Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)

Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)

 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
942   0
Write Review
Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 20, 2007
ISBN
1599900572
Buy This Book
      
Many stories tell of damsels in distress, who are rescued from the clutches of fire-breathing dragons by knights in shining armor, and swept off to live happily ever after.

Unfortunately, this is not one of those stories.

True, when Creel's aunt suggests sacrificing her to the local dragon, it is with the hope that the knight will marry Creel and that everyone (aunt and family included) will benefit handsomely. Yet it's Creel who talks her way out of the dragon's clutches. And it's Creel who walks for days on end to seek her fortune in the king's city with only a bit of embroidery thread and a strange pair of slippers in her possession.

But even Creel could not have guessed the outcome of this tale. For in a country on the verge of war, Creel unknowingly possesses not just any pair of shoes, but a tool that could be used to save her kingdom…or destroy it.

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Fabulous author!

Reader reviewed by Chantele

I have already read this book, but I haven't reviewed it yet. We read
it for book club this month, so I of course, read it again, and loved
it even more than the first time I read it!
Dragon Slippers is such
a fun book! At the very beginning of it, you fall in love with the main
character Creel. She is strong, determined, and is so funny!
It
all starts with her aunt making her get taken by a dragon to save her
family from poverty. (If a dragon takes a young maiden, a knight will
have to rescue her, marry her, and the family would be saved!) Creel,
on the other hand, quickly changes plans, and befriends the dragon,
taking with her a small token from his horde in exchange for not making
him fight a knight. She chooses a pair of blue slippers. She soon finds
herself on an excited journey full of plenty of dragons, new friends,
betrayal, romance, and a whole lot of sewing!
The characters are
fun, witty, and I really fell in love with most of them! I love
Shardas. He is my favorite character next to Creel. Who wouldn't want a
huge dragon as a friend!? :) The dragons are amazing, and wonderfully
written. Not the scary kind you read about in other books. Well, I
guess some could be scary if they wanted to be!:)
This book is so
much fun. It is the first of a three book series, and the third will be
out this year. I will definitely be buying it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Fun, light, quick read!

Reader reviewed by Chantele

I have already read this book, but I haven't reviewed it yet. We read
it for book club this month, so I of course, read it again, and loved
it even more than the first time I read it!
Dragon Slippers is such
a fun book! At the very beginning of it, you fall in love with the main
character Creel. She is strong, determined, and is so funny!
It
all starts with her aunt making her get taken by a dragon to save her
family from poverty. (If a dragon takes a young maiden, a knight will
have to rescue her, marry her, and the family would be saved!) Creel,
on the other hand, quickly changes plans, and befriends the dragon,
taking with her a small token from his horde in exchange for not making
him fight a knight. She chooses a pair of blue slippers. She soon finds
herself on an excited journey full of plenty of dragons, new friends,
betrayal, romance, and a whole lot of sewing!
The characters are
fun, witty, and I really fell in love with most of them! I love
Shardas. He is my favorite character next to Creel. Who wouldn't want a
huge dragon as a friend!? :) The dragons are amazing, and wonderfully
written. Not the scary kind you read about in other books. Well, I
guess some could be scary if they wanted to be!:)
This book is so
much fun. It is the first of a three book series, and the third will be
out this year. I will definitely be buying it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Adorable!

Reader reviewed by Beth

This book was just too cute!!  The storyline was very different, and I found that to be refreshing.  The characters were all interesting and deep for the length of the book.  I especially liked the twist on the legend of dragon hoards, especially the dogs!  This book is great for anyone who loves fantasy childrens books and dragons!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

slippers? a weapon of mass destruction?

Reader reviewed by ~tiffany^^

Can you believe that a pair of slippers can destroy a whole Kingdom? Read Dragon Slippers to find out!

Creel, a country girl with no money, and only skills in embriodery, goes into town to find work. (Did I mention that she befriended two dragons, and received a pair of itchy slippers during the journey?) But finding work proves to be more difficult than she thought, as she has no place to stay or any relations in town. Eventually, she was hired at a shop, where she made friends and enemies. Her handiwork was noticed by the Duchess, but the soon-to-be-queen Princess Amelia was more interested in her unique slippers. Of course it helps that she has a friend who's a Prince, but she can only rely on herself if she wants to get sponsered to open her own shop. Except somewhere in the middle, her slippers were stolen by the annoying Princess Amelia, and her dragon friends started attacking the city...

Dragon slippers is a really good book, and although young children will enjoy it, older readers who are looking for a more fairytale-type story will also like it. The story starts in a light-hearted, humourous fashion, but as the story develops, it get very intense and fast-paced.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)