Books Kids Fiction Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep (Emily Windsnap #2)

Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep (Emily Windsnap #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e3/b5/3f/5182_161653-1353421450.jpg
 
0.0
 
2.0 (1)
883   1
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 11, 2006
ISBN
0763625043
Buy This Book
      
An enchanting tale with a fabulous monster, engaging characters, plenty of mermaid magic, and a page-turning story, Liz Kessler's new middle-grade fantasy has all the charm and warmth of its predecessor, THE TAIL OF EMILY WINDSNAP.

Picture an island set in a glittering blue sea, sparkling with white sand and palm trees, a secret place where humans and merfolk live together and where a girl who grows a mermaid's tail when she enters the water is not considered a problem. To Emily Windsnap - half mermaid, half human - her new home is perfect. That is, until Emily ruins everything by waking a legendary sea monster known as the Kraken from its hundred-year sleep. As the Kraken rises from the deep, putting the future of the islanders in jeopardy, Emily makes a desperate attempt to save them. But how could she have dreamed that her best friend, Shona, would stop talking to her, or that Mandy Rushton, her old enemy from junior high, would turn up when least expected?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by tay3196

the book i will be reviewing is emily windsnap and the monster of the deep. this book is for pre teens to early adults. One of the books main characters is a young 12 year old girl named emily windsnap. When she goes into water she transforms into a mermaid but when her body is in air she is a human. Emily in the last book has just recently rescued her dad from jail. ( her dad is a mermaid and mom is a human). Her dad has been in the ocean jail for emily's whole life. So emily and her dad don't know eachother very well. ( read first book if you want more). So they move to a island where no one will discover them because they are mermaids.there emily's best friend shona comes and visits with her. well there is a tale that something dark and deeep lives near the ocean. it's said that it sucks you in and takes you to the darkness of the ocean.One day emily goes out exploring and starts getting pulled in torwards the ocean. she does everything she cant to pull away. luckily she can. So she goes back to the island and sticks close to shore. A couple of days later emily and shona go off with other mermaids there age ti explore, the two other memaids take them to a place that is forbidden. they show them the most beautiful place ever. The other two mermaids are told not to go in there and they tell emily and shona.Well the girls can't help themselves and go in. there they swim through a tunnel and come to a room filled with TONS of gems! so they go into another tunnel. they throw down a rock that they pushed and something happens. the water starts to stir and there is a loud noise. all of a sudden out comes a big huge what appears to be octupus. they run away and luckily make it. over the next days huge tidal waves are going everyway. Then Neptune comes. ( neptune is the ruler of the ocean) He says somone woke up the kraken. so emily tells her dada that is was her who woke up the kracken.She learns that the only way she can control the kraken is if she and shona ( who woke it ) go and face it. they are now the ones who control the kraken. so when they go to control it neptune says to give it over to him. well emily and shona don't want to do that because it would mean destruction and killing lives ( kraken was made to kill anyone or anything that comes anywhere near it). so the kraken gets confused cause the girls are taking too long to decide what to do. The kraken takes emily inderwater. everyone thinks hse's gonna die. she will die. The only way she won't die is if Neptune gives up his beloved precious monster and let him roam freely. so he does. soon emily is saved. So then the monster roams freely and theisland is restored back to it's peace.

this book has quite a bit of intense action. i really enjoyed. i would recemond reading the first book befor it. It help and clues in on a lot of important information. thanks for reading my review and i hope if you read the book you will like it
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 19, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Emily Windsnap and the monster from the Deep

Reader reviewed by tay3196

the book i will be reviewing is emily windsnap and the monster of the deep. this book is for pre teens to early adults. One of the books main characters is a young 12 year old girl named emily windsnap. When she goes into water she transforms into a mermaid but when her body is in air she is a human. Emily in the last book has just recently rescued her dad from jail. ( her dad is a mermaid and mom is a human). Her dad has been in the ocean jail for emily's whole life. So emily and her dad don't know eachother very well. ( read first book if you want more). So they move to a island where no one will discover them because they are mermaids.there emily's best friend shona comes and visits with her. well there is a tale that something dark and deeep lives near the ocean. it's said that it sucks you in and takes you to the darkness of the ocean.One day emily goes out exploring and starts getting pulled in torwards the ocean. she does everything she cant to pull away. luckily she can. So she goes back to the island and sticks close to shore. A couple of days later emily and shona go off with other mermaids there age ti explore, the two other memaids take them to a place that is forbidden. they show them the most beautiful place ever. The other two mermaids are told not to go in there and they tell emily and shona.Well the girls can't help themselves and go in. there they swim through a tunnel and come to a room filled with TONS of gems! so they go into another tunnel. they throw down a rock that they pushed and something happens. the water starts to stir and there is a loud noise. all of a sudden out comes a big huge what appears to be octupus. they run away and luckily make it. over the next days huge tidal waves are going everyway. Then Neptune comes. ( neptune is the ruler of the ocean) He says somone woke up the kraken. so emily tells her dada that is was her who woke up the kracken.She learns that the only way she can control the kraken is if she and shona ( who woke it ) go and face it. they are now the ones who control the kraken. so when they go to control it neptune says to give it over to him. well emily and shona don't want to do that because it would mean destruction and killing lives ( kraken was made to kill anyone or anything that comes anywhere near it). so the kraken gets confused cause the girls are taking too long to decide what to do. The kraken takes emily inderwater. everyone thinks hse's gonna die. she will die. The only way she won't die is if Neptune gives up his beloved precious monster and let him roam freely. so he does. soon emily is saved. So then the monster roams freely and theisland is restored back to it's peace.

this book has quite a bit of intense action. i really enjoyed. i would recemond reading the first book befor it. It help and clues in on a lot of important information. thanks for reading my review and i hope if you read the book you will like it

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)