Books Kids Fiction The Pirates of Turtle Rock

The Pirates of Turtle Rock

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/d7/3d/bb/6463_3161298-1349186804.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
437   0
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 28, 2008
ISBN
0618987932
Buy This Book
      
Turtle Rock is where sixteen-year-old Jenny Snow goes to sit and listen to her iPod and think about the tedium that is her life. Although she is by nature a steady, responsible sort of person, Jenny longs for adventure, even danger. Little does she know, danger and adventure lie right under her nose—quite literally. Having spotted her sunning on Turtle Rock, a young seventh-generation pirate named Coop DeVille has swum all the way from his ship to make her acquaintance. Of course, she is too consumed by her own boredom to notice him clinging to the rock below, but a pirate is not easily deterred, which is only one of the many things Jenny soon discovers. Like the ancient map Coop DeVille keeps taped to his stomach, the adventure of Jenny’s life finally begins to unfold—and as it does, even the rock she sits on nearly becomes her undoing in this rollicking tale of piracy, peril, lost treasure, and newfound love—as only Richard Jennings could imagine it.

Editor reviews

The Pirates of Turtle Rock is a humorous story about an eighteen-year-old pirate captain named Coop DeVille who arrives in Florida and sets his sights on a seemingly ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Jenny Snow, bored with her life, her town, and her hair, is anxious for adventure and searching for identity. After a few back-and-forth verbal parries and parrot-nappings, the adversaries become friends. Together - along with her forgetful, odd great uncle and Coop's loyal crew - they attempt to understand an old map and search for lost treasure.

Though it was funny here and there, I felt as though the story could have been fleshed in many places. Not everything was explained; not everything was completely believable. However, if this is absurdist fiction, I suppose that suspension of belief comes with the territory.

The Pirates of Turtle Rock was originally published in weekly installments in Star Magazine. This is the first time the story has been published in one whole volume, with revisions and additions not found the first time around.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Little	Willow Reviewed by Little Willow April 04, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (78)

The Pirates of Turtle Rock is a humorous story about an eighteen-year-old pirate captain named Coop DeVille who arrives in Florida and sets his sights on a seemingly ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Jenny Snow, bored with her life, her town, and her hair, is anxious for adventure and searching for identity. After a few back-and-forth verbal parries and parrot-nappings, the adversaries become friends. Together - along with her forgetful, odd great uncle and Coop's loyal crew - they attempt to understand an old map and search for lost treasure.

Though it was funny here and there, I felt as though the story could have been fleshed in many places. Not everything was explained; not everything was completely believable. However, if this is absurdist fiction, I suppose that suspension of belief comes with the territory.

The Pirates of Turtle Rock was originally published in weekly installments in Star Magazine. This is the first time the story has been published in one whole volume, with revisions and additions not found the first time around.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)