taught Martin outdoor skills...what was the point of having that plotline?

I think the author should've waited until she had more substance and heart, and then wrote the book. It could've been better.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)