Books Kids Fiction The Grim Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events #11)

The Grim Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events #11)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/9b/56/35/3481_65111-1347848775.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.5 (6)
641   0
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 21, 2004
ISBN
0060296429
Buy This Book
      
Warning: Your day will become very dark - and possibly damp - if you read this book.

Plan to spend this spring in hiding. Lemony Snicket is back with the eleventh book in his New York Times bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events.

Lemony Snicket's saga about the charming, intelligent and grossly unlucky Baudelaire orphans continues to provoke suspicion and despair in readers the world over. In the eleventh and most alarming volume yet in the bestselling phenomenon A Series of Unfortunate Events, the intrepid siblings delve further into the dark mystery surrounding the death of their parents and the baffling VFD organisation.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.5  (6)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Some interesting revelations in this one, but of course, more mysteries are introduced that sadly never get solved. I felt really bad for poor Klaus, what with his developing a crush only to have her switch sides on him.

Overall, I enjoyed the submarine/ocean setting, the underground cavern, and simultaneously learning more and less. The mysteries in this series will be the death of me, I tell you.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Jasmine Reviewed by Jasmine October 19, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (326)

The Grim Grotto audiobook review

Some interesting revelations in this one, but of course, more mysteries are introduced that sadly never get solved. I felt really bad for poor Klaus, what with his developing a crush only to have her switch sides on him.

Overall, I enjoyed the submarine/ocean setting, the underground cavern, and simultaneously learning more and less. The mysteries in this series will be the death of me, I tell you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Good book and lovely series, this isn't the best one out of them all I would say this it is ok.

In this book the Baudelaires are now in a submarine. If you have read the other books in the series you should know Olaf finds them, but they get away. My favorite part in the book is the ending when a new character is introduced, Kit Snicket.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Rachelle Reviewed by Rachelle December 03, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (28)

It is ok

Good book and lovely series, this isn't the best one out of them all I would say this it is ok.

In this book the Baudelaires are now in a submarine. If you have read the other books in the series you should know Olaf finds them, but they get away. My favorite part in the book is the ending when a new character is introduced, Kit Snicket.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by tennisplayer

I read all the Series of Unfortunate Events books and of all of them this is the one I liked most. In this book Klaus, Sunny, and Violet Baudelaire are living with kind Jeremy Squalor and his evil wife Esme. This is also the book where they discover 3 mysterious letters. There is also a suprise adventure for them. This Series of Unfortunate Events book was very well written and exciting and I really reccomend it
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 23, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Not so great.

Reader reviewed by tennisplayer

I read all the Series of Unfortunate Events books and of all of them this is the one I liked most. In this book Klaus, Sunny, and Violet Baudelaire are living with kind Jeremy Squalor and his evil wife Esme. This is also the book where they discover 3 mysterious letters. There is also a suprise adventure for them. This Series of Unfortunate Events book was very well written and exciting and I really reccomend it

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by K.P.P.

This series is very interesting and this book was really turning around the characters and showing a different point of view from them. The kids are much more mature when they go on the undersea trip with the Captain. Of course they were trying to escape Count Olaf but this book was also showing how intelligent the kids can be with them really trying to get him.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader November 01, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

a 3.5 out of 5

Reader reviewed by K.P.P.

This series is very interesting and this book was really turning around the characters and showing a different point of view from them. The kids are much more mature when they go on the undersea trip with the Captain. Of course they were trying to escape Count Olaf but this book was also showing how intelligent the kids can be with them really trying to get him.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Hinge_Pin

Who wants to get their feet wet? If you consider the poisonous fungus and the complete darkness, it couldn't be to bad right? This book was a wonderful example of the Baudeliers problems. Poor Sunny, gets sick and thankfully gets better. Klaus and Violet showed great control and caring when trying to heal their baby sister.
In this riviting story of the three orphans you dive into a story and mystery unknown. Meeting men who repeat everything they say at least twice or more, and watching some strange shape on the radar. This is a must read book for those who are Lemony Snicket fans. This book is a truly fun to read.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 30, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Swimming, Swimming

Reader reviewed by Hinge_Pin

Who wants to get their feet wet? If you consider the poisonous fungus and the complete darkness, it couldn't be to bad right? This book was a wonderful example of the Baudeliers problems. Poor Sunny, gets sick and thankfully gets better. Klaus and Violet showed great control and caring when trying to heal their baby sister.
In this riviting story of the three orphans you dive into a story and mystery unknown. Meeting men who repeat everything they say at least twice or more, and watching some strange shape on the radar. This is a must read book for those who are Lemony Snicket fans. This book is a truly fun to read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by safia

The Baudelaires have been on misadventure after misadventure since their parents have died. This time the Baudelaires find themselves from the Stricken Stream to a leaky submarine to a grim grotto filled with poisonous mushrooms. Throughout all this, will they manage to keep from the dreaded villian, Count Olaf? And will there ever be any joy or happiness for the poor Baudelaire orphans? Read to find out!
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 22, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A grim tale

Reader reviewed by safia

The Baudelaires have been on misadventure after misadventure since their parents have died. This time the Baudelaires find themselves from the Stricken Stream to a leaky submarine to a grim grotto filled with poisonous mushrooms. Throughout all this, will they manage to keep from the dreaded villian, Count Olaf? And will there ever be any joy or happiness for the poor Baudelaire orphans? Read to find out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)