Chill (Kelpies)

Chill (Kelpies)

 
5.0
 
3.3 (3)
2112   0
Write Review
Chill (Kelpies)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 01, 2006
ISBN
0863155464
Buy This Book
      
Samuel is trapped by huge snow drifts in an old, remote house. And that's not the only thing causing a cold shiver to creep down his spine. He feels like the ghostly figure in the locked library has a message ... but who is it for? Set on bleak Sheriffmuir near Stirling, this is a spooky tale of the past returning to haunt the present.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Good and scary

Samuel just knows there's something wrong at the spooky, medieval Scottish mansion he and his mother live next to. Suddenly snowbound on the remote country estate and pursued by a mysterious and terrifying Weeping Woman, Samuel and his new friend Fiona have to figure out how to appease this ancient ghost before she takes another life.

Alex Nye's unadorned prose perfectly captures the chilling feeling of being trapped in a cold and forbidding--yet still beautiful--landscape and being watched day and night by a menacing presence. This story is gripping, and one of the scariest I've read. Another fine example of modern Scottish literature with a dash of historical romance thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Teen Stress-Reliever

Reader reviewed by designsbymikayla

This book is a self-help guide to understanding/ interpreting and dealing with stress as a teenager. Just as the front cover illustrates it is filled with "Stress-Reducing Techniques for a More Balanced, Peaceful You."


The book begins by explaining what stress is and the causes and effects of it. Then the book moves on to explain certain stressful situations and the body's natural reactions to these situations. As this is explained there are many different forms of exercises to allow for further understanding of the subject matter, such as journals and yoga. At the end of each chapter there are journal prompts and questions/answers from the author.


After these points are understood, stress relief methods are explored. Some examples are exercise, a new/more nutritious diet, volunteering, and writing. I found that exercise and writing are great stress relievers but, what works is based upon personal circumstance and opinion. The book explains that stress can impact every area of our lives and it is important to be conscious of its influence and the cause for such stress.


Overall, I found this book to be both informative and helpful. The author relates to teenagers well and expresses many stress-relief techniques. This book would be helpful to anyone from middle school to college and is inspirational to all people. The information may be geared toward a young age group, but I believe the information within this book would be of use to all. It is books like this that we turn to in times of stress. Thank you, Deborah Reber, for writing this book!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Great Self-Help Book

Reader reviewed by ambeen

I have read several self books before and I think CHILL was one of the best yet. Reber provides many insightful de-stressing techniques and ways to remove clutter from your life to help keep the stress away.

I applied several of her techniques right away. I especially liked the tips on how to remove the clutter on the computer. My computer was a mess, but thanks to Reber, it is now much more organized.

My only complaint is that the book did become a little repetitive as it progressed, but this did not detract from the overall pacing. I would also have liked to see more tips on dealing with self doubt. While briefly touched, I feel it was less focused on than stress from other sources.

A lot of what Reber discusses is what I had to learn the hard way because I didnt have a book like this. I think if I had read this when I was beginning high school, I may have been able to save myself some from unneeded stress. I highly recommend this book to teenagers, especially if youre just beginning high school. It is a tough time and CHILL could definitely help you out with the stressful world of high school.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Stress Reducing

Reader reviewed by Hillary

Long days? Not enough sleep? Feeling stressed out? Chill is a nonfiction book about teaching teens to reduce their stress and become more peaceful.

This book teaches you many things about stress. What causes it, the effects on your body, and ways to get rid or, of at least reduce, it.

The explanations throughout the book were very interesting. I liked that the book opened up with an explanation of what stress does to our body and mind. It shows why reducing or eliminating stress is needed to have a peaceful life. With this introduction, the reader is more likely to continue on in order to find a way to control their own stress.

In the chapters on the techniques suggested to reduce the stress, there were many different parts of each category. There were the explanations of the stress, the ways to reduce that stress, a way to make sure that you continue to do it, a quiz, an affirmation, tips from an expert, and an ask Debbie section. There were questions from teens and pictures throughout the book as well as places for the reader to fill out and write.

I found many of the techniques and suggestions in the book very helpful. Especially the ones on organization. I would definitely recommend this book if you feel like you're too stressed out or if you would like a nice nonfiction book to read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."
Dance of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #1)
 
5.0
"Absolutely fantastic! "Dance of Thieves" is a really wonderful YA fantasy that takes place in the world of 'The Remnant..."