The Pirates of Turtle Rock

The Pirates of Turtle Rock

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
652   0
Write Review
The Pirates of Turtle Rock
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 28, 2008
ISBN
0618987932
Buy This Book
      
Turtle Rock is where sixteen-year-old Jenny Snow goes to sit and listen to her iPod and think about the tedium that is her life. Although she is by nature a steady, responsible sort of person, Jenny longs for adventure, even danger. Little does she know, danger and adventure lie right under her nose—quite literally. Having spotted her sunning on Turtle Rock, a young seventh-generation pirate named Coop DeVille has swum all the way from his ship to make her acquaintance. Of course, she is too consumed by her own boredom to notice him clinging to the rock below, but a pirate is not easily deterred, which is only one of the many things Jenny soon discovers. Like the ancient map Coop DeVille keeps taped to his stomach, the adventure of Jenny’s life finally begins to unfold—and as it does, even the rock she sits on nearly becomes her undoing in this rollicking tale of piracy, peril, lost treasure, and newfound love—as only Richard Jennings could imagine it.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

The Pirates of Turtle Rock is a humorous story about an eighteen-year-old pirate captain named Coop DeVille who arrives in Florida and sets his sights on a seemingly ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Jenny Snow, bored with her life, her town, and her hair, is anxious for adventure and searching for identity. After a few back-and-forth verbal parries and parrot-nappings, the adversaries become friends. Together - along with her forgetful, odd great uncle and Coop's loyal crew - they attempt to understand an old map and search for lost treasure.

Though it was funny here and there, I felt as though the story could have been fleshed in many places. Not everything was explained; not everything was completely believable. However, if this is absurdist fiction, I suppose that suspension of belief comes with the territory.

The Pirates of Turtle Rock was originally published in weekly installments in Star Magazine. This is the first time the story has been published in one whole volume, with revisions and additions not found the first time around.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)