Adventures of Tom Sawyer

Adventures of Tom Sawyer

 
0.0
 
4.2 (17)
1942   0
Write Review
Adventures of Tom Sawyer
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
December 31, 1969
ISBN
068807510X
Buy This Book
      
From the famous episodes of the whitewashed fence and the ordeal in the cave to the trial of Injun Joe, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is redolent of life in the Mississippi River towns in which Twain spent his own youth. A somber undercurrent flows through the high humor and unabashed nostalgia of the novel, however, for beneath the innocence of childhood lie the inequities of adult reality—base emotions and superstitions, murder and revenge, starvation and slavery. In his introduction, noted Twain scholar John Seelye considers Twain’s impact on American letters and discusses the balance between humorous escapades and serious concern that is found in much of Twain’s writing.

User reviews

17 reviews

 
(4)
 
(6)
 
(3)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Already have an account? or Create an account
View all reviews View most helpful
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Great!

Mark Twain writes about real life and the sense of wanting adventure. I read this in grade school, and it has stuck with me since then. The characters are all relateable and I think we can reason with them. Just another great classic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Adventure of Tom Sawyer: The Risk Taker

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is one of those books where it only starts to get exciting towards the middle. The story begins as Aunt Polly sends Tom to whitewash the fence to where he’s being tested for the murder of Dr. Robinson. This story is about a teenage boy who is eager to see the world outside of his little box, he may have the perfect life, but does it always goes according to plan?
The character Tom Sawyer is seemingly believable as how his lifestyle can relate to an enormous amount of teenagers around the world. His resilience and his thirst of discovering new things makes it easy for us to understand his way of thinking and the choices he makes. Tom may have the most ideal life that any teenage boy dreams of: the chance to get away from school and family to go on an odyssey of his own. After the death of his parents, Tom stays with his aunt Polly, who generous and warm hearted, even though Tom behaves in churlish ways, she still loves him no matter what. All the characters in the book all speak in a Missouri dialect which makes the book a little confusing and hard to understand their conversations between each other. And because their way of speech is very interesting, the simplicity makes it interesting and easy to understand.
In conclusion I would give this book a 4 out of 5 stars. The book itself is very interesting and eye catching, yet if the writer made the opening of the novel more compelling it would have grabbed more attention. I would recommend this book to late teenagers, because I think this book can relate to themselves, and to understand that we are all the same when we’re young, and that is we all make mistakes. And if you are an adult, it’ll bring back those happy childhood memories that you once had.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

An Adventure!

What a cast of interesting characters! And such an imaginative adventure. As a mom of boys, I can say with fervor that Mr. Twain nailed the psyche of the tween boy on the head. There's humor, drama, rebellion, misbehavior, consequences, uncertain relationships, crushes, family stuff, and it all reads like a fast-paced rolicking ride to the finish.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A classic

Reader reviewed by Tasmin

I read this because I every so often I read a book that is a classic. I expected it to be hard to read and dull. I was wrong. This book is fun and funny and very sweet. It was at times slightly difficult to read, but very much worth it. I'd read it again for a class project or even just for me and I'd recommend that others read it as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Awsome!

Reader reviewed by Camila

Awsome! Probably some children don't understand this book because it has too many hard words, but if you have time to check what the words mean you will be transported to Tom's world, you will find that the book is very interesting. Of course I'm talking about the original version.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Don't Judge too Quickly

Reader reviewed by abscae

It's about adventures of boys, boys having the time of their life.

I have to disagree with chatterbox891's and many others' review: this book was captivating. Not as good as Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, yet captivating. Just dissecting the way Tom Sawyer thinks has me amazed. And those who gave reviews with no basis, such as boring, etc. truly didn't give the book a chance from the beginning.

I guess we all have opinions, but this is definitely a book that people should read: it tells about a different life than we live, and is highly underestimated by the teen population.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

This book sucks.

Reader reviewed by Lesha

This book was writen in the 19th century. It is old and boring. No one should read it. Find another book to read. There are plenty of good books out there but this is not one of them. A stupid boy collects dumb trinkets and what not by trickery. He manages to go on lots of "adventures". They are all very boring. The most interesting part of the book is a murder and that is only one chapter.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

BORING!

Reader reviewed by Tiffany

In class we always get assigned books that look like they will be boring. Every time we read a book, though, it's really good. This book was just plain pitiful. Ha! A classic! Yeah, sure. All I know is I hope I never need to read "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn"!!! Don't read Tom Sawyer, unless you like boring books. (and believe me, some people do!)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

The Most Famous Kid in American Literature

Reader reviewed by Marietta

He's Tom Sawyer. He's naughty, brave and with great imagination.He secretly eats his aunt's jam, he swims in the river although he's not allowed to, he doesn't pay attention in class and constantly gets into all kinds of trouble. However, all readers love him. Why? Maybe because they've done the same at his age.

I like the book because it's full of thrilling adventures and funnny situatons. It's usually recommended to children, but for adults it would also be a delight to read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

I liked

Reader reviewed by Janet

This was a cute book, with silly little boy things. I would recommend it to younger tweens or whatever, but the context is a little hard to understand. So basically once you're able to read it, you're too old for it. But people read children's books all the time and like them. And some people just go for the classics. So if you're either, I would say to read this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
View all user reviews
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Lily and Dunkin
For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Secret Daughter of the Tsar
A compelling alternate history of the Romanov family in which...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Science Experiments You Can Eat
With revised and updated material, a brand-new look, and hours...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"MouseStar 1" is surrounded by floating space junk! It's yucky...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The famouse opera singer Violetta von Cacklefur is in Gloomeria...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Thea Sisters are visiting a friend in sunny California...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fault In Our Stars
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wandering Wild
"I believe in possibility. Of magic, of omens, of compasses,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hello, My Name Is Tiger
A reassuring picture book for back-to-school jitters! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Read Me Like A Book
In her first novel for young adults, New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What This Story Needs Is a Hush and a Shush
Join Pig in another fun read-aloud adventure on the farm...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Dork (Pack of Dorks #2)
Lucy and her pack are back, in this sequel to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where She Went (If I Stay #2)
It's been three years since the devastating accident . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird
Dill is a duck. A perfectly ordinary duck. At least...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2)
verything in Echo's life changed in a blinding flash when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Replica
Gemma has been in and out of hospitals since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)