Books Kids Fiction Main Street: Welcome to Camden Falls (Book 1)

Main Street: Welcome to Camden Falls (Book 1)

 
0.0
 
3.3 (3)
724   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
ISBN
9780439868792
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.3  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall, I really liked this book because it is easy to understand and the plot is interesting and the characters are heratwarming.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Paulina Ruiz Reviewed by Paulina Ruiz March 09, 2013
  -   View all my reviews (1)

Main Street #1: Welcome to Camden Falls by Ann M. Martin

Overall, I really liked this book because it is easy to understand and the plot is interesting and the characters are heratwarming.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by tf3196

ok so here are theese two kids whoose parents die. they move with their grandma to camden falls even though they don;t reall want to. the learn to adapt to life there and meet new friends. with some adventures, friends, and courage they find out some things that the never realy thought of

this book is a begging to a series. it's boring and a not unique. i hope this series can make it's w ay back up!
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader April 18, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

not the bst

Reader reviewed by tf3196

ok so here are theese two kids whoose parents die. they move with their grandma to camden falls even though they don;t reall want to. the learn to adapt to life there and meet new friends. with some adventures, friends, and courage they find out some things that the never realy thought of

this book is a begging to a series. it's boring and a not unique. i hope this series can make it's w ay back up!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Amanda

Ok, I'll admit it. I loved the Babysitter's Club series when I was younger. Loved it. I had every single book, special book, mystery book, Superspecial...every one (up to like 126, then I lost interest). Then stupid me went and sold them at a garage sale. What I was thinking, I don't know, but now I find myself scouring thrift stores for old copies, just to have possession of them again (NOT the ones with the new covers...yuck). Well now, Ms. Martin has introduced us to another series, one that centers on orphaned girls and their new life in a small town. Is it up to the Babysitter's Club level in my eyes? No. :-(


Welcome to Camden Falls follows Flora and Ruby as they move from the only home they've ever known to Camden Falls. They are going to live with their grandmother, Min, after their parents tragically die in a car accident. The girls are frightened and worried, as anyone would be, but they seem to handle the transition well. The girls and Min will live in a house connected to 8 other houses, which is lovingly named The Row Houses. All the neighbors love each other and have block parties all the time. Camden Falls is a lovely small town, where everyone knows everyone else and goes into Min's store, Needle and Thread to share the local gossip and to chat. The girls quickly make a myriad of friends, solve a mystery, and mourn their parents all in just about 125 pages.


This series could be great...I'll have to read the next installment to truly judge, but I think waay too much happened in the first novel. It got confusing at times. Were Flora and Ruby trying to deal with their parent's deaths or were they trying to solve the mystery of a shoplifter? Was Flora helping a neighbor starting to lose his mind to dementia or was she busy with sewing projects. Too much happening and too many characters had starring roles. However, Martin did that with the Babysitter's Club and I enjoyed that, so we'll see what happens after I read a couple more in the series.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 16, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A Shaky Start to a New Series

Reader reviewed by Amanda

Ok, I'll admit it. I loved the Babysitter's Club series when I was younger. Loved it. I had every single book, special book, mystery book, Superspecial...every one (up to like 126, then I lost interest). Then stupid me went and sold them at a garage sale. What I was thinking, I don't know, but now I find myself scouring thrift stores for old copies, just to have possession of them again (NOT the ones with the new covers...yuck). Well now, Ms. Martin has introduced us to another series, one that centers on orphaned girls and their new life in a small town. Is it up to the Babysitter's Club level in my eyes? No. :-(


Welcome to Camden Falls follows Flora and Ruby as they move from the only home they've ever known to Camden Falls. They are going to live with their grandmother, Min, after their parents tragically die in a car accident. The girls are frightened and worried, as anyone would be, but they seem to handle the transition well. The girls and Min will live in a house connected to 8 other houses, which is lovingly named The Row Houses. All the neighbors love each other and have block parties all the time. Camden Falls is a lovely small town, where everyone knows everyone else and goes into Min's store, Needle and Thread to share the local gossip and to chat. The girls quickly make a myriad of friends, solve a mystery, and mourn their parents all in just about 125 pages.


This series could be great...I'll have to read the next installment to truly judge, but I think waay too much happened in the first novel. It got confusing at times. Were Flora and Ruby trying to deal with their parent's deaths or were they trying to solve the mystery of a shoplifter? Was Flora helping a neighbor starting to lose his mind to dementia or was she busy with sewing projects. Too much happening and too many characters had starring roles. However, Martin did that with the Babysitter's Club and I enjoyed that, so we'll see what happens after I read a couple more in the series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)