The Grim Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events #11)

The Grim Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events #11)

 
0.0
 
3.8 (6)
1165   0
Write Review
The Grim Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events #11)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 21, 2004
ISBN
0060296429
Buy This Book
      
Warning: Your day will become very dark - and possibly damp - if you read this book.

Plan to spend this spring in hiding. Lemony Snicket is back with the eleventh book in his New York Times bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events.

Lemony Snicket's saga about the charming, intelligent and grossly unlucky Baudelaire orphans continues to provoke suspicion and despair in readers the world over. In the eleventh and most alarming volume yet in the bestselling phenomenon A Series of Unfortunate Events, the intrepid siblings delve further into the dark mystery surrounding the death of their parents and the baffling VFD organisation.

User reviews

6 reviews

5 stars
 
(0)
 
(4)
 
(1)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Grim Grotto audiobook review

Some interesting revelations in this one, but of course, more mysteries are introduced that sadly never get solved. I felt really bad for poor Klaus, what with his developing a crush only to have her switch sides on him.

Overall, I enjoyed the submarine/ocean setting, the underground cavern, and simultaneously learning more and less. The mysteries in this series will be the death of me, I tell you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

It is ok

Good book and lovely series, this isn't the best one out of them all I would say this it is ok.

In this book the Baudelaires are now in a submarine. If you have read the other books in the series you should know Olaf finds them, but they get away. My favorite part in the book is the ending when a new character is introduced, Kit Snicket.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Not so great.

Reader reviewed by tennisplayer

I read all the Series of Unfortunate Events books and of all of them this is the one I liked most. In this book Klaus, Sunny, and Violet Baudelaire are living with kind Jeremy Squalor and his evil wife Esme. This is also the book where they discover 3 mysterious letters. There is also a suprise adventure for them. This Series of Unfortunate Events book was very well written and exciting and I really reccomend it

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

a 3.5 out of 5

Reader reviewed by K.P.P.

This series is very interesting and this book was really turning around the characters and showing a different point of view from them. The kids are much more mature when they go on the undersea trip with the Captain. Of course they were trying to escape Count Olaf but this book was also showing how intelligent the kids can be with them really trying to get him.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Swimming, Swimming

Reader reviewed by Hinge_Pin

Who wants to get their feet wet? If you consider the poisonous fungus and the complete darkness, it couldn't be to bad right? This book was a wonderful example of the Baudeliers problems. Poor Sunny, gets sick and thankfully gets better. Klaus and Violet showed great control and caring when trying to heal their baby sister.
In this riviting story of the three orphans you dive into a story and mystery unknown. Meeting men who repeat everything they say at least twice or more, and watching some strange shape on the radar. This is a must read book for those who are Lemony Snicket fans. This book is a truly fun to read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A grim tale

Reader reviewed by safia

The Baudelaires have been on misadventure after misadventure since their parents have died. This time the Baudelaires find themselves from the Stricken Stream to a leaky submarine to a grim grotto filled with poisonous mushrooms. Throughout all this, will they manage to keep from the dreaded villian, Count Olaf? And will there ever be any joy or happiness for the poor Baudelaire orphans? Read to find out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Felipe Femur
 
5.0
"While this book in occupied by a cast of monsters, it is far from scary. It is also not solely..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
5.0
"I am so pleased by The Crystal of Atum. I love Aki and the Spheres of Time series. This book..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
4.8
"This is Aki’s third trip with the Sphere of Time. As usual, he ends up nowhere near the spot where..."
City of Grit and Gold
 
4.3
"'City of Grit and Gold' by Maud Macrory Powell offers a glimpse into the lives of those who came from..."
Good Boy, Achilles!
 
5.0
"Very nice book."
The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis
 
3.5
"'The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis' by Hannah Hoffman is more than your run-of-the-mill fantasy story. When Billy..."
Keys To The Sun
 
3.8
"‘Keys to the Sun’ tells the adventures of two brothers, Lucas and Parker Chase. They are in New Orléans to..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Cheating Death:  Book 3
 
3.5
"Jarod's tenure as Lord Greenwood gets even more complicated when he and Tommy figure out that each object has information..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Mischief Before Mastery:  Book 2
 
3.5
"Since Jarod was made Lord Kentwood, his extended family is being kept at the mansion for fear that someone will..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series: Priceless Inheritance:  Book 1
 
3.3
"Jarod's dysfunctional family is gathered for the reading of his grandfather's will. Jarod misses his grandfather, but the other are..."
The Crystal Of Nammu. Aki and the Spheres of Time #2
 
4.8
"I had great expectations for the second installment of the series Aki and the Spheres of Time and I enjoy..."
The Crystal Of Yggdrasil. Aki and the Spheres of Time #1
 
4.6
"An amazing surprise. Finished in almost one sitting. This should give an idea about how surprising it was. This is..."
The Crystal Of Nammu. Aki and the Spheres of Time #2
 
4.8
"This book is very entertaining with engaging characters and surprises at every turn. It was action packed, lots of fun,..."
 
5.0
"This book is nothing short of phenomenal. It truly feels like 4 books in one. It is the kind of..."
The Crystal Of Yggdrasil. Aki and the Spheres of Time #1
 
5.0
"Aki knows he has the strange ability to communicate with animals by reading their minds, but he is about to..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Vessel Of Safety:  Book 6
 
5.0
"Reader review of the series from Amazon: "By Pratt on December 2, 2015 I have read all..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  The Protected:  Book 5
 
5.0
"Reader review on the series from Amazon: "By Thatch on February 4, 2016 Wonderful read..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Solomon's Ring:  Book 4
 
5.0
"Reader Review on the series from Amazon: "By R.B. on May 22, 2014 I loved this..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Mischief Before Mastery:  Book 2
 
5.0
"Reader review from Amazon: "Spitzenberger on August 3, 2016 I have read the book #1- #2- #3-..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Cheating Death:  Book 3
 
5.0
"Actual Review from Amazon.com reader: "Cathleen C. Spitzenberger on August 3, 2016 I have read book #1- #2-..."