Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)

Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)

 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
1447   0
Write Review
Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 20, 2007
ISBN
1599900572
Buy This Book
      
Many stories tell of damsels in distress, who are rescued from the clutches of fire-breathing dragons by knights in shining armor, and swept off to live happily ever after.

Unfortunately, this is not one of those stories.

True, when Creel's aunt suggests sacrificing her to the local dragon, it is with the hope that the knight will marry Creel and that everyone (aunt and family included) will benefit handsomely. Yet it's Creel who talks her way out of the dragon's clutches. And it's Creel who walks for days on end to seek her fortune in the king's city with only a bit of embroidery thread and a strange pair of slippers in her possession.

But even Creel could not have guessed the outcome of this tale. For in a country on the verge of war, Creel unknowingly possesses not just any pair of shoes, but a tool that could be used to save her kingdom…or destroy it.

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Fabulous author!

Reader reviewed by Chantele

I have already read this book, but I haven't reviewed it yet. We read
it for book club this month, so I of course, read it again, and loved
it even more than the first time I read it!
Dragon Slippers is such
a fun book! At the very beginning of it, you fall in love with the main
character Creel. She is strong, determined, and is so funny!
It
all starts with her aunt making her get taken by a dragon to save her
family from poverty. (If a dragon takes a young maiden, a knight will
have to rescue her, marry her, and the family would be saved!) Creel,
on the other hand, quickly changes plans, and befriends the dragon,
taking with her a small token from his horde in exchange for not making
him fight a knight. She chooses a pair of blue slippers. She soon finds
herself on an excited journey full of plenty of dragons, new friends,
betrayal, romance, and a whole lot of sewing!
The characters are
fun, witty, and I really fell in love with most of them! I love
Shardas. He is my favorite character next to Creel. Who wouldn't want a
huge dragon as a friend!? :) The dragons are amazing, and wonderfully
written. Not the scary kind you read about in other books. Well, I
guess some could be scary if they wanted to be!:)
This book is so
much fun. It is the first of a three book series, and the third will be
out this year. I will definitely be buying it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Fun, light, quick read!

Reader reviewed by Chantele

I have already read this book, but I haven't reviewed it yet. We read
it for book club this month, so I of course, read it again, and loved
it even more than the first time I read it!
Dragon Slippers is such
a fun book! At the very beginning of it, you fall in love with the main
character Creel. She is strong, determined, and is so funny!
It
all starts with her aunt making her get taken by a dragon to save her
family from poverty. (If a dragon takes a young maiden, a knight will
have to rescue her, marry her, and the family would be saved!) Creel,
on the other hand, quickly changes plans, and befriends the dragon,
taking with her a small token from his horde in exchange for not making
him fight a knight. She chooses a pair of blue slippers. She soon finds
herself on an excited journey full of plenty of dragons, new friends,
betrayal, romance, and a whole lot of sewing!
The characters are
fun, witty, and I really fell in love with most of them! I love
Shardas. He is my favorite character next to Creel. Who wouldn't want a
huge dragon as a friend!? :) The dragons are amazing, and wonderfully
written. Not the scary kind you read about in other books. Well, I
guess some could be scary if they wanted to be!:)
This book is so
much fun. It is the first of a three book series, and the third will be
out this year. I will definitely be buying it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Adorable!

Reader reviewed by Beth

This book was just too cute!!  The storyline was very different, and I found that to be refreshing.  The characters were all interesting and deep for the length of the book.  I especially liked the twist on the legend of dragon hoards, especially the dogs!  This book is great for anyone who loves fantasy childrens books and dragons!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

slippers? a weapon of mass destruction?

Reader reviewed by ~tiffany^^

Can you believe that a pair of slippers can destroy a whole Kingdom? Read Dragon Slippers to find out!

Creel, a country girl with no money, and only skills in embriodery, goes into town to find work. (Did I mention that she befriended two dragons, and received a pair of itchy slippers during the journey?) But finding work proves to be more difficult than she thought, as she has no place to stay or any relations in town. Eventually, she was hired at a shop, where she made friends and enemies. Her handiwork was noticed by the Duchess, but the soon-to-be-queen Princess Amelia was more interested in her unique slippers. Of course it helps that she has a friend who's a Prince, but she can only rely on herself if she wants to get sponsered to open her own shop. Except somewhere in the middle, her slippers were stolen by the annoying Princess Amelia, and her dragon friends started attacking the city...

Dragon slippers is a really good book, and although young children will enjoy it, older readers who are looking for a more fairytale-type story will also like it. The story starts in a light-hearted, humourous fashion, but as the story develops, it get very intense and fast-paced.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"This is a book that you wish you could just sit down and read without interruption! Keeps you..."
Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."