Books Kids Fiction Angel on the Square (Angel on the Square #1)

Angel on the Square (Angel on the Square #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/75/34/b7/489_541844-1349885753.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.7 (3)
651   0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
August 21, 2001
ISBN
0060290307
Buy This Book
      
It is a golden time for the aristocracy of St. Petersburg in the fall of 1914. The daughter of a lady-in-waiting, Katya Ivanova is safe behind palace walls. She takes her vacations on the imperial yacht and her tea with the Tsar's daughters. The royal family feels like her own.But outside the palace, a devastating war sweeps through Europe, and deep unrest takes root in Russia. As the flame of revolution ignites in a country where the rich have always ruled, Katya's once-certain future dissolves.National Book Award-winning author Gloria Whelan transports readers to a crumbling, war-torn Russia, where one young woman, growing up in the shadow of a revolution, must take her future into her own hands.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Mary

This book tells the well- known tale of the Russian Revolution. We watch as Katya grows from a spoiled child to a mature adult. She has the views of two groups- she is a companion to the Last Tsar's daughter, Anastasia while still having a relative who possesses anti-tsar feelings. Katya will find herself torn between the two positions. The tale of the last tsar is told again in Gloria Whelan's beautiful prose and breathtaking accuracy.


Katya is a likeable narrator who will have readers rooting for her. The author writes the novel excellently, capturing both Katya's emotions and feelings as well as the historical significance of the time period.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader October 25, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Fascinating

Reader reviewed by Mary

This book tells the well- known tale of the Russian Revolution. We watch as Katya grows from a spoiled child to a mature adult. She has the views of two groups- she is a companion to the Last Tsar's daughter, Anastasia while still having a relative who possesses anti-tsar feelings. Katya will find herself torn between the two positions. The tale of the last tsar is told again in Gloria Whelan's beautiful prose and breathtaking accuracy.


Katya is a likeable narrator who will have readers rooting for her. The author writes the novel excellently, capturing both Katya's emotions and feelings as well as the historical significance of the time period.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Claire

"Angel on the Square" is a diary of a servant girl who is in service to the last Tsar of Russia's wife, Alexandra. The author Gloria Whelan uses a fictional character to portray the events leading up to the fall of the Tsar. By using fictional characters Whalen is able to capture the emotion of the period without hindering the main points. I enjoyed this book thourghly and want to read more of her writing.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 16, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Fictional Illusion, Historical Presidence

Reader reviewed by Claire

"Angel on the Square" is a diary of a servant girl who is in service to the last Tsar of Russia's wife, Alexandra. The author Gloria Whelan uses a fictional character to portray the events leading up to the fall of the Tsar. By using fictional characters Whalen is able to capture the emotion of the period without hindering the main points. I enjoyed this book thourghly and want to read more of her writing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Bacon

I belive it is a book that grabs your attention about life. The ephinany that the character finally come clear to her. it's like on a cold winter morning when you are about to drive the car, the snow is off the car, but still there's ice, and you keep on trying to get off to get a better, or to make it clear.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 02, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Realizing

Reader reviewed by Bacon

I belive it is a book that grabs your attention about life. The ephinany that the character finally come clear to her. it's like on a cold winter morning when you are about to drive the car, the snow is off the car, but still there's ice, and you keep on trying to get off to get a better, or to make it clear.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
This charming story about the summer three California sisters spend on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One
Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it's normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After almost a year in Japan, Katie Greene has finally unearthed the terrible secret behind her boyfriend Tomohiro's deadly ability...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned an easy summer of making art and hanging...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Do not ignore a call from me when you know I am feeling neurotic about a boy. That is Best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer has finally arrived and fifteen-year-old Harper McCallister intends to spend her days at the mall shopping or by the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
chain reactions.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
LEGO Chain Reactions is packed full of ideas, instructions, and inspiration for 10 LEGO machines that spin, swing, pivot, roll,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for teen readers who are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For decades, Sami has kept the key to the geniean and human races hidden. She is used to a life...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a riveting new stand-alone football novel. When...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)