Books Kids Fiction James and the Giant Peach

James and the Giant Peach

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/8d/26/1d/5350_6689-1348256746.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
687   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 12, 1961
ISBN
0375814248
Buy This Book
      
Roald Dahl was a champion of the underdog and all things little—in this case, an orphaned boy oppressed by two nasty, self-centered aunts. How James escapes his miserable life with the horrible aunts and becomes a hero is a Dahlicious fantasy of the highest order. You will never forget resourceful little James and his new family of magically overgrown insects—a ladybug, a spider, a grasshopper, a glowworm, a silkworm, and the chronic complainer, a centipede with a hundred gorgeous shoes. Their adventures aboard a luscious peach as large as a house take them across the Atlantic Ocean, through waters infested with peach-eating sharks and skies inhabited by malevolent Cloudmen, to a ticker-tape parade in New York City. This happily ever after contemporary fairy tale is a twentieth-century classic that every child deserves to know. And Lane Smith's endearingly funny illustrations are a perfect match for the text.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.8  (4)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Great book, my favorite part was when the peach landedon top of the Empire State Building, My #1 Dahl book i Charlie And The Chocalate Factory.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Andrew Reviewed by Andrew April 25, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

2nd Best Dahl Book

Great book, my favorite part was when the peach landedon top of the Empire State Building, My #1 Dahl book i Charlie And The Chocalate Factory.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've read a few of Roald Dahl's book and have to say this is one of his best ones. It was simply magical. Loved the chracters. James was so likeable that I wanted to adopt him myself. This is a great book to read if you want to escape your reality for a moment.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Alecia Stone Reviewed by Alecia Stone February 12, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (44)

Fantastic Read

I've read a few of Roald Dahl's book and have to say this is one of his best ones. It was simply magical. Loved the chracters. James was so likeable that I wanted to adopt him myself. This is a great book to read if you want to escape your reality for a moment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by K.T.

This book is a fantastic adventure story with the classic Roald Dahl twist,eccentric characters and an extraordinary journey.It all starts with an old shabby house on a hill,to the sea,into the clouds,and forward to New York City.Every event is a memorable one that's sure to capture any reader's imagination.I would suggest James and the Giant Peach to anyone in search of a one of a kind story.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader September 18, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

James and the Giant Peach

Reader reviewed by K.T.

This book is a fantastic adventure story with the classic Roald Dahl twist,eccentric characters and an extraordinary journey.It all starts with an old shabby house on a hill,to the sea,into the clouds,and forward to New York City.Every event is a memorable one that's sure to capture any reader's imagination.I would suggest James and the Giant Peach to anyone in search of a one of a kind story.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Amanda

Though I read this book several times as a child, the last time was well over 12 years ago and this reread was just as wonderful as the first time I read it.


Readers can still get lost in the story of James, a young boy sent to live with his two horrible Aunts after his parents are tragically killed. He is beaten, starved, and incredibly unhappy until something magical happens to an ordinary tree in his yard. After a mysterious concoction is given to him (and subsequently spilled on the ground), an enormous peach grows high at the top of this tree, eventually growing large enough that it can house James and his miraculous new friends, the Centipede, Miss Spider, Ladybug, Grasshopper, Gloworm (a lightening bug here in the states), and a silkworm. Working together, this interesting and complex group work together to bring the peach all the way across the Atlantic Ocean, ending up in good ole' New York City.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader July 14, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

An amazing classic

Reader reviewed by Amanda

Though I read this book several times as a child, the last time was well over 12 years ago and this reread was just as wonderful as the first time I read it.


Readers can still get lost in the story of James, a young boy sent to live with his two horrible Aunts after his parents are tragically killed. He is beaten, starved, and incredibly unhappy until something magical happens to an ordinary tree in his yard. After a mysterious concoction is given to him (and subsequently spilled on the ground), an enormous peach grows high at the top of this tree, eventually growing large enough that it can house James and his miraculous new friends, the Centipede, Miss Spider, Ladybug, Grasshopper, Gloworm (a lightening bug here in the states), and a silkworm. Working together, this interesting and complex group work together to bring the peach all the way across the Atlantic Ocean, ending up in good ole' New York City.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)