Books Kids Fiction Angel on the Square (Angel on the Square #1)

Angel on the Square (Angel on the Square #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/75/34/b7/489_541844-1349885753.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.7 (3)
579   0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
August 21, 2001
ISBN
0060290307
Buy This Book
      
It is a golden time for the aristocracy of St. Petersburg in the fall of 1914. The daughter of a lady-in-waiting, Katya Ivanova is safe behind palace walls. She takes her vacations on the imperial yacht and her tea with the Tsar's daughters. The royal family feels like her own.But outside the palace, a devastating war sweeps through Europe, and deep unrest takes root in Russia. As the flame of revolution ignites in a country where the rich have always ruled, Katya's once-certain future dissolves.National Book Award-winning author Gloria Whelan transports readers to a crumbling, war-torn Russia, where one young woman, growing up in the shadow of a revolution, must take her future into her own hands.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Mary

This book tells the well- known tale of the Russian Revolution. We watch as Katya grows from a spoiled child to a mature adult. She has the views of two groups- she is a companion to the Last Tsar's daughter, Anastasia while still having a relative who possesses anti-tsar feelings. Katya will find herself torn between the two positions. The tale of the last tsar is told again in Gloria Whelan's beautiful prose and breathtaking accuracy.


Katya is a likeable narrator who will have readers rooting for her. The author writes the novel excellently, capturing both Katya's emotions and feelings as well as the historical significance of the time period.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader October 25, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Fascinating

Reader reviewed by Mary

This book tells the well- known tale of the Russian Revolution. We watch as Katya grows from a spoiled child to a mature adult. She has the views of two groups- she is a companion to the Last Tsar's daughter, Anastasia while still having a relative who possesses anti-tsar feelings. Katya will find herself torn between the two positions. The tale of the last tsar is told again in Gloria Whelan's beautiful prose and breathtaking accuracy.


Katya is a likeable narrator who will have readers rooting for her. The author writes the novel excellently, capturing both Katya's emotions and feelings as well as the historical significance of the time period.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Claire

"Angel on the Square" is a diary of a servant girl who is in service to the last Tsar of Russia's wife, Alexandra. The author Gloria Whelan uses a fictional character to portray the events leading up to the fall of the Tsar. By using fictional characters Whalen is able to capture the emotion of the period without hindering the main points. I enjoyed this book thourghly and want to read more of her writing.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 16, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Fictional Illusion, Historical Presidence

Reader reviewed by Claire

"Angel on the Square" is a diary of a servant girl who is in service to the last Tsar of Russia's wife, Alexandra. The author Gloria Whelan uses a fictional character to portray the events leading up to the fall of the Tsar. By using fictional characters Whalen is able to capture the emotion of the period without hindering the main points. I enjoyed this book thourghly and want to read more of her writing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Bacon

I belive it is a book that grabs your attention about life. The ephinany that the character finally come clear to her. it's like on a cold winter morning when you are about to drive the car, the snow is off the car, but still there's ice, and you keep on trying to get off to get a better, or to make it clear.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 02, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Realizing

Reader reviewed by Bacon

I belive it is a book that grabs your attention about life. The ephinany that the character finally come clear to her. it's like on a cold winter morning when you are about to drive the car, the snow is off the car, but still there's ice, and you keep on trying to get off to get a better, or to make it clear.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)