The Grim Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events #11)

The Grim Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events #11)

 
0.0
 
3.8 (6)
859   0
Write Review
The Grim Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events #11)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 21, 2004
ISBN
0060296429
Buy This Book
      
Warning: Your day will become very dark - and possibly damp - if you read this book.

Plan to spend this spring in hiding. Lemony Snicket is back with the eleventh book in his New York Times bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events.

Lemony Snicket's saga about the charming, intelligent and grossly unlucky Baudelaire orphans continues to provoke suspicion and despair in readers the world over. In the eleventh and most alarming volume yet in the bestselling phenomenon A Series of Unfortunate Events, the intrepid siblings delve further into the dark mystery surrounding the death of their parents and the baffling VFD organisation.

User reviews

6 reviews

5 stars
 
(0)
 
(4)
 
(1)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Grim Grotto audiobook review

Some interesting revelations in this one, but of course, more mysteries are introduced that sadly never get solved. I felt really bad for poor Klaus, what with his developing a crush only to have her switch sides on him.

Overall, I enjoyed the submarine/ocean setting, the underground cavern, and simultaneously learning more and less. The mysteries in this series will be the death of me, I tell you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

It is ok

Good book and lovely series, this isn't the best one out of them all I would say this it is ok.

In this book the Baudelaires are now in a submarine. If you have read the other books in the series you should know Olaf finds them, but they get away. My favorite part in the book is the ending when a new character is introduced, Kit Snicket.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Not so great.

Reader reviewed by tennisplayer

I read all the Series of Unfortunate Events books and of all of them this is the one I liked most. In this book Klaus, Sunny, and Violet Baudelaire are living with kind Jeremy Squalor and his evil wife Esme. This is also the book where they discover 3 mysterious letters. There is also a suprise adventure for them. This Series of Unfortunate Events book was very well written and exciting and I really reccomend it

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

a 3.5 out of 5

Reader reviewed by K.P.P.

This series is very interesting and this book was really turning around the characters and showing a different point of view from them. The kids are much more mature when they go on the undersea trip with the Captain. Of course they were trying to escape Count Olaf but this book was also showing how intelligent the kids can be with them really trying to get him.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Swimming, Swimming

Reader reviewed by Hinge_Pin

Who wants to get their feet wet? If you consider the poisonous fungus and the complete darkness, it couldn't be to bad right? This book was a wonderful example of the Baudeliers problems. Poor Sunny, gets sick and thankfully gets better. Klaus and Violet showed great control and caring when trying to heal their baby sister.
In this riviting story of the three orphans you dive into a story and mystery unknown. Meeting men who repeat everything they say at least twice or more, and watching some strange shape on the radar. This is a must read book for those who are Lemony Snicket fans. This book is a truly fun to read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A grim tale

Reader reviewed by safia

The Baudelaires have been on misadventure after misadventure since their parents have died. This time the Baudelaires find themselves from the Stricken Stream to a leaky submarine to a grim grotto filled with poisonous mushrooms. Throughout all this, will they manage to keep from the dreaded villian, Count Olaf? And will there ever be any joy or happiness for the poor Baudelaire orphans? Read to find out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)