Love, Stargirl

Love, Stargirl

 
0.0
 
4.7 (6)
913   0
Write Review
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0375813756
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(5)
4 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stargirl..again.

Reader reviewed by Kiran

Stargirl is back in Love, Stargirl. Stargirl's eccentricity was a treat to read about again.


However, I feel like this follow-up book was not as good as the first. While good, it just wasn't as good. Still a good read for Stargirl fans, though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Tearjerker City!

Reader reviewed by Tori Phillips

In this sequel to bestseller Stargirl, Stargirl writes to Leo about her unusual behavior in high school and her feelings about him, from acting goofy at sports games to singing 'Happy Birthday' in front of the entire lunchroom. I thought that the ending will break your heart because you never know if Stargirl and Leo will ever be reunited but you know that they wish that they will see each other again. REad this book to discover what it feels like to be an angel who changes other people's lives forever.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A wonderful sequel to "Stargirl"

Reader reviewed by NIc

Stargirl Carraway has moved away from Mica, moved away from Leo.. but her heart is still with him. Here in this new town, she writes Leo the world's longest letter. It reads like a diary, and we finally see the world through the eyes of Stargirl.


Stargirl's new home is a town of misfits and oddballs, many of whom are held apart from each other by fear, rumour, conflict, or loneliness. Her new friends include an exuberant 5-year-old, an agoraphobic, a thief, and an 11-year-old girl who likes to beat up boys. As Stargirl learns about her new neighbors, she learns more about herself; as she helps the town's residents come together as a community, she learns to become a whole Stargirl once again.


Even better than it's prequel, "Love, Stargirl" might just teach you a bit about yourself, too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

wow!!!

Reader reviewed by tricia

what a great follow up to Stargirl.

Stargirl tells you a story about her life after moving to her new town. here she meets very interesting people. A woman who is afraid to leave her home, a little girl who she instantly befriends, a boy who she might have feelings for, and a young girl who is a trouble maker.

Stargirl discovers new things about herself everyday.

a unique read

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stargirl Tells Her Own Story...Wonderfully

Reader reviewed by Stephanie

Several years ago Jerry Spinelli introduced to the international stage the extraordinary Stargirl Caraway, who took our breaths away with her uniqueness and utterly fascinating character. Now Stargirl is back, and this time shes telling her own storyin the worlds longest letter to her ex-boyfriend, Leo.

In her new town in a whole other state, Stargirl meets a variety of interesting characters. Theres Dootsie, her best friend, whos six years old and like a mini-Stargirl. Betty Lou, their neighbor, hasnt been out of her house for nine years. Eleven-year-old Alvina works at Margies Donut Shop, beats up boys, and is a self-proclaimed rotten kid. Charlie sits by his wife Graces grave every day. And Perry Delloplane is an arrogant thief and has a harem, but Stargirl just cant stop thinking about him.

In addition to the eccentric people, Stargirl of course finds her enchanted places and does her selfless deeds. But is she ever really happy? For Leo Borlockthe boy who broke her heart, who chose to be accepted by society over being with heris always on her mind, and Stargirl doesnt know what to do about him&if there is anything that can be done.

LOVE, STARGIRL does not disappoint dedicated Stargirl fans, which I am extremely grateful for. In this book, you get to know Stargirl inside and out: her fears, her weaknesses, her insecurity, what makes her happy. Stargirl ceases to be an impossibly invulnerable character, and her three dimensions gain more clarity, but she never stops being a delight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Wow!

Reader reviewed by Corn

Spinelli's well-woven cast of characters (which were assigned particularly interesting names and a fair share of quirks) lit up the book, even in it's most maddening moments.
Stargirl Caraway will always be the same kindhearted freespirit, with her happy wagon and penny-pitching tendencies, but I sensed a "weakness". That weakness happened Stargirl's crazy friend, named Perry Dellopane, and happened to be the most maddening literary character I'd ever come across. Reminding me much of Gilmore Girls' Jess Mariano, Perry was character I hated to hate.
Though I read Stargirl years prior to reading it's ever-fascinating sequel, "Love, Stargirl", it's still safe to say that a sequel can never outdo it's original.
However, Spinelli's "Love, Stargirl" was a book I loved to love.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

     

 

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
mister max.jpg
In Act III of Newbery Medalist Cynthia Voigt’s Mister Max...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macbeth #killingit (OMG Shakespeare series)
Macbeth, one of the greatest stories ever told . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)