Love, Stargirl

Love, Stargirl

 
0.0
 
4.7 (6)
1533   0
Write Review
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0375813756
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(5)
4 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stargirl..again.

Reader reviewed by Kiran

Stargirl is back in Love, Stargirl. Stargirl's eccentricity was a treat to read about again.


However, I feel like this follow-up book was not as good as the first. While good, it just wasn't as good. Still a good read for Stargirl fans, though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Tearjerker City!

Reader reviewed by Tori Phillips

In this sequel to bestseller Stargirl, Stargirl writes to Leo about her unusual behavior in high school and her feelings about him, from acting goofy at sports games to singing 'Happy Birthday' in front of the entire lunchroom. I thought that the ending will break your heart because you never know if Stargirl and Leo will ever be reunited but you know that they wish that they will see each other again. REad this book to discover what it feels like to be an angel who changes other people's lives forever.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A wonderful sequel to "Stargirl"

Reader reviewed by NIc

Stargirl Carraway has moved away from Mica, moved away from Leo.. but her heart is still with him. Here in this new town, she writes Leo the world's longest letter. It reads like a diary, and we finally see the world through the eyes of Stargirl.


Stargirl's new home is a town of misfits and oddballs, many of whom are held apart from each other by fear, rumour, conflict, or loneliness. Her new friends include an exuberant 5-year-old, an agoraphobic, a thief, and an 11-year-old girl who likes to beat up boys. As Stargirl learns about her new neighbors, she learns more about herself; as she helps the town's residents come together as a community, she learns to become a whole Stargirl once again.


Even better than it's prequel, "Love, Stargirl" might just teach you a bit about yourself, too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

wow!!!

Reader reviewed by tricia

what a great follow up to Stargirl.

Stargirl tells you a story about her life after moving to her new town. here she meets very interesting people. A woman who is afraid to leave her home, a little girl who she instantly befriends, a boy who she might have feelings for, and a young girl who is a trouble maker.

Stargirl discovers new things about herself everyday.

a unique read

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stargirl Tells Her Own Story...Wonderfully

Reader reviewed by Stephanie

Several years ago Jerry Spinelli introduced to the international stage the extraordinary Stargirl Caraway, who took our breaths away with her uniqueness and utterly fascinating character. Now Stargirl is back, and this time shes telling her own storyin the worlds longest letter to her ex-boyfriend, Leo.

In her new town in a whole other state, Stargirl meets a variety of interesting characters. Theres Dootsie, her best friend, whos six years old and like a mini-Stargirl. Betty Lou, their neighbor, hasnt been out of her house for nine years. Eleven-year-old Alvina works at Margies Donut Shop, beats up boys, and is a self-proclaimed rotten kid. Charlie sits by his wife Graces grave every day. And Perry Delloplane is an arrogant thief and has a harem, but Stargirl just cant stop thinking about him.

In addition to the eccentric people, Stargirl of course finds her enchanted places and does her selfless deeds. But is she ever really happy? For Leo Borlockthe boy who broke her heart, who chose to be accepted by society over being with heris always on her mind, and Stargirl doesnt know what to do about him&if there is anything that can be done.

LOVE, STARGIRL does not disappoint dedicated Stargirl fans, which I am extremely grateful for. In this book, you get to know Stargirl inside and out: her fears, her weaknesses, her insecurity, what makes her happy. Stargirl ceases to be an impossibly invulnerable character, and her three dimensions gain more clarity, but she never stops being a delight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Wow!

Reader reviewed by Corn

Spinelli's well-woven cast of characters (which were assigned particularly interesting names and a fair share of quirks) lit up the book, even in it's most maddening moments.
Stargirl Caraway will always be the same kindhearted freespirit, with her happy wagon and penny-pitching tendencies, but I sensed a "weakness". That weakness happened Stargirl's crazy friend, named Perry Dellopane, and happened to be the most maddening literary character I'd ever come across. Reminding me much of Gilmore Girls' Jess Mariano, Perry was character I hated to hate.
Though I read Stargirl years prior to reading it's ever-fascinating sequel, "Love, Stargirl", it's still safe to say that a sequel can never outdo it's original.
However, Spinelli's "Love, Stargirl" was a book I loved to love.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."