Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep (Emily Windsnap #2)

Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep (Emily Windsnap #2)

 
0.0
 
2.0 (1)
1217   1
Write Review
Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep (Emily Windsnap #2)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 11, 2006
ISBN
0763625043
Buy This Book
      
An enchanting tale with a fabulous monster, engaging characters, plenty of mermaid magic, and a page-turning story, Liz Kessler's new middle-grade fantasy has all the charm and warmth of its predecessor, THE TAIL OF EMILY WINDSNAP.

Picture an island set in a glittering blue sea, sparkling with white sand and palm trees, a secret place where humans and merfolk live together and where a girl who grows a mermaid's tail when she enters the water is not considered a problem. To Emily Windsnap - half mermaid, half human - her new home is perfect. That is, until Emily ruins everything by waking a legendary sea monster known as the Kraken from its hundred-year sleep. As the Kraken rises from the deep, putting the future of the islanders in jeopardy, Emily makes a desperate attempt to save them. But how could she have dreamed that her best friend, Shona, would stop talking to her, or that Mandy Rushton, her old enemy from junior high, would turn up when least expected?

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Emily Windsnap and the monster from the Deep

Reader reviewed by tay3196

the book i will be reviewing is emily windsnap and the monster of the deep. this book is for pre teens to early adults. One of the books main characters is a young 12 year old girl named emily windsnap. When she goes into water she transforms into a mermaid but when her body is in air she is a human. Emily in the last book has just recently rescued her dad from jail. ( her dad is a mermaid and mom is a human). Her dad has been in the ocean jail for emily's whole life. So emily and her dad don't know eachother very well. ( read first book if you want more). So they move to a island where no one will discover them because they are mermaids.there emily's best friend shona comes and visits with her. well there is a tale that something dark and deeep lives near the ocean. it's said that it sucks you in and takes you to the darkness of the ocean.One day emily goes out exploring and starts getting pulled in torwards the ocean. she does everything she cant to pull away. luckily she can. So she goes back to the island and sticks close to shore. A couple of days later emily and shona go off with other mermaids there age ti explore, the two other memaids take them to a place that is forbidden. they show them the most beautiful place ever. The other two mermaids are told not to go in there and they tell emily and shona.Well the girls can't help themselves and go in. there they swim through a tunnel and come to a room filled with TONS of gems! so they go into another tunnel. they throw down a rock that they pushed and something happens. the water starts to stir and there is a loud noise. all of a sudden out comes a big huge what appears to be octupus. they run away and luckily make it. over the next days huge tidal waves are going everyway. Then Neptune comes. ( neptune is the ruler of the ocean) He says somone woke up the kraken. so emily tells her dada that is was her who woke up the kracken.She learns that the only way she can control the kraken is if she and shona ( who woke it ) go and face it. they are now the ones who control the kraken. so when they go to control it neptune says to give it over to him. well emily and shona don't want to do that because it would mean destruction and killing lives ( kraken was made to kill anyone or anything that comes anywhere near it). so the kraken gets confused cause the girls are taking too long to decide what to do. The kraken takes emily inderwater. everyone thinks hse's gonna die. she will die. The only way she won't die is if Neptune gives up his beloved precious monster and let him roam freely. so he does. soon emily is saved. So then the monster roams freely and theisland is restored back to it's peace.

this book has quite a bit of intense action. i really enjoyed. i would recemond reading the first book befor it. It help and clues in on a lot of important information. thanks for reading my review and i hope if you read the book you will like it

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)