James and the Giant Peach

James and the Giant Peach

 
0.0
 
4.6 (4)
1177   0
Write Review
James and the Giant Peach
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 12, 1961
ISBN
0375814248
Buy This Book
      
Roald Dahl was a champion of the underdog and all things little—in this case, an orphaned boy oppressed by two nasty, self-centered aunts. How James escapes his miserable life with the horrible aunts and becomes a hero is a Dahlicious fantasy of the highest order. You will never forget resourceful little James and his new family of magically overgrown insects—a ladybug, a spider, a grasshopper, a glowworm, a silkworm, and the chronic complainer, a centipede with a hundred gorgeous shoes. Their adventures aboard a luscious peach as large as a house take them across the Atlantic Ocean, through waters infested with peach-eating sharks and skies inhabited by malevolent Cloudmen, to a ticker-tape parade in New York City. This happily ever after contemporary fairy tale is a twentieth-century classic that every child deserves to know. And Lane Smith's endearingly funny illustrations are a perfect match for the text.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.6
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.8  (4)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

2nd Best Dahl Book

Great book, my favorite part was when the peach landedon top of the Empire State Building, My #1 Dahl book i Charlie And The Chocalate Factory.

Good Points
Very well written.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fantastic Read

I've read a few of Roald Dahl's book and have to say this is one of his best ones. It was simply magical. Loved the chracters. James was so likeable that I wanted to adopt him myself. This is a great book to read if you want to escape your reality for a moment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

James and the Giant Peach

Reader reviewed by K.T.

This book is a fantastic adventure story with the classic Roald Dahl twist,eccentric characters and an extraordinary journey.It all starts with an old shabby house on a hill,to the sea,into the clouds,and forward to New York City.Every event is a memorable one that's sure to capture any reader's imagination.I would suggest James and the Giant Peach to anyone in search of a one of a kind story.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

An amazing classic

Reader reviewed by Amanda

Though I read this book several times as a child, the last time was well over 12 years ago and this reread was just as wonderful as the first time I read it.


Readers can still get lost in the story of James, a young boy sent to live with his two horrible Aunts after his parents are tragically killed. He is beaten, starved, and incredibly unhappy until something magical happens to an ordinary tree in his yard. After a mysterious concoction is given to him (and subsequently spilled on the ground), an enormous peach grows high at the top of this tree, eventually growing large enough that it can house James and his miraculous new friends, the Centipede, Miss Spider, Ladybug, Grasshopper, Gloworm (a lightening bug here in the states), and a silkworm. Working together, this interesting and complex group work together to bring the peach all the way across the Atlantic Ocean, ending up in good ole' New York City.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

The Blazing Bridge (The Blood Guard Book 3)
Ronan Truelove’s best friend, scrappy smart aleck Greta Sustermann, has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Amina's Voice
A Pakistani-American Muslim girl struggles to stay true to her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goose on a Farm
When Sophie and Goose go on a class trip to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears
Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A demigod who can kill with a touch. It's an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)