Swindle

 
4.0
 
4.7 (3)
2655   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0439903440
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Griffin Bing: The Man With the Plan

Griffin is the Man with the Plan. The night before the old Rockford estate is to be demolished, he and his best friend, Ben, decide to spend the night there. Ben will do anything Griffin wants&thats how much he respects the man with the plan. They almost didnt make it out because they fell asleep and the wrecking ball began its swing. Whew!!!! Close call!!!!

While there, Griffin roamed around the house and found an old desk. Pulling out a drawer, he saw something tucked all the way in the back. Reaching in, Griffin pulled out a baseball card of Babe Ruth in a Boston Red Sox uniform. (We all know him as a Yankee.) Thinking it might be rare and worth a lot, and therefore the key to ending his familys financial problems, he and Ben bring the card to S. Wendell (aka Swindle) Palomino, a buyer and seller of memorabilia, who tells Griffin the card is a fake and pays him $100. Better than nothing.

Hours later, Griffin is watching TV and sees Swindle being interviewed about a rare baseball card he has, which at an upcoming auction might sell for $1,000,000. Sure enough, its the Babe Ruth card. Right then and there, Griffin formulates a plan. Hes going to swindle Swindle out of the Babe Ruth card, because no one swindles Griffin Bing and gets away with it.

Swindle is a fun read. Griffin, Ben and their cohorts in crime are great characters. There are twists and turns in this caper&its not easy going. There is suspense, action, drama, vicious guard dogs, double crossing, humor and a surprise ending. Something for everyone. So, if youve got a few hours to kill, try Swindle and find out why crime does not pay.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.3  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Awesome Book

This book is the best book I read in 2012, with the non-stop action (toward the end of the book) My only complaint is it started out very slow. My conclusion is don't stop reading if you get bored and my favorite part was the heist (end of book) I REPEAT DO NOT STOP READING!

Good Points
Great action toward the end.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Swindle

The Book Swindle by: Gordon Korman. To me this is a great adventure and action book even though some parts include baseball you didn’t need to know anything about baseball other than that the card this kid found when they were in this old mansion was worth more than you it was an original Babe Ruth card the most valuable baseball card in history he is also known as the Great Bambino.

This kid named Griffin and his friends are all dared to go to this old mansion that is known to be haunted Griffin finds this baseball card on the floor and turns his flash light on to see that it was The Legendary Babe Ruth’s card of course when he tells his friends the rumor spreads the Griffin goes to a pawn shop and shows the guy working there named Wendell nicknamed Swindle who tricks him into thinking the card is a fake and the guy says he would give Griffin only 20$ for it Griffin was indeed depressed it wasn’t real (even though it was) and sold it.

The kid a few days later see’s a sign on the pawn shop window saying that their is going to be an auction held in a week saying that the item up for auction is the Babe Ruth baseball car the same one that the kid sold to him. So Griffin fights with the man but the man denies tricking him so Griffin is a man with a plan and gets a group of friends and even 1 or 2 enemies and has to get the card but many things are standing in their way a menacing dog, a high tech security system, a very good hiding place and the fact that none of them are old enough to drive or can drive.

Definition of Swindle: to cheat, steal, trick, deceive, defraud, lie, rob, con, backstab, obtain dishonestly.

Good Points
- The characters are around most kids age that would be reading this book so the characters are easy to relate to and understand.
- The vocabulary wasn't to hard to understand or to simple.
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 06, 2012)

I didn't understand it

I really didn't like this book

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Pulled me in and kept me there

Reader reviewed by Elise

I asked my friend for a book that has a fantastic beginning that would immediately pull me into the story, and SWITCH was what she placed in my hand. I was not disappointed. After the first paragraph I was transported to Claire's sunny and stormy beach town, and I was perfectly happy to be there.

SWITCH was a completely original idea and Carol Snow pulled off the believability aspect of it wonderfully. The narration of Claire's character is very easy to relate to. She has a bit of every girl's personality in her. She is a likable protagonist, despite the fact that her inner monologue sometimes seems whiny.

The overall theme of the book, to appreciate yourself for who you are, was excellently delivered throughout the novel. Carol Snow's writing creates the characters and situations in a way that the reader will completely empathize for them.

The ending was somewhat unsatisfactory for me. Claire resolved things to my contentment with some characters, but I think that others needed to know more of the truth. It might have changed the outcome. I find myself hoping that there will be a sequel to this story, because there is so much more I want to learn about the characters and their endings.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."