Books Kids Fiction Angel on the Square (Angel on the Square #1)

Angel on the Square (Angel on the Square #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/75/34/b7/489_541844-1349885753.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.7 (3)
524   0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
August 21, 2001
ISBN
0060290307
Buy This Book
      
It is a golden time for the aristocracy of St. Petersburg in the fall of 1914. The daughter of a lady-in-waiting, Katya Ivanova is safe behind palace walls. She takes her vacations on the imperial yacht and her tea with the Tsar's daughters. The royal family feels like her own.But outside the palace, a devastating war sweeps through Europe, and deep unrest takes root in Russia. As the flame of revolution ignites in a country where the rich have always ruled, Katya's once-certain future dissolves.National Book Award-winning author Gloria Whelan transports readers to a crumbling, war-torn Russia, where one young woman, growing up in the shadow of a revolution, must take her future into her own hands.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Mary

This book tells the well- known tale of the Russian Revolution. We watch as Katya grows from a spoiled child to a mature adult. She has the views of two groups- she is a companion to the Last Tsar's daughter, Anastasia while still having a relative who possesses anti-tsar feelings. Katya will find herself torn between the two positions. The tale of the last tsar is told again in Gloria Whelan's beautiful prose and breathtaking accuracy.


Katya is a likeable narrator who will have readers rooting for her. The author writes the novel excellently, capturing both Katya's emotions and feelings as well as the historical significance of the time period.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader October 25, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Fascinating

Reader reviewed by Mary

This book tells the well- known tale of the Russian Revolution. We watch as Katya grows from a spoiled child to a mature adult. She has the views of two groups- she is a companion to the Last Tsar's daughter, Anastasia while still having a relative who possesses anti-tsar feelings. Katya will find herself torn between the two positions. The tale of the last tsar is told again in Gloria Whelan's beautiful prose and breathtaking accuracy.


Katya is a likeable narrator who will have readers rooting for her. The author writes the novel excellently, capturing both Katya's emotions and feelings as well as the historical significance of the time period.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Claire

"Angel on the Square" is a diary of a servant girl who is in service to the last Tsar of Russia's wife, Alexandra. The author Gloria Whelan uses a fictional character to portray the events leading up to the fall of the Tsar. By using fictional characters Whalen is able to capture the emotion of the period without hindering the main points. I enjoyed this book thourghly and want to read more of her writing.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 16, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Fictional Illusion, Historical Presidence

Reader reviewed by Claire

"Angel on the Square" is a diary of a servant girl who is in service to the last Tsar of Russia's wife, Alexandra. The author Gloria Whelan uses a fictional character to portray the events leading up to the fall of the Tsar. By using fictional characters Whalen is able to capture the emotion of the period without hindering the main points. I enjoyed this book thourghly and want to read more of her writing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Bacon

I belive it is a book that grabs your attention about life. The ephinany that the character finally come clear to her. it's like on a cold winter morning when you are about to drive the car, the snow is off the car, but still there's ice, and you keep on trying to get off to get a better, or to make it clear.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 02, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Realizing

Reader reviewed by Bacon

I belive it is a book that grabs your attention about life. The ephinany that the character finally come clear to her. it's like on a cold winter morning when you are about to drive the car, the snow is off the car, but still there's ice, and you keep on trying to get off to get a better, or to make it clear.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)