Love, Stargirl

Love, Stargirl

 
0.0
 
4.7 (6)
1683   0
Write Review
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0375813756
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(5)
4 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stargirl..again.

Reader reviewed by Kiran

Stargirl is back in Love, Stargirl. Stargirl's eccentricity was a treat to read about again.


However, I feel like this follow-up book was not as good as the first. While good, it just wasn't as good. Still a good read for Stargirl fans, though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Tearjerker City!

Reader reviewed by Tori Phillips

In this sequel to bestseller Stargirl, Stargirl writes to Leo about her unusual behavior in high school and her feelings about him, from acting goofy at sports games to singing 'Happy Birthday' in front of the entire lunchroom. I thought that the ending will break your heart because you never know if Stargirl and Leo will ever be reunited but you know that they wish that they will see each other again. REad this book to discover what it feels like to be an angel who changes other people's lives forever.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A wonderful sequel to "Stargirl"

Reader reviewed by NIc

Stargirl Carraway has moved away from Mica, moved away from Leo.. but her heart is still with him. Here in this new town, she writes Leo the world's longest letter. It reads like a diary, and we finally see the world through the eyes of Stargirl.


Stargirl's new home is a town of misfits and oddballs, many of whom are held apart from each other by fear, rumour, conflict, or loneliness. Her new friends include an exuberant 5-year-old, an agoraphobic, a thief, and an 11-year-old girl who likes to beat up boys. As Stargirl learns about her new neighbors, she learns more about herself; as she helps the town's residents come together as a community, she learns to become a whole Stargirl once again.


Even better than it's prequel, "Love, Stargirl" might just teach you a bit about yourself, too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

wow!!!

Reader reviewed by tricia

what a great follow up to Stargirl.

Stargirl tells you a story about her life after moving to her new town. here she meets very interesting people. A woman who is afraid to leave her home, a little girl who she instantly befriends, a boy who she might have feelings for, and a young girl who is a trouble maker.

Stargirl discovers new things about herself everyday.

a unique read

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stargirl Tells Her Own Story...Wonderfully

Reader reviewed by Stephanie

Several years ago Jerry Spinelli introduced to the international stage the extraordinary Stargirl Caraway, who took our breaths away with her uniqueness and utterly fascinating character. Now Stargirl is back, and this time shes telling her own storyin the worlds longest letter to her ex-boyfriend, Leo.

In her new town in a whole other state, Stargirl meets a variety of interesting characters. Theres Dootsie, her best friend, whos six years old and like a mini-Stargirl. Betty Lou, their neighbor, hasnt been out of her house for nine years. Eleven-year-old Alvina works at Margies Donut Shop, beats up boys, and is a self-proclaimed rotten kid. Charlie sits by his wife Graces grave every day. And Perry Delloplane is an arrogant thief and has a harem, but Stargirl just cant stop thinking about him.

In addition to the eccentric people, Stargirl of course finds her enchanted places and does her selfless deeds. But is she ever really happy? For Leo Borlockthe boy who broke her heart, who chose to be accepted by society over being with heris always on her mind, and Stargirl doesnt know what to do about him&if there is anything that can be done.

LOVE, STARGIRL does not disappoint dedicated Stargirl fans, which I am extremely grateful for. In this book, you get to know Stargirl inside and out: her fears, her weaknesses, her insecurity, what makes her happy. Stargirl ceases to be an impossibly invulnerable character, and her three dimensions gain more clarity, but she never stops being a delight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Wow!

Reader reviewed by Corn

Spinelli's well-woven cast of characters (which were assigned particularly interesting names and a fair share of quirks) lit up the book, even in it's most maddening moments.
Stargirl Caraway will always be the same kindhearted freespirit, with her happy wagon and penny-pitching tendencies, but I sensed a "weakness". That weakness happened Stargirl's crazy friend, named Perry Dellopane, and happened to be the most maddening literary character I'd ever come across. Reminding me much of Gilmore Girls' Jess Mariano, Perry was character I hated to hate.
Though I read Stargirl years prior to reading it's ever-fascinating sequel, "Love, Stargirl", it's still safe to say that a sequel can never outdo it's original.
However, Spinelli's "Love, Stargirl" was a book I loved to love.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."