Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)

Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)

 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
1336   0
Write Review
Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 20, 2007
ISBN
1599900572
Buy This Book
      
Many stories tell of damsels in distress, who are rescued from the clutches of fire-breathing dragons by knights in shining armor, and swept off to live happily ever after.

Unfortunately, this is not one of those stories.

True, when Creel's aunt suggests sacrificing her to the local dragon, it is with the hope that the knight will marry Creel and that everyone (aunt and family included) will benefit handsomely. Yet it's Creel who talks her way out of the dragon's clutches. And it's Creel who walks for days on end to seek her fortune in the king's city with only a bit of embroidery thread and a strange pair of slippers in her possession.

But even Creel could not have guessed the outcome of this tale. For in a country on the verge of war, Creel unknowingly possesses not just any pair of shoes, but a tool that could be used to save her kingdom…or destroy it.

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Fabulous author!

Reader reviewed by Chantele

I have already read this book, but I haven't reviewed it yet. We read
it for book club this month, so I of course, read it again, and loved
it even more than the first time I read it!
Dragon Slippers is such
a fun book! At the very beginning of it, you fall in love with the main
character Creel. She is strong, determined, and is so funny!
It
all starts with her aunt making her get taken by a dragon to save her
family from poverty. (If a dragon takes a young maiden, a knight will
have to rescue her, marry her, and the family would be saved!) Creel,
on the other hand, quickly changes plans, and befriends the dragon,
taking with her a small token from his horde in exchange for not making
him fight a knight. She chooses a pair of blue slippers. She soon finds
herself on an excited journey full of plenty of dragons, new friends,
betrayal, romance, and a whole lot of sewing!
The characters are
fun, witty, and I really fell in love with most of them! I love
Shardas. He is my favorite character next to Creel. Who wouldn't want a
huge dragon as a friend!? :) The dragons are amazing, and wonderfully
written. Not the scary kind you read about in other books. Well, I
guess some could be scary if they wanted to be!:)
This book is so
much fun. It is the first of a three book series, and the third will be
out this year. I will definitely be buying it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Fun, light, quick read!

Reader reviewed by Chantele

I have already read this book, but I haven't reviewed it yet. We read
it for book club this month, so I of course, read it again, and loved
it even more than the first time I read it!
Dragon Slippers is such
a fun book! At the very beginning of it, you fall in love with the main
character Creel. She is strong, determined, and is so funny!
It
all starts with her aunt making her get taken by a dragon to save her
family from poverty. (If a dragon takes a young maiden, a knight will
have to rescue her, marry her, and the family would be saved!) Creel,
on the other hand, quickly changes plans, and befriends the dragon,
taking with her a small token from his horde in exchange for not making
him fight a knight. She chooses a pair of blue slippers. She soon finds
herself on an excited journey full of plenty of dragons, new friends,
betrayal, romance, and a whole lot of sewing!
The characters are
fun, witty, and I really fell in love with most of them! I love
Shardas. He is my favorite character next to Creel. Who wouldn't want a
huge dragon as a friend!? :) The dragons are amazing, and wonderfully
written. Not the scary kind you read about in other books. Well, I
guess some could be scary if they wanted to be!:)
This book is so
much fun. It is the first of a three book series, and the third will be
out this year. I will definitely be buying it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Adorable!

Reader reviewed by Beth

This book was just too cute!!  The storyline was very different, and I found that to be refreshing.  The characters were all interesting and deep for the length of the book.  I especially liked the twist on the legend of dragon hoards, especially the dogs!  This book is great for anyone who loves fantasy childrens books and dragons!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

slippers? a weapon of mass destruction?

Reader reviewed by ~tiffany^^

Can you believe that a pair of slippers can destroy a whole Kingdom? Read Dragon Slippers to find out!

Creel, a country girl with no money, and only skills in embriodery, goes into town to find work. (Did I mention that she befriended two dragons, and received a pair of itchy slippers during the journey?) But finding work proves to be more difficult than she thought, as she has no place to stay or any relations in town. Eventually, she was hired at a shop, where she made friends and enemies. Her handiwork was noticed by the Duchess, but the soon-to-be-queen Princess Amelia was more interested in her unique slippers. Of course it helps that she has a friend who's a Prince, but she can only rely on herself if she wants to get sponsered to open her own shop. Except somewhere in the middle, her slippers were stolen by the annoying Princess Amelia, and her dragon friends started attacking the city...

Dragon slippers is a really good book, and although young children will enjoy it, older readers who are looking for a more fairytale-type story will also like it. The story starts in a light-hearted, humourous fashion, but as the story develops, it get very intense and fast-paced.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."
Come With Me
 
5.0
"COME WITH ME is a perfect story with the way the world is today. It talks about how scary the..."