Love, Stargirl

Love, Stargirl

 
0.0
 
4.7 (6)
1405   0
Write Review
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0375813756
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(5)
4 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stargirl..again.

Reader reviewed by Kiran

Stargirl is back in Love, Stargirl. Stargirl's eccentricity was a treat to read about again.


However, I feel like this follow-up book was not as good as the first. While good, it just wasn't as good. Still a good read for Stargirl fans, though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Tearjerker City!

Reader reviewed by Tori Phillips

In this sequel to bestseller Stargirl, Stargirl writes to Leo about her unusual behavior in high school and her feelings about him, from acting goofy at sports games to singing 'Happy Birthday' in front of the entire lunchroom. I thought that the ending will break your heart because you never know if Stargirl and Leo will ever be reunited but you know that they wish that they will see each other again. REad this book to discover what it feels like to be an angel who changes other people's lives forever.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A wonderful sequel to "Stargirl"

Reader reviewed by NIc

Stargirl Carraway has moved away from Mica, moved away from Leo.. but her heart is still with him. Here in this new town, she writes Leo the world's longest letter. It reads like a diary, and we finally see the world through the eyes of Stargirl.


Stargirl's new home is a town of misfits and oddballs, many of whom are held apart from each other by fear, rumour, conflict, or loneliness. Her new friends include an exuberant 5-year-old, an agoraphobic, a thief, and an 11-year-old girl who likes to beat up boys. As Stargirl learns about her new neighbors, she learns more about herself; as she helps the town's residents come together as a community, she learns to become a whole Stargirl once again.


Even better than it's prequel, "Love, Stargirl" might just teach you a bit about yourself, too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

wow!!!

Reader reviewed by tricia

what a great follow up to Stargirl.

Stargirl tells you a story about her life after moving to her new town. here she meets very interesting people. A woman who is afraid to leave her home, a little girl who she instantly befriends, a boy who she might have feelings for, and a young girl who is a trouble maker.

Stargirl discovers new things about herself everyday.

a unique read

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stargirl Tells Her Own Story...Wonderfully

Reader reviewed by Stephanie

Several years ago Jerry Spinelli introduced to the international stage the extraordinary Stargirl Caraway, who took our breaths away with her uniqueness and utterly fascinating character. Now Stargirl is back, and this time shes telling her own storyin the worlds longest letter to her ex-boyfriend, Leo.

In her new town in a whole other state, Stargirl meets a variety of interesting characters. Theres Dootsie, her best friend, whos six years old and like a mini-Stargirl. Betty Lou, their neighbor, hasnt been out of her house for nine years. Eleven-year-old Alvina works at Margies Donut Shop, beats up boys, and is a self-proclaimed rotten kid. Charlie sits by his wife Graces grave every day. And Perry Delloplane is an arrogant thief and has a harem, but Stargirl just cant stop thinking about him.

In addition to the eccentric people, Stargirl of course finds her enchanted places and does her selfless deeds. But is she ever really happy? For Leo Borlockthe boy who broke her heart, who chose to be accepted by society over being with heris always on her mind, and Stargirl doesnt know what to do about him&if there is anything that can be done.

LOVE, STARGIRL does not disappoint dedicated Stargirl fans, which I am extremely grateful for. In this book, you get to know Stargirl inside and out: her fears, her weaknesses, her insecurity, what makes her happy. Stargirl ceases to be an impossibly invulnerable character, and her three dimensions gain more clarity, but she never stops being a delight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Wow!

Reader reviewed by Corn

Spinelli's well-woven cast of characters (which were assigned particularly interesting names and a fair share of quirks) lit up the book, even in it's most maddening moments.
Stargirl Caraway will always be the same kindhearted freespirit, with her happy wagon and penny-pitching tendencies, but I sensed a "weakness". That weakness happened Stargirl's crazy friend, named Perry Dellopane, and happened to be the most maddening literary character I'd ever come across. Reminding me much of Gilmore Girls' Jess Mariano, Perry was character I hated to hate.
Though I read Stargirl years prior to reading it's ever-fascinating sequel, "Love, Stargirl", it's still safe to say that a sequel can never outdo it's original.
However, Spinelli's "Love, Stargirl" was a book I loved to love.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

See Fred Run
 
3.5
"'See Fred Run' by Kevin Bolger, and illustrated by Ben Hodson, is a story about main character Fred and his..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Flowers for Sarajevo
 
5.0
"Haunting and hopeful. The bombing one of the last working bakeries in the city of Sarajevo might have been..."
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
 
4.5
"If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting..."
Plankton Is Pushy
 
4.0
"A quick and comical read, rife with sarcasm. A particular plankton is used to eliciting a response from every..."
Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure
 
4.0
"DRAGONWATCH is a captivating, action-packed story that is filled with all type of creatures such as trolls, goblins, dragons, nipsies,..."
Once Upon a Cruise
 
4.0
"What I Loved: After Ainsley’s mom took a cruise director job aboard what is essentially a mockbuster Disney cruise, Ainsley..."
Five Elements #2: The Shadow City
 
4.0
"THE SHADOW CITY starts off where I expected it to. The elementals are trying to decide on their next move...."
Will Wilder #2: The Lost Staff of Wonders
 
4.0
"In THE LOST STAFF OF WONDERS, the legendary staff of Moses is stolen by a powerful demon named Amon who..."
Cavern of Secrets (Wing and Claw #2)
 
4.0
"Raffa, Kuma, and Garith have escaped Gilden with their animal companions in CAVERN OF SECRETS. Raffa has Echo the Bat..."
Black Moon Rising (The Library Book 2)
 
5.0
"Marcus, along with his friends Lu and Theo, are struggling to make it through middle school. Lu gets a bad..."
Pig the Winner
 
4.5
"This book is a winner (no pun intended). This hilarious story paired with the most perfect illustrations will definitely leave..."
Rolling Thunder
 
5.0
"A touching memorandum and homage to the armed forces—wrapped in a gentle and beautifully illustrated teaching tool. The premise..."