Books Kids Fiction James and the Giant Peach

James and the Giant Peach

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/8d/26/1d/5350_6689-1348256746.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
629   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 12, 1961
ISBN
0375814248
Buy This Book
      
Roald Dahl was a champion of the underdog and all things little—in this case, an orphaned boy oppressed by two nasty, self-centered aunts. How James escapes his miserable life with the horrible aunts and becomes a hero is a Dahlicious fantasy of the highest order. You will never forget resourceful little James and his new family of magically overgrown insects—a ladybug, a spider, a grasshopper, a glowworm, a silkworm, and the chronic complainer, a centipede with a hundred gorgeous shoes. Their adventures aboard a luscious peach as large as a house take them across the Atlantic Ocean, through waters infested with peach-eating sharks and skies inhabited by malevolent Cloudmen, to a ticker-tape parade in New York City. This happily ever after contemporary fairy tale is a twentieth-century classic that every child deserves to know. And Lane Smith's endearingly funny illustrations are a perfect match for the text.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.8  (4)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Great book, my favorite part was when the peach landedon top of the Empire State Building, My #1 Dahl book i Charlie And The Chocalate Factory.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Andrew Reviewed by Andrew April 25, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

2nd Best Dahl Book

Great book, my favorite part was when the peach landedon top of the Empire State Building, My #1 Dahl book i Charlie And The Chocalate Factory.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've read a few of Roald Dahl's book and have to say this is one of his best ones. It was simply magical. Loved the chracters. James was so likeable that I wanted to adopt him myself. This is a great book to read if you want to escape your reality for a moment.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Alecia Stone Reviewed by Alecia Stone February 12, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (44)

Fantastic Read

I've read a few of Roald Dahl's book and have to say this is one of his best ones. It was simply magical. Loved the chracters. James was so likeable that I wanted to adopt him myself. This is a great book to read if you want to escape your reality for a moment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by K.T.

This book is a fantastic adventure story with the classic Roald Dahl twist,eccentric characters and an extraordinary journey.It all starts with an old shabby house on a hill,to the sea,into the clouds,and forward to New York City.Every event is a memorable one that's sure to capture any reader's imagination.I would suggest James and the Giant Peach to anyone in search of a one of a kind story.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader September 18, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

James and the Giant Peach

Reader reviewed by K.T.

This book is a fantastic adventure story with the classic Roald Dahl twist,eccentric characters and an extraordinary journey.It all starts with an old shabby house on a hill,to the sea,into the clouds,and forward to New York City.Every event is a memorable one that's sure to capture any reader's imagination.I would suggest James and the Giant Peach to anyone in search of a one of a kind story.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Amanda

Though I read this book several times as a child, the last time was well over 12 years ago and this reread was just as wonderful as the first time I read it.


Readers can still get lost in the story of James, a young boy sent to live with his two horrible Aunts after his parents are tragically killed. He is beaten, starved, and incredibly unhappy until something magical happens to an ordinary tree in his yard. After a mysterious concoction is given to him (and subsequently spilled on the ground), an enormous peach grows high at the top of this tree, eventually growing large enough that it can house James and his miraculous new friends, the Centipede, Miss Spider, Ladybug, Grasshopper, Gloworm (a lightening bug here in the states), and a silkworm. Working together, this interesting and complex group work together to bring the peach all the way across the Atlantic Ocean, ending up in good ole' New York City.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader July 14, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

An amazing classic

Reader reviewed by Amanda

Though I read this book several times as a child, the last time was well over 12 years ago and this reread was just as wonderful as the first time I read it.


Readers can still get lost in the story of James, a young boy sent to live with his two horrible Aunts after his parents are tragically killed. He is beaten, starved, and incredibly unhappy until something magical happens to an ordinary tree in his yard. After a mysterious concoction is given to him (and subsequently spilled on the ground), an enormous peach grows high at the top of this tree, eventually growing large enough that it can house James and his miraculous new friends, the Centipede, Miss Spider, Ladybug, Grasshopper, Gloworm (a lightening bug here in the states), and a silkworm. Working together, this interesting and complex group work together to bring the peach all the way across the Atlantic Ocean, ending up in good ole' New York City.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)