Main Street: Welcome to Camden Falls (Book 1)

Main Street: Welcome to Camden Falls (Book 1)

 
0.0
 
4.2 (3)
1141   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
ISBN
9780439868792
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.2
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.3  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Main Street #1: Welcome to Camden Falls by Ann M. Martin

Overall, I really liked this book because it is easy to understand and the plot is interesting and the characters are heratwarming.

Good Points
How Ann M. Martin explained the characters' personalities was excellent. The "Peek in the Row Houses", were the author explains what is happening in each of the row houses is wonderful and easy to understand.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

not the bst

Reader reviewed by tf3196

ok so here are theese two kids whoose parents die. they move with their grandma to camden falls even though they don;t reall want to. the learn to adapt to life there and meet new friends. with some adventures, friends, and courage they find out some things that the never realy thought of

this book is a begging to a series. it's boring and a not unique. i hope this series can make it's w ay back up!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Shaky Start to a New Series

Reader reviewed by Amanda

Ok, I'll admit it. I loved the Babysitter's Club series when I was younger. Loved it. I had every single book, special book, mystery book, Superspecial...every one (up to like 126, then I lost interest). Then stupid me went and sold them at a garage sale. What I was thinking, I don't know, but now I find myself scouring thrift stores for old copies, just to have possession of them again (NOT the ones with the new covers...yuck). Well now, Ms. Martin has introduced us to another series, one that centers on orphaned girls and their new life in a small town. Is it up to the Babysitter's Club level in my eyes? No. :-(


Welcome to Camden Falls follows Flora and Ruby as they move from the only home they've ever known to Camden Falls. They are going to live with their grandmother, Min, after their parents tragically die in a car accident. The girls are frightened and worried, as anyone would be, but they seem to handle the transition well. The girls and Min will live in a house connected to 8 other houses, which is lovingly named The Row Houses. All the neighbors love each other and have block parties all the time. Camden Falls is a lovely small town, where everyone knows everyone else and goes into Min's store, Needle and Thread to share the local gossip and to chat. The girls quickly make a myriad of friends, solve a mystery, and mourn their parents all in just about 125 pages.


This series could be great...I'll have to read the next installment to truly judge, but I think waay too much happened in the first novel. It got confusing at times. Were Flora and Ruby trying to deal with their parent's deaths or were they trying to solve the mystery of a shoplifter? Was Flora helping a neighbor starting to lose his mind to dementia or was she busy with sewing projects. Too much happening and too many characters had starring roles. However, Martin did that with the Babysitter's Club and I enjoyed that, so we'll see what happens after I read a couple more in the series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Exo
It’s been a century of peace since Earth became a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Lion Inside
From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Scotland is in my blood... All sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)